Skip to Main Content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

ARCH 576 Japanese Architecture and Urbanism: Japanese Pritzker Architecture Prize Winners


Pritzker Architecture Prize, established by the Pritzker family of Chicago through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979, is an international prize awarded each year to a living architect/s for significant achievement. It is one of the most prominent architectural prizes and often referred to as "architecture's Noble prize." Since 1979, 8 Japanese architects have been awarded for this prize, and they are listed below with other works, interview videos, as well as written publications about their projects. Even though Japanese architecture is not limited to these great architects listed below, they have brought immense influence on many architects in Japan and beyond. 

Arata Isozaki | 2019 Laureate

Toyo Ito | 2013 Laureate

Tadao Ando | 1995 Laureate

Kenzo Tange | 1987 Laureate

Shigeru Ban | 2014 Laureate

SANAA | 2010 Laureate

Fumihiko Maki | 1993 Laureate