Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Baltic Digital Collections: Home

This guide provides digital resources to assist scholars studying the Baltic region. Included in the guide are both digital and digitized collections both from and about Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The guide includes vernacular and English sources

Overview

The Slavic Reference Service at the University of Illinois has created this guide to further facilitate research in the area of Baltic Studies. This guide provides an overview of digital resources available from Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian institutions. Also included are relevant digital resources available from other institutions that relate to Baltic Studies. Recently, institutions in the Baltic region have initiated significant digitization projects to preserve and make accessible items of both cultural and historic value to the region. The majority of these projects include documents originally from the region or created by expatriates during the Soviet era. The majority of the resources included in this guide are open-access. However, there are some institutions that have restricted access for a portion of the collection. The guide includes vernacular and English sources.

"Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia" print from the Rokiškis Area Museum

We hope this guide provides useful resources for those researching the subject area. However, it is in no way a fully comprehensive guide to the region. For those interested, the Slavic Reference Service can provide additional research assistance with Baltic Studies: https://www.library.illinois.edu/ias/spx/srs/ 

Note on Full-Text Articles

Although not all of the databases in this guide provide full-text articles for the periodicals they index, many of the articles can accessed directly though the publisher's website. For example, LituanasBaltistica, and Studia Philosophica Estonica provide full access to past issues.

We Are Here to Assist You

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website