Healthcare Simulation at a Glance presents an accessible overview of everything you need to know about simulation in clinical practice and healthcare education. From embedding simulation in programmes, to technical and non-technical features of simulation in a variety of contexts, to how simulation can be used in assessment and the provision of feedback to healthcare professionals, this practical guide is the perfect resource for developing the skills and knowledge required as both a student and an educator. Healthcare Simulation at a Glance: Introduces the concepts and theories underpinning simulation practice Provides an understanding of the key terms and processes involved Includes a range of examples and tips for easy application in practice Healthcare Simulation at a Glance is ideal for both those new to using simulation in education, as well as experienced academics.
Written by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), Simulation Australasia, Healthcare Simulation Education is a new resource for a rapidly expanding professional healthcare simulation community. Designed as a core reference for educators who use simulation as an educational method, it outlines theory, evidence and research relevant to healthcare simulation. Containing examples of innovations from around the world, the book offers opportunities to make clear connections between the underlying rationale for the use of simulation, and what this looks like in practice. Healthcare Simulation Education: Helps readers gain a systematic understanding of theory and application of simulation Facilitates access to high quality resources to support healthcare simulation education and research Edited by a leading team from the Australian Society for Simulation in Healthcare (ASSH), the leading body for healthcare simulation in Australia Contains information on educational theory, the elements of simulation practice and contemporary issues in simulation An important text in healthcare literature and practice, Healthcare Simulation Education provides a unique cross-disciplinary overview of an innovative subject area, and is ideal for medical, nursing and allied health educators, policy makers and researchers.
Simulated Patient Methodology is a timely book, aimed athealth professional educators and Simulated Patient (SP)practitioners. It connects theory and evidence with practice toensure maximum benefit for those involved in SP programmes, inorder to inform practice and promote innovation. The book providesa unique, contemporary, global overview of SP practice, for allhealth sciences educators. Simulated Patient Methodology: ? Provides a cross-disciplinary overview of thefield ? Considers practical issues such as recruiting andtraining simulated patients, and the financial planning of SPprogrammes ? Features case studies, illustrating theory inpractice, drawn from across health professions and countries, toensure relevance to localised contexts Written by world leaders in the field, this invaluable resourcesummarises the theoretical and practical basis of all human-basedsimulation methodologies.
The short videos below describe a number of approaches to incorporating virtual reality into the classroom. Want to share your VR-related course activities – please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
The Grainger IDEA Lab and the Media Commons now have Oculus GO and Oculus Quest headsets available for loan. Select the preferred location and choose Virtual Reality from the Category pull-down menu to check availability.
GoPro Fusion and Insta360 cameras are also now available for checkout.
The IDEA Lab at Grainger Engineering Library provides space and technology for collaboration, innovation, and entrepreneurship and supports a wide range of digital scholarship activities. The Virtual Reality Lounge includes a work space for groups utilizing Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality technologies
The Media Commons at the Undergraduate Library is a collaborative campus effort that provides students and faculty opportunities to experiment with emerging technologies, with expanded opportunities to learn of best practices in educational technology.
The VR Lab at the Armory serves as a research and testing grounds for faculty and students interested in exploring the educational potential of existing VR experiences, or in developing and assessing their own interactive VR content.