Use the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you identify the location within the Library of a particular book or journal. Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification or Library of Congress Classification. Boolean operators must be capitalized if used: AND, OR, NOT. Interface automatically truncates some search terms unless Boolean operators are used within the same query line. You can also browse catalog records by call number, creating a "virtual shelf browsing" experience.

The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.

Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage

Thousands of television commercials from the firm D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), ca. 1950s-1980s.

Newsreels, feature films, and documentaries from 1917 through the Cold War. Films were produced in communist and socialist nations, such as the Soviet Union, Vietnam, China, Korea, Cuba, East Germany, and nations of Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

Newsreels (commercial and governmental), archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentary films. Includes global coverage of the 20th century, though from an American perspective. Videos were sourced from the Works Progress Administration, the Black Panther Party Library, the Library of Congress, United Newsreel, Universal Newsreel, Chronoscope, United States Information Agency, National Archives and Records Administration, and more.

Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films on LGBT history, gay culture, gay subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, and global comparative experiences.

Over 25,000 movies, including feature films and documentaries.

All extant episodes from 1949 through 2013.

Popular film newsreels shown in American movie theaters.

Documentary videos organized into subject collections (e.g. "African American Studies," "Race and Culture," "Gender").

Over 5 million films of varying length and genres. Includes the famous film from the famous Prelinger Archive in New York City.