Large Digital Reference Collections

You can use "tertiary" reference sources (e.g., encyclopedias, biographies, almanacs, etc.) to learn about possible topics, and to gather helpful background information on these topics. These sources provide broad overviews, but also often contain bibliographies that point to more relevant sources. The following reference websites allow for keyword searching and subject browsing.

• Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

  Two million digitized entries from Oxford dictionaries, companions, and encyclopedias in 25 different subject areas.

• Credo Reference

  Links to various reference books including dictionaries and encyclopedias from every major subject including art, science, history, music, foreign language, politics and literature.

• Britannica Online

  Online version of a broad, general-knowledge encyclopedia.

• Gale Virtual Reference Library

  A large, easily searchable collection of reference books.

You can keyword search the library's Online Reference Collection using the Online Reference Collection LibGuide.

Specialized Reference Sources

Specialized reference sources particular to a discipline or area of study can be especially good starting points. The following are available online and are keyword searchable and browsable by topic:

Overviews of the Scholarly Literature

Handbooks, Guidebooks, and Companions

• Oxford Handbooks Online
  • A collection of handbooks across a wide range of subject areas. The series includes articles written by scholars at the top of their fields.
• Cambridge Histories
  • Over 300 volumes from the Cambridge History of… series. Volumes are full-text searchable. Chapters display as PDF facsimiles of the print originals. Both book level and chapter level citations are easily exportable to Zotero and ten other citation management software tools.

For an alternative way to search for these more in-depth reference sources, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms 'handbook', 'guidebook', or 'companion'.

Bibliographies

• Oxford Bibliographies Online
  • Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a My OBO function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
  • Keyword searchable, also browsable by subject; see, for instance, Sociology (subject)-->"G" for Gender

The Writer's Workshop in partnership with the Undergraduate Library offers remote research and writing consultations.  Get help from experts focusing your research question(s) or developing your argument.

• Library Catalog
  • Best for finding books owned by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library and other I-Share Libraries; see also LibGuide: Using the Library Catalog
• Easy Search
  • Best for finding "known-items" (i.e. author and title, along with other information is known); not good for browsing 
• Journal & Article Locator
  • Best for finding journal articles when citation (e.g. journal name, article title, author, etc.) information is known
• Library Guides (LibGuides)
  • Keyword searchable "How-To" guides created by University Library Staff
• Digital Collections Library Guide
  • LibGuide of digital collections purchased by the library, many items of which may serve as primary sources; organized by geographic region, theme, or era
• A-Z Databases
  • Keyword searchable primary and secondary source databases accessible to U of I users; limit by subject, database type (e.g. primary sources), and vendor
• Oxford Bibliographies
  • Keyword searchable, also browsable by subject; see, for instance, Sociology (subject)-->"G" for Gender
• Resources in Gender & Women's Studies 
  • Find main research tools in this area, including Statistics on Women; maintained by Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)
• University Archives
  • Contact staff for assistance navigating collections

Hathitrust can be used to find primary and secondary sources. Login using your UIUC NetID to get fullest access.

See also the library's LibGuide: Hathitrust.

• Subject Specialists are experts in finding materials in their subject areas. Contact them for help finding specific materials for your research project. To schedule an appointment using the Library's Calendar Application, please visit the subject specialists web page.