Through contributions from leading experts in the fields of communication science, The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders presents a comprehensive survey detailing the state of the art in speech, language, and cognitive/intellectual disorders. Provides the first in-depth exploration of the rapidly expanding field of communication disorders Examines the current debates, landmark studies, and central themes in the discipline, including analytical methods and assessment Includes contributions from more than 20 leading scholars to provide an extraordinary breadth of coverage of this growing, multi-disciplinary field Features a "foundations" section that deals with issues of central importance to all research in the field, including social and practical considerations in classification and diversity, genetic syndromes, and principles of assessment and intervention.
Offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children's speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
This new graduate level textbook, Cognition and Acquired Language Disorders: An Information Processing Approach, addresses the cognitive aspects of language and communication. It assembles the most recent information on this topic, addressing normal cognitive processing for language in adults, the cognitive impairments underlying language disorders arising from a variety of neurologic conditions, and current assessment and treatment strategies for the management of these disorders. The text is organized using an information processing approach to acquired language disorders, and thus can be set apart from texts that rely upon a more traditional, syndrome-based approach (e.g., stroke, dementia, and traumatic brain injury). This approach facilitates the description and treatment of acquired language disorders across many neurologic groups when particular cognitive deficits are identified. Other useful features of the text include assessment and treatment protocols that are based on current evidence. These protocols provide students and clinicians a ready clinical resource for managing language disorders due to deficits in attention, memory, linguistic operations, and executive functions.
Credo Reference provides access to a large collection of encyclopedias and dictionaries published by major publishers. It includes important reference works in History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and related fields.