Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps. Emphasis on the Atlantic world, but includes coverage of Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific. Documents all aspects of slave trade and the slave experience.
This database provides access to primary source material relating to food and drink in everyday life from a global perspective. These materials illustrate the links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status.
Covers the following regions: Africa; North America; Central America; Australia; and New Zealand. Documents include: books; broadsides; artwork; business and financial document; certificates and commissions; correspondence; diaries; government documents; land transaction documents; legal documents; maps; memoirs; military documents; newspapers and magazines; documents of non-governmental organizations; notes; realia; pamphlets; photographs; fiction; speeches; and more.
"A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; comprised of numerous collections to be released over many years. Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location." Includes a large number of colonial government materials related to Africa.
British government documents, mostly from the Foreign Office, but also from the Colonial Office, the Dominions Office, and the War Office. "Confidential Prints" were diplomatic dispatches and related documents deemed sufficiently important to be printed and then circulated among government officials. The prints were grouped into series by geographical region, and then numbered consecutively, but after being transferred to the Public Records Office, the prints were organized according to the National Archives' system of provenance. Part of Archives Direct.
Covering the period September 4, 1941 through March 29, 1974, this digital collection is the first of three modules that form Readex’s Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events.
This first module is divided into six series: Asia and the Pacific: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Eastern Europe: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Latin America and Western Europe: February 16, 1970 through March 29, 1974; Middle East and Africa: May 28, 1970 through March 29, 1974; the People’s Republic of China: March 7, 1973 through March 29, 1974; and the Soviet Union: March 8, 1968 through March 29, 1974.
Over 200,000 UK Parliamentary papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes: House of Commons papers, 1715-2010; Bills and Acts, 1695-2010; Command Papers, 1833-2010; House of Lords papers, 1714-1805; Debates (pre-Hansard), 1774-1805; Hansard (debates), 1803-2005; Journals, 1688-1834; and Histories and Proceedings, 1660-1743.
Covers the years 1948-1980. Documents from the British National Archives. Collection is keyword searchable, and browsable by National Archives record series numbers. Includes a subject index that can be searched but not browsed. Part of Archives Direct.
26 periodicals published between 1804 and 2009 by Britain's Church Missionary Society, the Church Missionary Society Mid-Africa Ministry, and the South American Missionary Society. No subject index for individual articles.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
British Newspapers, 1600-1950 is a comprehensive digital historic newspaper archive. It provides access to historic newspapers, newsbooks, ephemera and national & regional papers from British Isles. This interface searches: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers,19th century British Library Newspapers, 19th century British Library Newspapers Part 2, and British Newspapers, Part 3: 1780-1950.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Currently provides a wide range of subject content consisting of Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sport and Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial. Title lists are available on the Gale site.
A joint project between the National Archives of Madagascar and King's College London, which currently contains digitized versions of a large number of documents relating to the history and governance of Madagascar. Longer-term, the project hopes to digitally integrate the archives of all African countries.
A collaborative project between Michigan State University and various international communities which seeks to be "an open access digital library of African cultural heritage materials. The current version of the website is still under construction, but provides access to a number of legacy AODL collections.
"South African History Online (SAHO) was established in 2000, as a not for profit Section 21 organisation, to address the biased way in which South Africa’s history and heritage, as well as the history and heritage of Africa is represented in our educational and cultural institutions. It has become one of the largest popular history projects in the country and its website is the largest of its kind on the continent."
A very wide range of document types emphasizing the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994. Collected by Digital Imaging South Africa.
Over 17 million books, periodicals, and government documents digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and research libraries. About 2,500,000 of these works can be read online (because they are public domain works, and therefore freely accessible).
"The Rwanda Documents Project was started by Professor Peter Erlinder of William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minnesota as a result of his work as a defense attorney at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. The goal of the Project is to collect and make available primary source materials from international and national agencies, governments, and courts that relate to the political and social history of Rwanda from 1990 to the present."
The National Reconciliation Commission’s mandate was to promote national reconciliation among Ghanaians by establishing "an accurate and complete historical record" of human rights violations and abuses related to the killing, abduction, disappearance, detention, torture, ill-treatment, and seizure of property during three periods of unconstitutional rule.
"The Equity and Reconciliation Commission’s mandate was to investigate forced disappearances and arbitrary detention between Morocco’s independence in 1956 and 1999, to rule on reparation requests pending before the former Independent Commission of Arbitration (created in 1999), and to determine 'the responsibility of the state organisms or any other party'."
"The Truth and Reconciliation Commission was to produce a report on human rights violations beginning in 1991, provide a forum for both victims and perpetrators, and recommend policies to facilitate reconciliation and prevent future violations. The TRC act provided one year for the commission to produce its report and recommendations, with the possibility of an extension.
Based on the Bassett and Scheven bibliography, Maps of Africa to 1900: A Checklist of Maps in Atlases and Geographical Journals in the Collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Over 2,400 maps.
" Dating from the 16th to the 18th centuries, the ancient manuscripts presented in this exhibition cover every aspect of human endeavor and are indicative of the high level of civilization attained by West Africans during the Middle Ages."
Islamic Manuscripts from Mali features 32 manuscripts from the Mamma Haidara Commemorative Library and the Library of Cheick Zayni Baye of Boujbeha, both in Timbuktu, Mali. The manuscripts presented online are displayed in their entirety and are an exemplary grouping that showcase the wide variety of subjects covered by the written traditions of Timbuktu, Mali, and West Africa.
A collection of field notes taken by Eleanor Vandevort in the South Sudan during the 40's, 50's, and 60's. Vandevort was a missionary who took extensive notes on the Nuer language, and the cultures of the peoples she encountered during her time in Africa.
An excellent source for current African short fiction and other literature. Involved in a number of projects. "This Kenyan literary network has been at the forefront of African literature and publishing for over a decade. Visit for poetry, essays, and fiction, as well as opportunities for budding writers." - Comfort Olukogbon, zodml.org
A quarterly magazine focusing on literature in the Arab world. From their site: "We take an expansive view of the literary arts and are interested in what’s enjoyable to the ear, the eye, and the palate."
Hosted by the UK National Archives. "Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069)."
"This website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World. "
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. An excellent resource for finding photography, especially architectural photography.
"AMAR is a Lebanese foundation committed to the preservation and dissemination of traditional Arab music. AMAR owns 7,000 records, principally from the “Nahda” era (1903 – 1930s), as well as around 6,000 hours of recordings on reel. To safeguard this rare collection, AMAR has acquired a state-of-the-art studio specifically dedicated to the digitization and conservation of this music. In early 2010, AMAR built a multi-purpose hall that hosts up to eighty people."