Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Human Resource Development 592: Special Study & Investigation: Database Searching Tips

A Guide to Library Research for Human Resource Education 495

Database Searching Tips

To get to education databases go to the Resources in Education webpage linked above. From that page, click on the link to the ERIC database.
 
That will take you to the EBSCO company's version of the ERIC database after you login through the proxy server with your NetID and password.  Once you are on the EBSCO page, click on "Choose Databases" above the search boxes.  That will offer you a list of EBSCO databases to select.  In addition to ERIC, select the other two education databases (Education Full-Text and Professional Development Collection) and SocIndex (to cover social policy and social justice topics).  You may want to scan the other databases in the list to consider other possibilities for selection, such as Human Resources Abstracts or Business Source Ultimate.  Use the filters on the left to select Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed articles and to limit by date, for example, from 2000 to 2022. 
 
Some search terms to consider:
first row:  Online learning
AND
second row: Career Development
AND
third row:  job satisfaction
 
Modify your search by changing topics in the third row.  Examples might include "credentials" or "leadership" or "performance review"
 
Need help or have questions?  Contact a librarian through chat or email, or ask for a one-on-one research consultation.

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library

Profile Photo
Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library
Contact:
SSHEL (Room 101)
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801
General Telephone: (217) 333-2305 Information Services Desk Telephone: (217) 244-1864
Website