The Closed Stacks Collection
The Ricker Library of Architecture and Art has a large collection of materials shelved behind the desk in the Closed Stacks area. Due to the nature of the collection, the library has materials which do not circulate. Items do not circulate for many reasons, one of which is high demand - keeping a non-circulating copy of a high demand item ensures that it will always be available. In other cases, items are kept from circulating because of their physical condition or because they are significantly valuable or unique. However, we allow and encourage in-house use of any and all materials that our patrons need.
To get a book from the Closed Stacks, just give the call number or title of the item you need to the staffer at circulation desk and they will be happy to get it for you. For more information on the collection see our library guide to the Closed Stacks Collection.
Books from the Catalog
Dictionary of Building Preservation by
Wiley. New York: Preservation Press, John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1996.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.3 D5612Publication Date: 1996- Preserving the Recent Past by Call Number: Reference Non-circulating Q. 363.690973 P9263Publication Date: 1995
Historic Preservation Handbook by
*A practical guide to understanding historic architecture and its preservation* Shows how to analyze and evaluate historic buildings in order to better renovate existing ones and create outstanding new ones* Heavily illustrated with plans, diagrams, and photos
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.288 Ir9hISBN: 9780071364119Publication Date: 2003- The Chicago School of Architecture: A Plan for Preserving a Significant Remnant of America’s Architectural Heritage by
Washington, D.C: United States Department of the Interior, National Park Service, 1973.
Call Number: Closed Stacks 720.977311 M61C1973Publication Date: 1973
Preserving Historic Architecture: The official guidelines by
The National Park Service, a branch of the Department of the Interior, knows preservation. In its hundred-year existence, the service has dealt with just about every problem an old structure can have. Whether it is removing graffiti in Manhattan or rebuilding a barn in Oregon, the National Park Service knows what to do. Here are the official U.S. guidelines, a lively and instructive collection of tried and tested knowledge and reliable techniques, written by the top experts in the field. Over forty fully illustrated chapters addressing topics such as: -- cleaning and waterproof coating of historic masonry -- roofing for historic buildings -- the preservation of historic glazed architectural terra-cotta -- exterior paint problems on historic woodwork -- the preservation of historic barns -- heating, ventilating, and cooling historic buildings -- historic signs -- applied decoration for historic interiors -- using substitute materials on historic building exteriors -- understanding old buildings -- understanding architectural cast iron Every chapter is written with the utmost detail and clarity so that any reader can perform the safest and most historically accurate repairs. The book also offers invaluable advice on what not to do that can save a homeowner thousands of dollars, hours, and perhaps a priceless piece of architecture. For the hobbyist or the professional restorer, The Preservation of Historic Architecture is the definitive government text on restoring, repairing, and preserving old buildings.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.288 P92621ISBN: 9781620874752Publication Date: 2013- Historic Preservation by
Urbana, Ill: The University, 1998.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.2880977366 H629Publication Date: 1998
- The Plan for Restoration and Adaptive Use of the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio by
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1978.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 728.37 F85PISBN: 9780226908328Publication Date: February 1, 1978
- Illustrated Dictionary of Architectural Preservation: Restoration, Renovation, Rehabilitation, Reuse by
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.288 B896iPublication Date: 2003
Recording Historic Structures by
This new edition of the definitive guide to recording America's built environment provides a detailed reference to the re-cording methods and techniques that are fundamental tools for examining any existing structure. Edited by the Deputy Chief of the Historic American Building Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, this revised edition includes in-formation on recent technological advances such as laser scanning, new case studies, and expanded material on the docu-mentation of historic landscapes.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating Q. 363.69 R2452004ISBN: 9780471273806Publication Date: December 1, 2003- Monuments antiques releves et restaures par architectes pensionnaires de l’Académie de France à Rome by
Paris: Schmid, 1905.
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating F. 722.7 ES6MPublication Date: 1905
America’s Favorite Homes: Mail-Order Catalogues as a Guide to Popular Early 20th-Century Houses by
During the first four decades of the twentieth century, prefabricated and catalogue homes grew in popularity and number. Built and occupied by farmers, merchants, the new armies of factory workers and other lower- and middle-class families, these are the modest homes that today line American streets. Using mail-order house catalogues from the time, Robert Schweitzer and Michael W. R. Davis chart the development of catalogue houses and their variations and include floor plans for many models. Students of architecture, whether amateur of professional, preservationists and academics will find in America's Favorite Homes a handy reference to those homes that soon will be eligible for historic designation.
Great Lakes Books. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1990.
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating Q. 728.370973 SCH97AISBN: 9780814320051Publication Date: 1990- The Chicago School of Architecture: A Plan for Preserving a Significant Remnant of America’s Architectural Heritage by
Washington, D.C: United States Department of the Interior, National Park Service, 1973.
Call Number: Closed Stacks 720.977311 M61C1973Publication Date: 1973
- Historic Preservation Handbook by
*A practical guide to understanding historic architecture and its preservation* Shows how to analyze and evaluate historic buildings in order to better renovate existing ones and create outstanding new ones* Heavily illustrated with plans, diagrams, and photos
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.288 Ir9hISBN: 9780071364119Publication Date: 2003
- Architectural Photoreproductions: A Manual for Identification and Care by Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.222 K643aPublication Date: 19991st ed. New Castle, Del: Oak Knoll Press, 1999.
- New Construction for Older Buildings: A Design Sourcebook for Architects and Preservationists by
As a result of the historic preservation movement, the addition of new construction to existing architecture is no longer limited to historic or significant buildings. This design sourcebook conveys existing attitudes and interesting ideas regarding the combining of old and new architecture, and covers the many practical issues architectural firms must consider. Each of the three main sections addresses a specific approach to combining old and new architecture: additions to buildings, altering the original, and new construction. And each clearly shows that design decisions can and should combine a reasoned approach to the existing environment with the new demands of today. Examples by architectural firms such as Roche Dinkeloo, SOM, Cambridge Seven Associates, Geddes Brecher Qualls Cunningham, and Paul Rudolph illustrate the wide range of responses to design decisions as well as their varying degrees of success.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating Q. 720.286 SM31NISBN: 0471831344Publication Date: 1990
- Conserving Buildings: Guide to Techniques and Materials by
Rev. ed. New York: Wiley, 1997.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating Q. 720.288 W379c1997Publication Date: 1997