Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Using MathSciNet: Home

What is MathSciNet?

MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID), enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication,Mathematical Review (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 80,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences." From MathSciNet - About. Web Aug. 20, 2018.

Why use MathSciNet?

In addition to remote and digital access to indexed mathematics journals, MathSciNet provides other useful features for users.

Author and Institution IDs

Each author and publishing institution is given a unique identifier, making it easier to find articles by a given author. You can also search by the institution ID to find all publications by a specific institution.

Citation Information 

Not only does MathSciNet link authors and collaborators, it also keeps track of how often an author, article, or journal is cited by others. This data is especially useful when looking for high-impact journals in your subject area. This is usually referred to as the Mathematical Citation Quotient in this context. See an example from 2017's data below:

 

Mathematical Citation Quotient for 2017
MCQ Journal Abbreviation

6.41 (89% cited)

Acta Numer.

4.50 (100% cited)

Surv. Approx. Theory

4.33 (98% cited)

Ann. of Math.

4.29 (97% cited)

Publ. Math. Inst. Hautes Études Sci.

4.18 (90% cited)

Forum Math. Pi

3.85 (84% cited)

Found. Trends Theor. Comput. Sci.

3.82 (99% cited)

J. Amer. Math. Soc.

3.71 (100% cited)

Acta Math.

3.02 (97% cited)

Invent. Math.

3.00 (100% cited)

Camb. J. Math.

Librarian

Mathematics Library's picture
Mathematics Library
Contact:
216 Altgeld Hall
1409 West Green Street
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-0258
Website
Subjects:Mathematics

Mathematics Library LibGuides