How to Request
Materials within Ricker's vault collections can be accessed only in-person and cannot leave the library. To request an item, simply come visit us with some basic information about the item such as the call number, title, author or date. Library staff will retrieve the item for you and walk you through any special handling needs. You will then be set up at a table in front of the circulation desk. A staff member will remain in the area in case you have any questions or need assistance of any kind.
As general policy, please also take care that your hands are clean and dry. To prevent any accidents, only pencils are permitted around vault items. Any backpacks and water bottles should also be placed on the floor away from the materials.
Closed Stacks items are similar to Vault items in that they are also non-circulating. This means that they can't leave the library. To request an item for use, please come visit us in-person with some basic information about the item you would like to see. A library staff member will retrieve the item and walk you through any specific handling needs as they set you up at the table in front of the circulation desk.
The materials can be checked out for up to two hours. If you need more time, simply ask the staff member at the desk for help renewing the loan.
Books located in the Stacks are the ones in the usual library book shelves that you can browse through and check out to take home with you. They can be requested directly through the library catalog and put on hold for you to pick up at whatever library location is most convenient to you.
Alternatively, you can come into the library to pick out the book yourself. There will always be a staff member available for help with finding materials.
Books at Ricker Library
-
The Japanese Dwelling-House by Written by Dr. Fujii about his own home and his design for it while talking about characteristics of Japanese dwelling-houses and making direct comparisons and reflecting upon differences in American architecture. Takes into explicit consideration climate and environment. Includes designs and photo-reproductions. Even a full-color beautiful print on an interior design.Call Number: Vault Q. 728 F95JPublication Date: 1930
-
Our Man-Made Environment, Book 7 by An interactive book prompting readers to puzzle out their own answers to important questions about what makes a man-made environment and how to meet our needs as part of the design. Also, very visually pleasing.Call Number: Vault Q. 720.7 L57O1970Publication Date: 1970
-
Lawrence Halprin Notebooks, 1959-1971 by The notebooks duplicate his handwriting and are filled with drawings, studies and writing relating to city design, architecture, urban design, dwelling, community, land, and human ecology.Call Number: Vault 711.01 H16LISBN: 9780262580182Publication Date: 1972
-
Sustainable Building Services: Principles, Systems, Concepts
by
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 L549nISBN: 9783920034492Publication Date: 2011 -
The Integrative Design Guide to Green Building: Redefining the Practice of Sustainability
by
"The members of 7group and Bill Reed are examples writ large of the kind of leadership that is taking this idea of green building and forming it into reality, by helping change minds, building practice, and design process." --from the Foreword by S. Rick Fedrizzi President, CEO, and Founding Chair, U.S. Green Building Council A whole-building approach to sustainability The integrative design process offers a new path to making better green building decisions and addressing complex issues that threaten living systems. In The Integrative Design Guide to Green Building: Redefining the Practice of Sustainability, 7group's principals and integrative design pioneer Bill Reed introduce design and construction professionals to the concepts of whole building design and whole systems. With integrative thinking that reframes what sustainability means, they provide a how-to guide for architects, designers, engineers, developers, builders, and other professionals on incorporating integrative design into every phase of a project. This practical manual: Explains the philosophy and underpinnings of effective integrative design, addressing systems thinking and building and community design from a whole-living system perspective Details how to implement integrative design from the discovery phase to occupancy, supported by process outlines, itemized tasks, practice examples, case studies, and real-world stories illustrating the nature of this work Explores the deeper understanding of integration that is required to transform architectural practice and our role on the planet This book, both practical and thoughtful, will help you deliver your vision of a sustainable environment. 7group, based in Kutztown, Pennsylvania, includes principals John Boecker, Scot Horst, Tom Keiter, Andrew Lau, Marcus Sheffer, and Brian Toevs, who bring a unique integration of expertise in design, engineering, energy and daylight modeling, materials assessments, commissioning, education, and communications to their work. Internationally recognized thought leaders in the green building movement, they have led countless teams through the practical implementation of integrative design on building projects of all types around the world. 7group also has been directly and deeply involved with the development of the LEED® Green Building Rating System, including experience on more than 100 LEED projects. Scot Horst currently serves as chair of the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED Steering Committee.
Call Number: Reference Non-circulating 720.47 In812ISBN: 0470181109Publication Date: 2009 -
Ken Yeang: Plym Distinguished Professor in Architecture, University of Illinois, 2006: On Green Design
by
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.9595 Y32kISBN: 0950030740Publication Date: 2006 -
Passive Solar Architecture Pocket Reference
by
Our pocket reference books provide a wealth of practical information at your fingertips, whenever you need it. Rich in background detail, at-a-glance tables and diagrams, equations, and more, the Passive Solar Architecture Pocket Reference is a handy resource for architects, engineers and students. Coverage includes: definitions load determinants and Responses (including world wide biomes and climates, building metabolism and response, thermal sources and sinks, passive building responses to sources and sinks, tuning the building to the environment, optimizing insulation & thermal mass for comfort) contextual aspects (including microclimate and siting, temperatures, humidity, wind, radiation and comfort parameters passive components (including building envelope, passive solar terminology, orientation, apertures and glazing, thermal storage, thermal control and materials design tools (including sun path diagrams, sun peg diagrams, air flow relationships, thermal modelling and life cycle design specific functions (including passive heating, passive cooling and ventilation, natural lighting, passive water heating, resource collection and integrated design).
Call Number: Closed Stacks 697.78 H122pISBN: 9781849710800Publication Date: 2009 -
Sun, Wind and Light
by
Architecture/Environment How to design buildings that heat with the sun, cool with the wind, light with the sky, and move into the future using on-site renewable resources Developed for rapid use during schematic design, this book clarifies relationships between form and energy and gives designers tools for designing sustainably. It also: * Applies the latest passive energy and lighting design research * Organizes information by architectural elements at three scales: * building groups, individual buildings, and building parts * Brings design strategies to life with examples and practical design tools * Features: * 109 analysis techniques and design strategies * More than 750 illustrations, sizing graphs, and tables * Both inch-pound and metric units
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 B813s2001ISBN: 0471348775Publication Date: 2001 -
Eco Structures
by
How to build green - a spectacular gallery of eco-friendly buildings by the world`s leading architecture firms. Building green to reduce pollution and waste, conserve energy.save money, and live sustainably has become the new architectural imperative to meet the economic and environmental challenges of the new century. This portfolio of leading-edge ecostructures by prestigious firms the world over, proffer blueprints for the future of architecture. The five chapters present innovations in engineering, materials, and aesthetic design that illustrate how advanced technology answers the challenge to use less and recycle more; how using local materials reduces costs to the budget and the planet; how incorporating elements of nature into the built environment conservers our ecology; how buildings can take on the shapes of their surroundings to literally harmonize with the land; and how existing structures can be modernized by eco-friendly engineering and sustainable materials. Environmentalist, contemporary architecture buffs, and anyone involved in the construction industry will treasure this exciting, forward-looking tome. 322 colour photographs
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 Ec71ISBN: 9788854404977Publication Date: 2009 -
101 Rules of Thumb for Low Energy Architecture
by
101 Rules of Thumbsets out the essential elements of low energy architecture in a fresh, intuitive way. In an area where ever-changing technology and complex legislation and can cloud the designer's thought-processes, this book encourages the designer to think clearly and intuitively about the fundamentals of low energy buildings. With reliable, simple rules of thumb that will provide new ideas and refresh the designer's palette, each page focuses on a single piece of advice or guidance along with a clear hand-drawn illustration, while there are also plenty of tips and more detailed information for those who wish to dig deeper. The emphasis is on passive low-energy principles, and the rules of thumb cover all the design fundamentals from site and location to orientation and form, peppered with some which will help the designer to think 'outside the box' about the design process itself. Applicable throughout the world in any climate region, 101 Rules of Thumbis a global primer intended to be dipped into at any time as a quick means of re-focusing on what's important when designing a new or retro-fitted low energy building. ut the world in any climate region, 101 Rules of Thumbis a global primer intended to be dipped into at any time as a quick means of re-focusing on what's important when designing a new or retro-fitted low energy building.
Call Number: Closed Stacks 720.472 H519oISBN: 9781859464816Publication Date: 2012 -
Climate, Nature and House = Kankyo to Jūtaku
by
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating Q. 724.9 P94 no.29ISBN: 9784893310293Publication Date: 1982
-
T. R. Hamzah and Yeang
by
Presents a critique of key skyscrapers designed by TR Hamzah and Yeang Sdn Bhd in the context of their ecological design agenda. This book is illustrated, and includes construction details, exploded diagrams and technical essays.
Distinguishes between bioclimatic design and ecological design (p.6)
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.483 Y321rISBN: 1864700955Publication Date: 2001 -
A Green Vitruvius: Principles and Practice of Sustainable Architectural Design
by
Two thousand years ago the Roman architect Marcus Vitruvius Pollio wrote the ten books on architecture establishing the concept of the pattern book offering design principles and solutions that is still referred to in every architect's education. A Green Vitruvius is intended as a green pattern book for today. Now fully updated, this well established textbook provides advice suitable for undergraduate and post graduate students on the integration of sustainable practice into the design and construction process, the issues to be considered, the strategies to be adopted, the elements of green design and design evaluation within the process. Classic design elegance is found in the holistic clear solution.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 B792gISBN: 9781849713115Publication Date: 2011 -
The Skyscraper, Bioclimatically Considered: A Design Primer
by
The advancement of the tall building began during the latter part of the 19th century when the business corporation emerged as the dominant commercial institution. By the 20th century a pronounced split had occurred between production and administrative facilities with factories relegated to the suburbs as the skyscraper office became the flagship of major corporations. Since its invention, there have been many advances in skyscraper design such as those enabling their construction to greater heights through high-strength concrete, or in creating more electronically-responsive systems.
Call Number: Closed Stacks 720.483 Y32SISBN: 1854904310Publication Date: 1996 -
Ecodesign: A Manual for Ecological Design
by
You'll find clear instructions on how to design, build and use a green sustainable architecture in Ecodesign. Author Ken Yeang will show you how to produce and maintain ecosystem-like structures and systems whose content and outputs not only integrate benignly with the natural environment, but whose built form and systems function with sensitivity to the locality's ecology as well in relation to global biospheric processes. He will help you learn to develop structures and systems that are low consumers of non-renewable resources, built with materials that have low ecological consequences and are designed to facilitate disassembly, continuous reuse and recycling, and that at the end of their useful lives can be reintegrated seamlessly back into the natural environment. Each of these aspects, and other attendant ones, is examined in detail with regards to how they influence design and planning.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 Y32e2008ISBN: 9780470997789Publication Date: 2008 -
Sustainable Construction: Green Building Design and Delivery
by
The leading green building reference, updated with the latest advances in the field Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new coverage of carbon accounting. The discussion has been updated to align with the current thinking on economics, climate change, net zero buildings, and more, with contributions by leaders in the field that illustrate the most recent shifts in thinking and practice. Ancillary materials including an instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter help bring this clear and up-to-date information into the classroom, making this book a valuable reference for working construction professionals. Also, Interactive graphics found throughout the course help activate the content and highlight key concepts for students. Sustainable construction has gone mainstream, and will one day be the industry norm. This book provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of a project to show you how green building concepts and principles apply throughout the design and construction process. Get up to date on the latest green building codes and standards Learn about the newest technology in green building materials Adopt the best practices in procurement and delivery systems Apply sustainability concepts to all aspects of construction and design Green buildings operate at a very high level of efficiency, which is made possible only by careful consideration every step of the way. Appropriate land use, landscaping, construction materials, siting, water use, and more all play a role in a structure's ultimate carbon footprint. Sustainable Construction provides clear guidance for all aspects of green building, including the most recent advances and the latest technology.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.47 K533s2016ISBN: 9781119055174Publication Date: 2016 -
Energy Design for Tomorrow = Energy Design Für Morgen
by
Text in English & German. The challenges facing the 21st century are staggering: rapidly increasing population, mounting social instability due to global imbalances of wealth and welfare, resource scarcity and resulting conflicts related to their exploitation and distribution, and certainly the ongoing distress of the environment as a whole. Such severe conditions, including climate change, continue to become greater in number, complexity, and clarity, even though most of them had already been introduced as areas of concern in the 1970s and 1980s. Part I of the book describes potential strategies that will play an essential role in curbing carbon emissions, reducing -- or replacing -- fossil fuel usage. To better understand the current global energy industry, the book is unique in showing energy consumption data across the globe in comparable units, and it explains how fossil fuels could be replaced by renewable energy resources. Part II explains how the necessary significant reductions in energy consumption can be achieved by alternative means at reasonable cost for power generation to be maintained. A great number of projects are described in the book as case studies that fulfil the variety of international energy codes. Part III addresses the technological possibilities for energy savings and resource-sensitive solutions related to buildings. Here, the potential of building-integrated solar systems, wind-power generation, rain-water harvesting, and the use of geothermal energy, as well as their implementation in the architecture are presented in detail. On the one hand, the book presents the background for a broader understanding of the medium-range and long-range changes in our energy landscape, and on the other it provides the basis for avenues required to enable us to design strategies based on local conditions and individual geographical locations. Over the past 20 years, Klaus Daniels and the engineers of his engineering consultancy HL Technik have published four volumes of seminal work related to this subject, and their work is continuously being updated. In this series, the new book is an attempt to illustrate how modern architecture needs to be adaptive to energy conditions and how design and technology can be blended successfully.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 333.794 D228eISBN: 9783936681253Publication Date: 2009 -
Passive and Low Energy Architecture / Shizen Enerugī to Kenchiku / [Sekinin Henshūsha Kodama Yūichirō, Jefurī Kukku, Shimosu Yanasu].
by
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating Q. 724.9 P94 no.98Publication Date: 1991
-
Aktivhaus - the Reference Work: From Passivhaus to Energy-plus House
by
The first comprehensive reference work on energy-independent Active Houses The Active House is a logical development of existing building standards. It draws renewable energy from the sun and wind in order to cover energy needs as completely as possible. The basic ideas of the Active House are described in detail in this standard work and serve as a planning guide for all parties involved in the construction of Active Houses. From the principles of sustainable and energy efficient construction to planning tools and technical details, the reader learns what constitutes active houses, how they developed, and the components required for its construction. Active House architecture is illustrated by fourteen built works in the areas of residential, non-residential, new construction, and renovation.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.472 Ak79ISBN: 9783038216438Publication Date: 2016 -
Samuel Mockbee and the Rural Studio: Community Architecture
by
The architect and teacher Samuel Mockbee, founder of Auburn University's Rural Studio, was an idealist who put into action one of the boldest programs in contemporary architecture. Mockbee led his students in the design and construction of homes, community centers and other essential structures in Hale County, Alabama--one of the poorest counties in the United States. Mockbee believed that architecture could play a determining role in combating the brutalities of poverty. He inspired students to create vanguard designs and utilize an array of innovative, cost-effective building materials that included scraps of carpet baled into rectangular building blocks. This combination of ingenuity and enterprise informed the unique character of Mockbee's undertaking. "Samuel Mockbee and the Rural Studio" appraises Mockbee's unique contribution, assessing how he believed that architecture, practiced as a community-oriented undertaking, could transform the social environment.
Call Number: Closed Stacks Q. 720.973 M717sISBN: 9780931394522Publication Date: 2003 -
Japan, Climate, Space, and Concept = Nihon No Futo to Kenchiku Kukan
by
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating Q. 724.9 P94 no.25ISBN: 9780898600582Publication Date: 1981 -
Ecological Landscape
by
Call Number: Stacks Non-circulating Q. 724.9 P94 no.127ISBN: 4893311271Publication Date: 1995
-
Design of Low Energy Houses with Lightweight Walls and Roofs in Severely Cold Climates
by
Call Number: Stacks 721.104672 D46ISBN: 9154047757Publication Date: 1987 -
Building after Katrina: Visions for the Gulf Coast
by
After the devastation caused by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in the fall of 2005, entire towns, neighborhoods, and ecologies were destroyed. What remains is a complex web of social, economic, environmental, and cultural issues that demand new strategies for inhabiting this land. During the spring semester of 2006, the University of Virginia School of Architecture incorporated these issues into the research and studio work of faculty and students, as well as undertaking hands-on projects in Louisiana and Mississippi. Building After Katrina is the result of that intense focus on a set of design problems. In this vibrant collection, leading architects and theorists such as William Moorish, Robin Dripps, and Peter Waldman, among others, present innovative strategies developed with their students for rebuilding Gulf Coast communities. While it is a critical time for the future of the area that inspired this work, the work itself is deliberately applicable to global design problems: How does one design an intervention for a specific culture, ecology, and time? How do we respond to both disaster relief and long-term restoration? How does the design profession advance work at the intersection of architecture, landscape, planning, and preservation? How do we propose designs that improve the environmental underpinnings of a place while serving the diverse cultures that shape public space? And how can the role of the design professional become an essential voice in shaping policies that affect our physical and cultural landscape? Building After Katrina defines these questions broadly and offers--in a large-format, full-color book complete with numerous drawings and photographs--a set of fresh approaches that will challenge architects, planners, policy makers, and citizens alike. Distributed for the University of Virginia School of Architecture
Call Number: Stacks Q. 711.40976335 B868ISBN: 9780977102457Publication Date: 2007 -
Activism in Architecture: Bright Dreams of Passive Energy Design
by
This edited collection gathers contributions from a diverse range of renowned scholars and professionals to uncover the unique relationship between passive architectural systems and activism. Focusing on the pioneering work of the influential American chemist and inventor, Harold R. Hay (1909¿2009), and the environmental awareness events that took hold in the United States during the 1960s and 1970s, the book assembles essays which closely examine Hay's contribution to architecture and the work of those who directly and tangentially were affected by it. The book also offers insights into the role of passive energy design today. Appealing to researchers, architects and students interested in architecture and design technology, Activism in Architecture explores the role of passive environmental inventions as an active agent in shaping socio-political debates.
Call Number: Stacks 720.103 Ac856ISBN: 9781138741430Publication Date: 2019 -
The Architecture of Waste: Design for a Circular Economy
by
Global material crises are imminent. In the very near future, recycling will no longer be a choice made by those concerned about the environment, but a necessity for all. This means a paradigm shift in domestic behavior, manufacturing, construction, and design is inevitable. The Architecture of Waste provides a hopeful outlook through examining current recycling practices, rethinking initial manufacturing techniques, and proposing design solutions for second lives of material objects. The book touches on a variety of inescapable issues beyond our global waste crisis including cultural psyches, politics, economics, manufacturing, marketing, and material science. A series of crucial perspectives from experts cover these topics and frame the research by providing a past, present, and future look at how we got here and where we go next: the historical, the material, and the design. Twelve design proposals look beyond the simple application of recycled and waste materials in architecture--an admirable endeavor but one that does not engage the urgent reality of a circular economy--by aiming to transform familiar, yet flawed, material objects into closed-loop resources. 　　 Complete with over 150 color images and written for both professionals and students, The Architecture of Waste　is a necessary reference for rethinking the traditional role of the architect and challenging the discipline to address urgent material issues within the larger design process.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 Ar253ISBN: 9780367247454Publication Date: 2021 -
Green Architecture
by
This book not only presents green architecture, but also tells architects how to combine new concepts with materials, and how to deal with the problems they often confront in the process of conception and construction. As the concepts of environmental protection and energy recycling are gradually becoming more important, green architecture has begun to receive global attention. Green architecture is durable and adaptable, enhances its surroundings, fits functionally and aesthetically into its setting, and creates culturally valuable indoor and outdoor spaces.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 G8203ISBN: 9789881973917Publication Date: 2011 -
Synergistic Design of Sustainable Built Environments
by
Synergistic Design of Sustainable Built Environments introduces and illustrates a novel systems approach that fosters both design excellence and a leap toward a more biocentric (ecologically sustainable) design paradigm. The book provides a deeper understanding of the theories and principles of biocentric design and offers detailed descriptions of the synergistic design process of integrating theories and principles into practice. It also presents extensive thermal and visual built environment design strategies, along with qualitative and quantitative information that designers can use to generate feasible solutions in response to varying climate and occupant comfort. Features: Examines the principles and practices of the synergistic design (a fusion of anthropocentric and biocentric) of sustainable built environments and how they relate to practical applications. Presents climatic data and its analysis along with sun-path diagrams for numerous cities to aid in the design of sustainable built environments in multiple regional contexts. Includes numerous case studies of sustainable built environments in varying climatic zones. Explains how renewable energy (solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydro, fuel cells) can be successfully integrated in the built environment. This forward-thinking and highly illustrated book will be an invaluable reference to all those concerned with sustainable built environments and related architectural issues.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 K113syISBN: 9780367564834Publication Date: 2020 -
Mediating Environments
by
Mediating Environments examines fundamental and radical environmental conditions in the Arctic and provides a spectrum of innovative design approaches and spatial outcomes. Climate organizes and sustains a broad range of activities in the Arctic, and it will dictate the future transformations in northern urban landscapes and their metabolic operations. As such, arctic urbanism must take into account the varied nuances of weather phenomena that are deeply engrained in everyday living practices and biophysical fabrics. By revisiting and reconfiguring the intersections between environmental and design systems, this publication aims to expand conceptual strategies in the arctic beyond the modes of insulation, stabilization, and optimization while repositioning the region as a central figure within the global network of exchanges. How can the 'arctic wall' as a defining feature of northern architecture be renegotiated? Can design, whether it is pavement assemblies or building foundations built on permafrost, escape the confines of technical precedence aimed to resist instability, and instead work with - take advantage of - dynamic environmental mechanisms, such as thermal cycles of ground, pronounced in the region? This study is not an argument against engineering but for greater synergies between engineering and design as well as between science and design, and for developing climatically responsive and arctic-specific paradigms for the construction and maintenance of arctic cities. The future of sustainable arctic development requires resiliency in urban form and programming that is adaptive to the current and future flux inherent in the region, as well as a repositioning of the arctic environment as a productive, robust, and dynamic foreground through which design and urbanism occur and are contextualized.Mediating Environments is the first in the Next Cities publication series by UVA School of Architecture and its Next Cities Institute. The Next Cities series disseminates design research by faculty and students at UVA focused on the rapidly changing dynamics of global urban futures. The series expands on how design--in its theory and physical instantiation in the world--probes the questions and controversies of the day, continually writing new expressions of the city.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 C451meISBN: 9781940743615Publication Date: 2019 -
The Architecture of Persistence: Designing for Future Use
by
The Architecture of Persistence argues that continued human use is the ultimate measure of sustainability in architecture, and that expanding the discourse about adaptability to include continuity as well as change offers the architectural manifestation of resilience. Why do some buildings last for generations as beloved and useful places, while others do not? How can designers today create buildings that remain useful into the future? While architects and theorists have offered a wide range of ideas about building for change, this book focuses on persistent architecture: the material, spatial, and cultural processes that give rise to long-lived buildings. Organized in three parts, this book examines material longevity in the face of constant physical and cultural change, connects the dimensions of human use and contemporary program, and discusses how time informs the design process. Featuring dozens of interviews with people who design and use buildings, and a close analysis of over a hundred historic and contemporary projects, the principles of persistent architecture introduced here address urgent challenges for contemporary practice while pointing towards a more sustainable built environment in the future. The Architecture of Persistence: Designing for Future Use offers practitioners, students, and scholars a set of principles and illustrative precedents exploring architecture's unique ability to connect an instructive past, a useful present, and an unknown future.
Call Number: Stacks 720.1 F216arISBN: 9780367486389Publication Date: 2022 -
Modern Architecture and Climate
by
How climate influenced the design strategies of modernist architects Modern Architecture and Climate explores how leading architects of the twentieth century incorporated climate-mediating strategies into their designs, and shows how regional approaches to climate adaptability were essential to the development of modern architecture. Focusing on the period surrounding World War II--before fossil-fuel powered air-conditioning became widely available--Daniel Barber brings to light a vibrant and dynamic architectural discussion involving design, materials, and shading systems as means of interior climate control. He looks at projects by well-known architects such as Richard Neutra, Le Corbusier, Lúcio Costa, Mies van der Rohe, and Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill, and the work of climate-focused architects such as MMM Roberto, Olgyay and Olgyay, and Cliff May. Drawing on the editorial projects of James Marston Fitch, Elizabeth Gordon, and others, he demonstrates how images and diagrams produced by architects helped conceptualize climate knowledge, alongside the work of meteorologists, physicists, engineers, and social scientists. Barber describes how this novel type of environmental media catalyzed new ways of thinking about climate and architectural design. Extensively illustrated with archival material, Modern Architecture and Climate provides global perspectives on modern architecture and its evolving relationship with a changing climate, showcasing designs from Latin America, Europe, the United States, the Middle East, and Africa. This timely and important book reconciles the cultural dynamism of architecture with the material realities of ever-increasing carbon emissions from the mechanical cooling systems of buildings and offers a historical foundation for today's zero-carbon design.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 B233moISBN: 9780691170039Publication Date: 2020 -
Ecologies of inception: design potentials on a warming planet
by
"Responding to increasing levels of planetary pollution, waste generation, carbon dioxide emission and environmental collapse, Ecologies of Inception re-thinks potentiality—an object's ability to change—in architecture and design. The book problematizes the still-prevailing modern paradigm of design practice: the technical tabula rasa, a tendency to begin from scratch and use raw, amorphous, and obedient materials that can be easily and effectively manipulated, facilitating a seamless and faithful embodiment of intentions. Instead, the philosophy of design developed in the text prompts—through a variety of case studies, thinkers, and disciplines—a collective reconsideration of value, dissociating it from the projects and signatures of any one author or generation. Whereas the merits of up-cycling and circular design are canonically defined vis-à-vis status-quo economic and socio-cultural orthodoxies, this project unpacks the theoretical assumptions that underpin these practices, showing that they perpetuate the same biases and exclusions that generate waste in the first place. As an alternative, the book introduces a nodal and exaptive paradigm for design: a conceptual and methodological toolset for engaging the durational and anthropocenic materiality of the third millennium, and for radically prioritizing practices of maintenance, reuse, care, and co-option. This approach, which is inspired by (and builds upon) evolutionary biology, technological disobedience, queer use, adaptive reuse, experimental preservation, and improvisational practices such as collage, adhocism, bricolage, and kit-bashing, refuses to reduce pre-existing material substrates to abstract lists of properties or featureless lumps, encountering them on their own terms-as situated individuals and co-authors. Ecologies of Inception will appeal to undergraduate and postgraduate students, educators, and professional architects and designers interested in sustainable design and seeking to develop conceptual and design tools commensurate with the magnitude and urgency of the climate emergency"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Stacks 745.2 F41ecISBN: 9780367858759Publication Date: 2022 -
TerraFibra architectures
by
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47079 T275ISBN: 9782354870638Publication Date: 2021
-
Building with Earth: Design and Technology of a Sustainable Architecture
by
Earth, in common use for architectural construction for thousands of years, has in the past thirty years attracted renewed attention as a healthy, environment-friendly and economical building material. What needs to be considered in this context? The manual Building with Earth, which has been translated into many languages, describes the building technology of this material. The physical properties and characteristic values are explained in a hands-on manner: With proper moisture protection, earth buildings are very durable, and in particular the combination with wood or straw allows a wide spectrum of design options. Numerous built examples demonstrate the range of applications for this fully recyclable material.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 M665b2021ISBN: 9783035622539Publication Date: 2021 -
Holistic Housing: Concepts, Design Strategies and Processes
by
"Holistic Housing. Concepts, Design Strategies and Processes" is a fundamental reference work on housing construction. The book deals with the issue of sustainability in a planning context but also analyses a building's usage and ageing over its 'life cycle'. A system of criteria specially developed in an accompanying research project can be used to compare and evaluate buildings. It can also be used as a tool for optimising the sustainability of buildings in development during the planning process. By contrast, most existing sustainability systems are conceived not as design and planning tools, but as instruments for evaluating finished buildings and completed planning. 15 practical examples explain the ways in which these criteria and other aspects of sustainable building can be implemented in sophisticated architecture and how these can then be experienced. A system developed from analysing the examples is used to classify and compare the buildings. The building's significance as a lived environment is also not neglected here: sustainability develops in a dialogue between a building and its users, with an emphasis on residential usage.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 D824hISBN: 9783920034782Publication Date: 2012 -
Arquitectura: una forma de energía = Architecture : a form of energy
by
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 H876arISBN: 607303024XPublication Date: 2020
-
Eco House Plans
by
Eco House Plans contains more than 300 floor and elevations plans, as well as constructive details of 36 ecological architecture projects. The specific criteria for a project, location, setting, type, morphology, and orientation are generating protection to the main climatic factors: sun, wind, and heat. These concepts determine the potential of the site for passive bioclimatic building control, and thus optimally used renewable energy sources such as solar radiation, wind, water, or vegetation.
Call Number: Stacks 728.047 Ec71ISBN: 9788417557089Publication Date: 2019 -
POG: Pod off-Grid : Explorations into Low Energy Waterborne Communities
by
Despite the continued risk of widespread flooding through Climate Change, living, working and playing on water continues to be a necessity and a way of life for many. In the context of population increase, rapid urbanisation and technological advancement, can water provide a viable alternative to land urbanisation? Architects and urban planners have an opportunity to rethink the city of tomorrow and embrace an element that accounts for two-thirds of the Earth's surface area. Prof. Jason Pomeroy has pushed the boundaries of sustainable design on land through his research into zero-carbon developments and the role of urban greenery in the sky through his pioneering studies into skycourts and skygardens. In this book he explores ideas behind self-sustaining communities on water that push towards zero-energy. Built case studies from around the World, works on the drawing board and a future vision explore how to address the sustainability challenges of tomorrow.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 P771pISBN: 9781935935155Publication Date: 2016 -
Architecture As the Ethics of Climate
by
At a time when climate and ethics have become so important to architectural debate, this book proposes an entirely new way for architects to engage with these core issues. Drawing on Tetsuro Watsuji's (1889-1960) philosophy, the book illuminates climate not as a collection of objective natural phenomena, but as a concrete form of bond in which "who we are"--the subjective human experience--is indivisibly intertwined with the natural phenomena. The book further elucidates the inter-personal nature of climatic experiences, criticizing a view that sees atmospheric effects of climate under the guise of personal experientialism and reinforcing the linkage between climate and ethos as the appropriateness of a setting for human affairs. This ethical premise of climate stretches the horizon of sustainability as pertaining not only to man's solitary relationship with natural phenomena--a predominant trend in contemporary discourse of sustainability--but also to man's relationship with man. Overcoming climatic determinism--regional determinism, too--and expanding the ethics of the inter-personal to the level where the whole and particulars are joined through the dialectics of the mutually-negating opposites, Jin Baek develops a new thesis engaging with the very urgent issues inherent in sustainable architecture. Crucially, the book explores examples that join climate and the dynamics of the inter-personal, including: Japanese vernacular residential architecture the white residential architecture of Richard Neutra contemporary architectural works and urban artifacts by Tadao Ando and Aldo Rossi Beautifully illustrated, this book is an important contribution to the discourse which surrounds architecture, climate and ethics and encourages the reader to think more broadly about how to respond to the current challenges facing the profession.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 B14aISBN: 9780415623490Publication Date: 2016 -
Building Without Borders: Sustainable Construction for the Global Village
by
Building Without Borders describes pioneering efforts to create sustainable shelter for billions currently under-housed. It surveys projects around the world that are housing the homeless without destroying natural habitats to do so, by drawing upon local traditions such as bamboo, straw bale and earthen construction. Highly illustrated and popular in style, it includes case studies, technical information, and the latest thinking on truly sustainable construction, and advocates education and training as the means to empower local peoples to create houses for themselves. Joseph F. Kennedy cofounded Builders Without Borders, an international consortium of natural builders and architects serving homeless and under-housed populations. He teaches ecological design and natural building at New College of California, and co-edited The Art of Natural Building.
Call Number: Stacks 690.8 B868ISBN: 0865714819Publication Date: 2004 -
Earth, Water, Air, Fire: The Four Elements and Architecture
by
Forced to interact with the natural elements that invigorate a built structure and co-determine a building's experiential reality during construction, one ought to keep in mind their brute powers - earth's crushing heaviness, the erratic character of water, air's thermo-dynamic cataclysms, or the dangerous benignity of fire. Affective in a direct way, they act as guiding principles in the process of realization: While the earth targets the foundations, the roof shields from water, the openings control the flow of air, and the walls protect from the gleaming sun.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 Ea767ISBN: 9781940291468Publication Date: 2014 -
Lo-TEK: Design by Radical Indigenism
by
Three hundred years ago, intellectuals of the European Enlightenment constructed a mythology of technology. Influenced by a confluence of humanism, colonialism, and racism, this mythology ignored local wisdom and indigenous innovation, deeming it primitive. Today, we have slowly come to realize that the legacy of this mythology is haunting us. Designers understand the urgency of reducing humanity's negative environmental impact, yet perpetuate the same mythology of technology that relies on exploiting nature. Responding to climate change by building hard infrastructures and favoring high-tech homogenous design, we are ignoring millennia-old knowledge of how to live in symbiosis with nature. Without implementing soft systems that use biodiversity as a building block, designs remain inherently unsustainable. Lo-TEK, derived from Traditional Ecological Knowledge, is a cumulative body of multigenerational knowledge, practices, and beliefs, countering the idea that indigenous innovation is primitive and exists isolated from technology. It is sophisticated and designed to sustainably work with complex ecosystems. With a foreword by anthropologist Wade Davis and four chapters spanning Mountains, Forests, Deserts, and Wetlands, this book explores thousands of years of human wisdom and ingenuity from 18 countries including Peru, the Philippines, Tanzania, Kenya, Iran, Iraq, India, and Indonesia. We rediscover an ancient mythology in a contemporary context, radicalizing the spirit of human nature. The tactile reading experience of Lo-TEK reflects the ingenuity of carefully selected projects with sophisticated design details: copper highlights the value of ancient knowledge, a cardboard hardcover echoes rawness, and the Swiss binding showcases an open spine and reveals the construction of the book, just as the book discloses hidden technological knowledge.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 W334lISBN: 9783836578189Publication Date: 2019 -
Design Like You Give a Damn: Architectural Responses to Humanitarian Crises
by
The greatest humanitarian challenge we face today is that of providing shelter. The physical design of our homes, neighborhoods and communities shapes every aspect of our live, yet where architects are most desperately needed, they can least be afforded. Design Like You Give a Damn is a compendium of innovative projects from around the world that demonstrate the power of design to improve lives. It offers a history of the movement toward socially conscious design, and showcases more than 80 contemporary solutions to such urgent needs as basic shelter, healthcare, education and access to clean water, energy and sanitation.
Call Number: Stacks 720.8691 D46ISBN: 1933045256Publication Date: 2006 -
From Wall to Skin: Architecture and the Poetics of Breathing
by
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 K849frISBN: 9788849239522Publication Date: 2020 -
Adaptive Reuse: Extending the Lives of Buildings
by
Building in existing fabric requires more than practical solutions and stylistic skills. The adaptive reuse of buildings, where changes in the structure go along with new programs and functions, poses the fundamental question of how the past should be included in the design for the future. On the background of long years of teaching and publishing, and using vivid imagery from Frankenstein to Rem Koolhaas and beyond, the author provides a comprehensive introduction to architectural design for adaptive reuse projects. History and theory, building typology, questions of materials and construction, aspects of preservation, urban as well as interior design are dealt with in ways that allow to approach adaptive reuse as a design practice field of its own right.
Call Number: Stacks 690.24 W846aISBN: 9783038215370Publication Date: 2017 -
Design Ecologies: Essays on the Nature of Design
by
Contemporary architects are under increasing pressure to offer a sustainable future. But with all the focus on green building, there has been little investigation into the meaningful connections between architectural design, ecological systems, and sustainability. A new generation of architects and engineers aims to recast the green movement for the twenty-first century and transform design into a positive agent by balancing the societal needs of humans with environmental considerations. Design in this sense is a larger concept having as much to do with politics and ethicsas with buildings and technology. Design Ecologies is a groundbreaking collection of never-before-published essays and case studies by today's most innovative "green" designers. Their design strategiessocial, material, technological, and biologicalrun the gamut from the intuitive to the highly technological. One essay likens window-unit air conditioners in New York City to weeds in order to spearhead the development of potential design solutions. Latz +Partner's Landscape Park integrates vegetation and industry in an urban park built amongst the monumental ruins of a former steelworks in Duisburg Nord, Germany. The engineering firm Arup presents its thirty-three-square-mile masterplan for Dongtan Eco City, an energy-independent city that China hopes will house half a million people by 2050. An introduction by designer Bruce Mau leads off a stellar list of emerging designers, including Jane Amidon, Blaine Brownell, David Gissen, Gross.Max, Peter Hasdell, Stephen Kieran and James Timberlake, R&Sie(n), Studio 804, and Work Architecture Company.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 D4601ISBN: 9781568987835Publication Date: 2010 -
Bioclimatic Architecture in Warm Climates: A Guide for Best Practices in Africa
by
This book provides a comprehensive, hands-on approach to bioclimatic building design in Africa. Bioclimatic design is at the core of urban sustainability, and is a critical issue in Africa, where "imported" building typologies are being used at an increasing pace, disregarding the local context and consequently causing damage to the environment, to the economy, and to the culture itself. This book provides a concise set of sustainable design guidelines to be applied in both new buildings and the refurbishment of old buildings, and integrates bioclimatic design strategies with other sustainability issues such as: cultural aspects, affordability, and urban planning. Chapters are fully illustrated with photographs and drawings and include best-practice examples and strategies making it accessible to engineers, architects, students and a broad range of professionals in the building industry. Encompasses all climatic regions in Africa; Integrates bioclimatic design strategies with other sustainability issues; Discusses new design to refurbishment, from urban to rural, including office buildings, residential, tourism, social housing and self building.
Call Number: Stacks 720.472 B5203ISBN: 9783030120351Publication Date: 2019 -
Passive House in Different Climates: The Path to Net Zero
by
Passive House in Different Climates introduces the seven Passive House principles, to help you create super-insulated, airtight buildings that require minimal energy use to heat, cool, dehumidify, and ventilate, with superior indoor air quality and year-round comfort. Seventeen case studies in four climate zones---marine, cold and very cold, mixed-dry and hot-dry, and mixed-humid and hot-humid---and in ten countries, show you how to achieve net-zero energy regardless of where you're building or what type of building is required. Includes more than 150 color illustrations.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 728.047 J235pISBN: 1138904031Publication Date: 2016 -
Defoliando el mundo: ecocidio, evidencia visual y “tierra memoria"
by
This book by artist and author Hannah Meszaros is a look at the production of contemporary images on one of the most traditional themes in art - that of landscape - while questioning the notion of this genre as one that has been abandoned by artists, recognized as outdated and romantic, and approached for a long time from technical-pragmatic, ahistorical and apolitical approaches through the exhibition and criticism of existing ways of visualizing nature. Such display modes involve a look not only at what is shown through the image, but also at its opaque surface. This book marks the beginning of the publication of a series dedicated to forensic meteorology, which analyzes the scope of representation techniques and the historical, legal and economic frameworks of what is suspended - and circulates - in the air, between heaven and earth; in a practical and eminently spatial sense: the art of deploying bodies in this case, chemical in space, the mechanisms that put it into action and the ways in which it is projected, simultaneously exposing the administration of air as an infrastructure technology and the earth and what is on its surface as a potential legal subject and a public sign of order.
Call Number: Stacks 701.03 M564de:SpISBN: 9930965262Publication Date: 2021
-
Climax Change!: How Architecture Must Transform in the Age of Ecological Emergency
by
Climax Change! represents the much-needed overview of how climate change and the current environmental emergency will affect the practice of architecture, both in terms of its design philosophy and rising opportunities to innovate and radically transform the current tenet of architecture's aesthetic, ethical and professional drives. Climax Change! offers an overview of how the current environmental emergency will impact the practice of architecture. At a crossroads in which the construction sector and built environment produce nearly 40% of greenhouse gases accountable for global warming, architects are just starting to acknowledge their complicity in an impending disaster. In need of a paradigm shift similar to that of the Modern Movement, architecture desperately requires clear guidelines and targets so as to operate its inevitable transformation towards an ecologically-friendly design logic. From historical analyses of ecocide or the environmental avant-gardes, to topics such as decarbonization, degrowth, the Great Transition and the aspirations of Green New Deals, this book features ten essays around today's climate change debates, bringing them home to architectural thinking.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 G116clISBN: 9781948765671Publication Date: 2022 -
Everything Needs to Change: Architecture and the Climate Emergency
by
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 Ev279ISBN: 9781859469651Publication Date: 2021 -
Climate Design: Design and Planning for the Age of Climate Change
by
Climate Design focuses on radical design and planning measures for combating climate change, and for attempting to adjust to life on a warming planet. It explores both the current paradigm shift and design and planning practice - and how to apply professional expertise to mitigate the human causes of climate change, and adapt to its already inevitable impacts. For this publication, the pioneering design firm AECOM has joined forces with Professor Peter Droege, the widely acknowledged expert in the field of renewable and sustainable design. Together they show how new professional practice is successfully applied to avoid its human causes and adapt to its impacts. AUTHOR: AECOM is a collaborative design and engineering company working in all contexts at all scales, with a shared purpose: to enhance and sustain the world's built, natural and social environments. Around the world, AECOM brings together the following capabilities: Architecture, Building Engineering, Design + Planning, Economics, Energy, Environment, Government Services, Program + Construction Management, Transportation and Water. An initiative of AECOM's Design + Planning practice, Climate Design is part of the company's deepening innovation in climate change mitigation and low carbon development. AECOM"s designers and planners are dedicated to responsible and productive use of the land, and seek to create, restore and steward urban and natural environments. Whether detailed designs, physical plans, or broad policy frameworks, they offers solutions that promote sustainable use of resources and enhance quality of life. Professor Peter Droege is an authority on renewable energy, urban design, development, and infrastructure. He serves as Expert Commissioner on Cities and Climate Change to the World Future Council and as a Steering Committee Member of the Urban Climate Change Research Network, and he is Asia Pacific Chair of the World Council for Renewable Energy. Professor Droege is author of The Renewable City, Urban Energy Transition, and 100% Renewable- Energy Autonomy in Action. ILLUSTRATIONS: 300 colour & 100 b/w photographs
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.222 C6137ISBN: 9780982060711Publication Date: 2010 -
Architecture in a Climate of Change: A Guide to Sustainable Design
by
Revised to incorporate and reflect changes and advances since it was first published the new edition of Architecture in a Climate of Change provides the latest basic principals of sustainability and the future of sustainable technology. Including new material on wind generation, domestic water conservation, solar thermal electricity as well as international case studies Architecture in a Climate of Change encourages readers to consider new approaches to building making minimum demand on fossil based energy.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 Sm511a2005ISBN: 0750665440Publication Date: 2005 -
Tibetan Houses: Vernacular Architecture of the Himalayas and Environs
by
The region of the Himalayas and the adjoining Tibetan plateau is known for its unique and characteristic vernacular architecture and housing culture which is slowly but surely disappearing. The first part of the book analyses 19 traditional houses in the region that respond in diverse ways to the specifics of their location and local climate. The second part presents a comparative study of the construction elements - walls, roof and façades - using photographs and hand-drawn construction details. The newly produced scale drawings provide an excellent basis for comparative review. Detailed plans, atmospheric photographs and informative texts take the reader on a journey through a fascinating building culture.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 728.09515 H436tISBN: 9783035610314Publication Date: 2017 -
Superlight: Rethinking How Our Homes Impact the Earth
by
One of the most powerful design philosophies of recent years has been architect Glenn Murcutt's dictum that buildings should "touch the earth lightly." Ever since the Industrial Revolution, architects have sought to liberate our houses from their solid foundations, but now climate change, new materials and restricted land use have given fresh impetus to finding lightweight solutions for our dwellings. The projects here combine two strands of thinking: that buildings can weigh less and have minimal impact on their environments, and that this lightness--visual, material, ecological--can create beautiful, ethereal houses that offer new, natural modes of habitation and greater communion with our surroundings. Each of the 40 houses selected by Phyllis Richardson--author of the widely successful XS series and Nano House--is presented through photographs, plans and lucid explanations. Residences that float on air or water, ingenious constructions using local materials, innovative structures, inflatable spaces, high-tech hyper-intelligent houses--"superlight" takes many forms. From the desert landscape of Arizona to the urban jungle of Tokyo, from rural China to mountainous Chile, this book brings new solutions for architects and designers everywhere.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 R395sISBN: 9781938922589Publication Date: 2014 -
Hassan Fathy: Earth & Utopia
by
Hassan Fathy is Egypt's best-known 20th-century architect. He was also a man of contradictions. He came from a wealthy background and had a western-style training. Yet he embraced traditional, vernacular forms, techniques, and materials and throughout his career promoted their use as part of a campaign to improve the conditions of Egypt's rural poor. Earth & Utopia chronicles this lifelong commitment through personal interviews conducted by the author, photographs, and drawings from the Hassan Fathy archives, and Fathy's own writings on the subject, many of which are published for the first time. This beautiful, fascinating, and scholarly book will be essential reading for students, academics, and general readers interested in Fathy, and the development of Arab and vernacular architecture, earth construction, architecture for the poor, and sustainability.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.962 F268dISBN: 9781786272614Publication Date: 2018 -
Habitat: Vernacular Architecture for a Changing Planet
by
Vernacular architecture is architecture without architects; designed based on local needs, these buildings make use of natural resources and demonstrate diverse architectural forms, design elements unique to their culture, and ingenious construction techniques. From bamboo garden pavilions in China to homes made from reeds in southern Iraq, and mud dwellings in Mali to pine huts in Siberia, Habitat showcases the diverse and indigenous materials that can be used to build innovative, sustainable structures. The core of Habitat is arranged by climate zone, from desert to tropical, temperate to arctic. Within each section, buildings are presented regionally, showing how local climatic conditions and vegetation affect the evolution of building styles. Complete with a range of essays exploring the economic and anthropological aspects, as well as a reference section with information on materials science and engineering, Habitat offers real-world insights into sustainable buildings and stresses the importance of preserving disappearing craftsmanship and local knowledge.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 H1145ISBN: 9781419728808Publication Date: 2017 -
Material Revolution: Sustainable and Multi-Purpose Materials for Design and Architecture
by
Since it is now clear that in the future many raw materials will only be available to us in limited quantities, scientists have for some time been conducting intensive research into possible alternatives. Sustainability is the order of the day and the magic word for a better future in politics and industry. Moreover, environmental consciousness and a penchant for thinking in terms of material cycles have caught on with consumers: the use of environmentally compatible materials and production methods is desired, even taken for granted by the client. Designers and architects thus have a special role and responsibility. For they are the ones who decide what materials will be used on their projects and thus wield enormous influence on the sustainability of our product world. At the same time, we are dealing with a flood of new materials, which calls for specialized knowledge of their properties, their possible use, and their handling. Material Revolution bridges the gap between research and industry on the one hand and designers and architects on the other by offering a systematic overview of the currently available sustainable materials and providing the reader with all the information he or she needs to assess a new material's suitability and potential for a given project. Along the way, it examines natural and biodegradable materials, while also presenting materials with multifunctional properties and the potential for diminishing energy requirements.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 P442mISBN: 9783034606639Publication Date: 2011 -
Atmosphere Anatomies: On Design, Weather, and Sensation
by
Atmosphere Anatomies illustrates the relationship between landscape architecture and urbanism with atmosphere as a design medium for sensory and physiological welfare. The essays examine the design techniques and contexts of projects in which atmosphere is brought to the fore. Throughout, photo-essays by Iwan Baan showcase selected design projects as milieus for everyday life. The book concludes with a combined taxonomy of design techniques. The critical and visual examinations of these projects--from William Kent to Lawrence Halprin, Carlos Villanueva to Alexandre Chemetoff, Le Corbusier to Lina Bo Bardi--illustrate that the continual integration of atmosphere as medium in the design process creates spaces with social, emotional and environmental relevance Silvia Benedito is an Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. She teaches graduate core design studios in landscape architecture and urbanism, as well as advanced research seminars. She also serves as Co-Chair of the Sensory Media Platform at the GSD.
Call Number: Stacks 711.42 B434atISBN: 9783037786123Publication Date: 2021 -
Building for a Changing Culture and Climate: World Atlas of Sustainable Architecture
by
The author of this book aims to encourage an awareness of sustainability as it is implemented across all areas of planning and design, and the ability to think and act on this knowledge. This book will explore in genuine depth the sustainable strategies that could be applied, along with the practical work of key figures in the built environment, setting these against historical experiences and traditional cultures. It also aimes to revive the discourse around these subjects. Achieving this will require the involvement of architects and structural, energy and environmental engineers, construction businesses and specialists, research institutes and universities. The five chapters and 333 show-cased projects reflect important stages in the architectural and engineering-based design process, stages which need to be addressed when dealing with sustainable strategies in the built environment.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.47 P472b:E2014ISBN: 9783869222820Publication Date: 2014 -
Design with Climate: Bioclimatic Approach to Architectural Regionalism
by
Architects today incorporate principles of sustainable design as a matter of necessity. But the challenge of unifying climate control and building functionality, of securing a managed environment within a natural setting--and combating the harsh forces of wind, water, and sun--presented a new set of obstacles to architects and engineers in the mid-twentieth century. First published in 1963, Design with Climate was one of the most pioneering books in the field and remains an important reference for practitioners, teachers, and students, over fifty years later. In this book, Victor Olgyay explores the impact of climate on shelter design, identifying four distinct climatic regions and explaining the effect of each on orientation, air movement, site, and materials. He derives principles from biology, engineering, meteorology, and physics, and demonstrates how an analytical approach to climate management can merge into a harmonious and aesthetically sound design concept. This updated edition contains four new essays that provide unique insights on issues of climate design, showing how Olgyay's concepts work in contemporary practice. Ken Yeang, John Reynolds, Victor W. Olgyay, and Donlyn Lyndon explore bioclimatic design, eco design, and rational regionalism, while paying homage to Olgyay's impressive groundwork and contributions to the field of architecture.
Call Number: Stacks Q. 720.9439 Ol29dISBN: 9780691169736Publication Date: 2015 -
Building Nature
by
A career-spanning, slipcased monograph in two volumes presenting the work of one of Asia's most thoughtful and innovative architects. With rising populations around the world and the pressures of looming climatic catastrophe, the work of Vo Trong Nghia is a call for architecture to transform itself from a source of pollution to a reason for hope. Nor is this idea anecdotal: the World Green Building Council estimates that 39% of energy-related carbon emissions can be attributed to buildings. An awareness of architecture's responsibilities has permeated the profession in the developed world, while new ideas and solutions are coming from places where these issues are most acute. Following a long recovery from decades of war, Vietnam has emerged as one of the most exciting centres of design Asia - led largely by the work of Vo Trong Nghia, born one year after the end of the Vietnam War, whose work has gained an international following. As a student in Japan, he studied under the minimalist architect Hiroshi Naito and encountered the work of the Colombian architect Simón Vélez, a proponent of bamboo architecture with its large spans and high, voluminous spaces - the ideas and teachings of both were to have a profound influence on his own designs. The buildings of Vo Trong Nghia Architects, established in Ho Chi Minh City in 2006, make clear reference to these sources and influences of the past, and to Vo's own adherence to the Five Precepts of Buddhist teaching. The architect's two main themes - green architecture and bamboo as a building material - form the basis of this two-volume celebration of his work. From the Wind and Water Bar, his first foray into bamboo as a building material, to resort complexes, art installations and his game-changing series of residences, House for Trees, Vo Trong Nighia: Building Nature proves that green architecture creates local relevance, beauty and elegance in its own right.
Call Number: Stacks 720.9597 N499buISBN: 9780500343593Publication Date: 2022 -
Contemporary Design in Detail: Sustainable Environments
by
A visual look at the architectural details of sustainable residential spaces TheContemporary Design in Detailseriestakes a highly visual look at architectural design details that are more often dealt with in a technical textbook format. The books take readers on a tour of the best details designed by great architects around the world. The series provides a powerful presentation of the most challenging and evolving architectural and design categories. Sustainable Environments focuses on the type of architectural details in distinctive, sustainable residential spaces. It includes sections on components such as cooling or shading devices, building techniques that create minimal impact on the land, active systems, and the use of new sustainable materials as well as those that are salvaged or recyclable. The book presents recent work by architects from around the globe in color photographs and architectural drawings, and is structured according to categories of architectural detail.
Call Number: Stacks 728.37 C361s2008ISBN: 9781592535040Publication Date: 2008 -
BI: Biological Intelligence : The Origin of Architectural Creativity : Design the Way Nature Creates Itself
by
Nature doesn't necessarily mean creativity, yet its diversity and beauty are stunning. We call the mechanism behind this unintended creativity of nature "BI" - Biological Intelligence. The design and construction of a building is very much like the creation of life. The intention of Biological intelligence (BI) is to understand how life is born, wither, born again, and to follow the principles of evolution so architecture can also enter a sustainable cycle of design, construct, operate, and disassemble and regenerated according to its new condition. The three categories: "Origin," "Form," and "Interface" loosely resembles lives' condition of "Habitat" "Physical Form" and "Interaction with outside." Each category contains three modules; all the nine modules contain elements that architects have been familiar with for thousands of years. They exist as nine toolboxes that architects need and use during the design process - the creation of architecture. "BI" is a bigger box that holds the nine boxes together. The same way as nature never intends to create anything, most of architecture's great inventions aren't created intentionally. Rather than boosting design creativity, the mechanism we introduce in this book proves to accompany architects strolling through the maze of architecture improving the creation of architecture similarly to how nature creates itself.
Call Number: Stacks 720.47 G959biISBN: 9781943532988Publication Date: 2020 -
Architecture and Action
by
Projects and texts that address architecture's role in taking on complex global challenges including climate change, housing, migration, and social justice.What is the role of architecture and design in addressing complex global challenges? How does one define "action" in terms of architectural scholarship and practice? How is architecture at MIT uniquely positioned to lead? Architecture education at MIT, celebrating its 150th anniversary, today encompasses research and teaching projects that address large-and sometimes highly charged-topics, including urban resilience in the face of climate change, energy use and futures, refugees fleeing conflict or disaster, water management, infrastructure, the teaching of global architectural history, and explorations into the self-assembly of materials. Architecture and Action focuses on the agency of architects and architecture within the overlapping spheres of the institution, the discipline, and the profession. Through a presentation of projects and texts, the book reveals how students and faculty-whether architects, artists, historians, technologists, or scientists-define action, considering its possible forms, procedures, and scales, as well as its potency and limits. The selected work exemplifies the wide range of approaches and zones of intervention, bringing together projects that find space for action while questioning assumptions about where architectural value is located. Whether advocating for utopian idealism, systemic overhaul, instrumental tools, or pragmatic arguments, all of the work collected here presents a powerful case for architecture's embrace of agency and action. Contributors Azra Aksamija, Brandon Clifford, Rania Ghosn, Mark Jarzombek, Caroline Jones, Sheila Kennedy, Miho Mazereeuw, Ana Miljacki, Nasser Rabbat, Christoph Reinhart, Rafi Segal, Skylar Tibbits The Agendas in Architecture series features student and faculty design, research, and scholarship from the MIT Department of Architecture.
Call Number: Stacks 720.103 Ar25323ISBN: 0998117064Publication Date: 2019
