Books from the Catalog
Artists, Writers and the Arab Spring by ISBN: 9783030026677Publication Date: 2019-02-21
The Naked Blogger of Cairo by ISBN: 9780674737082Publication Date: 2016-06-06
Signs of Our Times by ISBN: 9781858946528Publication Date: 2016-09-13- Artists and the Arab Uprisings byISBN: 9780833080363Publication Date: 2013-06-28
- Summer Autumn Winter and Spring byISBN: 9788857214849Publication Date: 2015-04-21
- The Politics of Written Language in the Arab World byISBN: 9789004346161Publication Date: 2017-08-16
- Ten Arab Filmmakers byISBN: 9780253016522Publication Date: 2015-06-29
(PC: The Atlantic Council)
Introduction
This guide outlines basic information about and resources related to post-Arab-Spring popular culture in several Arabic-speaking countries, with a particular focus on hip-hop and graffiti.
Recommended Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Index Islamicus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Anthropology Plus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
Librarian
Resources on the Web
Music
- Mideast Tunes - A free audio streaming website which hosts music created by up-and-coming artists throughout the Middle East and North Africa
Grafft/Calligraphy
- @arabictypography - An instagram account which aggregates images of Arabic-language graffiti, calligraphy, and street art from around the world.