Suggested Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices.;This interactive website includes the entire US census history from 1790 to 2010, the American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2012, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US), InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project. Overall, the site contains 39 billion data points, 200,000 variables, and 15,000 interactive maps.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: civil engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields
- Health and Society in Video This link opens in a new windowHealth and Society in Video defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. This resource includes documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides more than 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 650 journals.
- HighWire Press This link opens in a new windowHighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science, from Stanford University. The database includes over 2 million free full-text articles and 6.5 million total articles. There are 20 sites with free trial periods, and 55 completely free sites.
- Consumer Product Information Database This link opens in a new windowThe Consumer Product Information Database links over 21,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis database includes articles on architecture and design including topics like the history of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design and decoration, and city planning.
How Do I Find a Book at U of I?
The books you are looking for may be located in a variety of locations, including the Ricker Art and Architecture Library as well as the Main Stacks and many other libraries on campus. Remember, books can be requested through the Library Catalog and delivered to any library on campus. This process usually take a couple of days. You'll be notified via email when the book is available.
The best way to find books is to search the Library Catalog. In order to find the books in the library, you need to have the call number and location. If you're logged into your library account, you can text this information through the Library Catalog.
How Do I Find Journals?
The best way to find academic articles in journals is to search the Online Journals & Databases (SFX). You can locate journals by searching by the title or by selecting a subject to narrow down your search. If you are searching by title, once you have located the journal and selected the title from the results list an authentication window will open in another window. There you will select the red "Go" button. It will load the journal content and you can then select the volume/issue and year to find a specific article.
In order to find print journals in the library, you need to have the call number and location. You can receive a text with this information through the Library Catalog.
Here is a guide to all Ricker Library Architecture Journals.
How Do I find I-Share Books?
If you can't find something in our library catalog, search the I-Share catalog to see if any other college libraries in Illinois have the item available. I-Share is a quick and easy way to borrow books from nearby libraries. Please note: journals/magazines CANNOT be requested through I-Share--you must request these items through Interlibrary Loan.
The I-Share catalog is connected to the Library Catalog and can be searched using Quick Search or Advanced Search. For more help Ask a Librarian.