Multidisciplinary, Multilingual Databases
The number of databases that could be of potential use to you is constantly expanding. The list in the left hand column includes those that have proven most useful to Slavic in general. To see the complete list, you can search the Databases A-Z list. There are a few that you are, no doubt familiar with, but will be reiterated here as they have become central to any research in our field.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis is perhaps the single most important bibliography for literature and linguisitcs. The compilers have always included foreign language materials very extensively, making it essential for scholars in our region.
-
American Bibliography of Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new windowAmerican Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Primarily an English language source, it is important for anyone tracking research on Slavic literature in North America.
-
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowThis is a full text database of East European publications. It is really limited to publications of the last 10 years but is invaluable for locating full text of many important titles from the region
-
Russian National Bibliography This link opens in a new windowWhile the retrospective depth is limited to the last ten years, this is an invaluable source for anyone trying to complete a comprehensive literature search on a topic related to Russian literature. It lists the monographic publications and thousands of article citations from both newspapers and journals.
The European Bibliography was the counter part to ABSEES, tracking European liteature on Slavic topics.
(Newspaper, Social Science Journals) - The database provides full text of many of the newspapers and a selected group of periodicals from Russia. Very important for locating current reviews.
For a lengthier discussion of multilingual, multidisiplinary databases please consult "Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies"
Subject Guide
International and Area Studies Library
Room 317
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801