The Constitution of the United States

The official version of the U.S. Constitution from the Government Printing Office website. Contains analysis and interpretation of the Constitution.

includes PDF copies of the Constitution in Arabic, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Simplified Chinese

Contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

Documents regarding Thomas Jefferson's drafting the Declaration of Independence.

This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.

Orginal copy of 1776 Declaration of Independence with transcript and annotations

Original copy of the 1777 Articles of Confederation with transcript and annotations. Ratified on 1781

Original copy of the 1787 United States Constitution with transcript and annotations

The Federalist Papers were a series of eighty-five essays urging the citizens of New York to ratify the new United States Constitution. Written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay, the essays originally appeared anonymously in New York newspapers in 1787 and 1788 under the pen name "Publius." The Federalist Papers are considered one of the most important sources for interpreting and understanding the original intent of the Constitution.

(The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy) Includes the Constitution of Confederate States of America, and other Confederate legal documents.

Includes: Journals of the Continental Congress; Eliot's The Debates in the Several State Conventions on the Adoption of the Federal Constitution; and Farrand's The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787

by Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute

Documentary history of the American Constitution by the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School

Document collection on Constitutional Precedents, Constitution and amendments, State Constitutions and Charters, Founding era documents.

Constitute offers access to the world’s constitutions so that users can systematically compare them across a broad set of topics

The framers of The Constitution of the United States chose population to be the basis for sharing political power, not wealth or land. This guide created by the Census Bureau includes teaching guides, activities, and historic census documents

Compilation of resources on the U.S. Constitution including judicial decisions, international constitution, and more

Learn about the text, history, and meaning of the U.S. Constitution from leading scholars of diverse legal and philosophical perspectives.

Texts, commentaries, historical texts and judicial decisions regarding the United States Constitution.