Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies Resources: Finding Resources in the Library

Global Studies is a multi-disciplinary and interdisciplinary subject area that explores the concept of globalization and the interrelationships of peoples and states.

About this page

This page provides basic information about navigating the UIUC Library's resources, including citing sources, interlibrary loan, where to find certain sources, and more.

Thinking Critically About Information Sources

Guide to Critical Thinking - Use this checklist to evaluate a potential information source and determine its suitability for your information needs.

Tools for Determining Bias -  This includes The Right Guide: A Guide to Conservative and Right-of-Center Organizations - Q.320.5202573 R4491997 in the Social Science, Health and Education Library (SSHEL) and The Left Guide: A Guide to Left-of-Center Organizations - Q.320.51 L522 also in the SSHEL reference collection.

The Literature Review

Analyzing and Evaluating Resources

Test Yourself - This is a quiz created for graduate students in European Union studies, but the concepts remain the same so give it a try.

Citing Your Sources

Citing a Source - Find out about the wide variety of citation styles for both print and electronic resources.

Instructions on APA formatting and style are available from the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

Citation Management Software can make your writing (and your life) easier.

 

Writing Help

Sometimes we have problems meaning what we say and saying what we mean.  If you would like to have someone work with you, contact the Writers Workshop.  From their website: "The Writers Workshop, part of the Center for Writing Studies, is the writing center at Illinois. We provide free writing assistance for University of Illinois students, faculty, and staff from all disciplines and at all stages of the writing process. Discuss your writing with consultants who are experienced writers and teachers of writing. Call (217) 333-8796 (or drop-in) to set up a 50-minute session at one of the four Workshop locations. Please see our appointmentschedule and policies pages for more information.

Finding Online Journals and Databases

This link goes to the list of online journals and databases available through the Library.  If you see this image associated with any of the articles you are interested in, click on it to see if the full text of the work is available through our collections.  You can also search for specific journal and database titles using Finding Online Journals and Databases.  If you have the citation to an article of interest, go to Journal and Article Locator and enter the requested information.  If neither of these work, go to the online catalog to see if the title is available in print in the Library.  If you still cannot find the article you are interested in, go to Iliad, our interlibrary loan service and place a request.  You will receive an email when the article arrives and usually you will be able to link directly to it.

The UIUC Library also provides a listing of databases by subject

Primary, Secondary, and other Types of Resources

What are primary sources?

If you are seeking to learn about the past, primary sources of information are those that provide first-hand accounts of the events, practices, or conditions you are researching. In general, these are documents that were created by the witnesses or first recorders of these events at about the time they occurred, and include diaries, letters, reports, photographs, creative works, financial records, memos, and newspaper articles (to name just a few types).

What is a scholarly resource? 

Scholarly sources (also referred to as academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed) are written by experts in a particular field and serve to keep others interested in that field up to date on the most recent research, findings, and news. These resources will provide the most substantial information for your research and papers.  When a source has been peer-reviewed it has undergone the review and scrutiny of a review board of colleagues in the author's field. They evaluate this source as part of the body of research for a particular discipline and make recommendations regarding its publication in a journal, revisions prior to publication, or, in some cases, reject its publication.

Subject Guide

Lynne Rudasill's picture
Lynne Rudasill
Contact:
306 International Studies Building
Office Hours:
Monday - 2:00-4:00
Wednesday - 10:00-noon
217-265-6879
Website / Blog Page