Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results.

What constitutes a causal explanation, and must an explanation be causal? What warrants a causal inference, as opposed to a descriptive regularity? What techniques are available to detect when causal effects are present, and when can these techniques be used to identify the relative importance of these effects? What complications do the interactions of individuals create for these techniques? When can mixed methods of analysis be used to deepen causal accounts? Must causal claims include generative mechanisms, and how effective are empirical methods designed to discover them? The Handbook of Causal Anlaysis for Social Research tackles these questions with nineteen chapters from leading scholars in sociology, statistics, public health, computer science, and human development.

In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice. The third edition includes: - A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing - Expanded coverage of ethics - A new section on using the internet in research - A range of additional student learning features - A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and student exercises. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project.

The volume addresses major features in empirical social research from methodological and theoretical perspectives. Prominent researchers discuss central problems in empirical social research in a theory-driven way from political science, sociological or social-psychological points of view. These contributions focus on a renewed discussion of foundations together with innovative and open research questions or interdisciplinary research perspectives.

This handbook is a comprehensive reference guide for researchers, funding agencies and organizations engaged in survey research.The Handbook is divided into four key sections: the challenges faced in conventional survey research; opportunities to expand data collection; methods of linking survey data with external sources; and, improving research transparency and data dissemination, with a focus on data curation, evaluating the usability of survey project websites, and the credibility of survey-based social science.

Online research methods are popular, dynamic and fast-changing. Following on from the great success of the first edition, published in 2008, The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods, Second Edition offers both updates of existing subject areas and new chapters covering more recent developments, such as social media, big data, data visualization and CAQDAS.

Since its publication in 1990, Gender Troublehas become one of the key works of contemporary feminist theory, and an essential work for anyone interested in the study of gender, queer theory, or the politics of sexuality in culture.

During the past three decades, feminist scholars have successfully demonstrated the ubiq­ uity and omnirelevance of gender as a sociocultural construction in virtually all human collectivities, past and present. Intrapsychic, interactional, and collective social processes are gendered, as are micro, meso, and macro social structures. Gender shapes, and is shaped, in all arenas of social life, from the most mundane practices of everyday life to those of the most powerful corporate actors. Contemporary understandings of gender emanate from a large community of primarily feminist scholars that spans the gamut of learned disciplines and also includes non-academic activist thinkers. However, while in­ corporating some cross-disciplinary material, this volume focuses specifically on socio­ logical theories and research concerning gender, which are discussed across the full array of social processes, structures, and institutions.

This handbook provides an overview of sexual attraction, sexual relationships, and sexual expression in sociology. Broad sections examine sexuality in terms of important theories, methods used for research, bodies, social context, and institution context. Each chapter explores a more detailed aspect of a broad section. An index is included.

Newly translated and unabridged in English for the first time, Simone de Beauvoir's masterwork is a powerful analysis of the Western notion of "woman," and a groundbreaking exploration of inequality and otherness. This long-awaited new edition reinstates significant portions of the original French text that were cut in the first English translation. Vital and groundbreaking, Beauvoir's pioneering and impressive text remains as pertinent today as it was sixty years ago, and will continue to provoke and inspire generations of men and women to come.

This comprehensive, interdisciplinary encyclopedia contains over 600 cross-referenced articles on many different types of social problems in a variety of contexts. Each article is signed and contains a short bibliography of further reading. In addition to the reader’s guide, which groups related entries by topic, there is an alphabetical list of entries and a subject index, all three of which link directly to the appropriate entry. Users can search the list of entries and the subject index using a single search box, and the entire text may be searched using either a basic or advanced search.

This extensive three-volume work contains over 800 articles on poverty, including entries on history, definitions and measurement techniques, individuals and organizations, causes and effects, political and economic issues, and relief initiatives. Includes entries for 191 countries affected by poverty. The first volume includes a chronology of poverty, and each article includes cross-references and a bibliography. The third volume contains a glossary, an index, and two appendices: one of U.S. state economic data and one of statistical profiles of selected countries.

This reference book covers social issues in a global context that affect contemporary societies. It focuses on social ramifications of these issues in addition to covering technical and conceptual aspects and historical and contemporary discussions. Entries cover topics like health, economics, environmental and agricultural concerns, crime, family, government, and technology. Volumes are arranged alphabetically by entry name. Volume 1 includes an introduction and “Topic Finder” by broad subject, and volume 3 includes a selected bibliography and index.

This encyclopedia provides a view of poverty in the U.S. through the lenses of history and politics. The first portion of the encyclopedia contains articles, ordered chronologically, written by historians regarding the perception and changes in poverty throughout the history of the United States. The following entries, which are ordered alphabetically, contain topical information about various political and social poverty movements as well as other terminology used in regards to poverty throughout history. Evidence from primary documents and photos are included. Each volume contains a complete encyclopedia table of contents and volume two contains a detailed index.

This resource explores topics in race, class, and gender studies. Organized as a series of essays, each essay provides a basic history of a topic, along with key themes and future directions. Topics include migration, sexuality, education, work, cultural context, and contemporary trends. This handbook offers a clear overview of these topics as well as references for more in-depth research. An index is included.

A reference resource that covers major immigrant groups in the United States from every era, past to present. The book takes on a multidisciplinary approach, covering politics, health, labor, religion, and more. A glossary, bibliography, and index have been provided.

This two-volume set provides information on over twenty national Asian American groups, covering such topics as the arts, culture, community, education, family, gender, marriage, occupation, and work. The encyclopedia is divided by national group, and coverage is commensurate with each group’s relative population and history in the United States. Larger groups have a narrative history and alphabetically arranged thematic essays, followed by entries on important people, events, and organizations within that group. Smaller groups are covered in a single essay that gives information on immigration history, cultural heritage, and contemporary social status. Groups are arranged alphabetically and the encyclopedia includes a topic finder as well as an index for ease of use. Bibliographies for further reading are provided after most articles and essays.

This is the paperback edition of a globally recognized sourcebook on race and ethnic relations. It has been assembled by a world-class team of international scholars led by Ellis Cashmore to provide an authoritative, single-volume reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context. The entries range from succinct 400 word definitions to in-depth 2000 word essays to provide comprehensive coverage of: all the key terms, concepts and debates important figures, both historical and contemporary landmark cases historical events. Although unafraid to engage with cutting-edge theory, it is uncluttered by jargon and has been written in a lucid, 'facts-fronted' style to offer an accessible introduction to race and ethnic studies. Including a new introduction and fully cross-referenced index with most entries followed by annotated up-to-date suggestions for further reading to guide the user to the key sources, the book is already established as the authoritative sourcebook used by students, scholars, lawyers, journalists, members of the caring professions and many other groups involved in race and ethnic affairs.

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.

This comprehensive, cross-cultural guide to racism in America, intended for high school and college students, incorporates information on all of the major American ethnic groups rather than focusing on racism in relation to a particular demographic, allowing for comparative study. Combines information on theories of racism as well as information about historical events, organizations, and ethnic groups. Articles are extensively cross-referenced, signed, and most provide a short list of further reading. Acronyms and their full meanings are included in the index.

This guide exposes students to over 70 key terms in the scholarly study of race and ethnicity, as well as their conceptual evolution over time and their continued use or relevance in historical and current debates. Includes bibliographical references both in each entry and for the volume as a whole, and an index.

This work draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Subject index is provided. Articles within encyclopedia also provide bibliography

Cultural studies is “an interdisciplinary or post-disciplinary field of inquiry that explores the production and inculcation of culture or maps of meaning.” Arranged alphabetically, the entries are topical and biographical in nature; topical entries introduce essential terminology while biographical entries introduce important individuals in the field. Each entry includes cross-references to relevant terms.

"The problem of the twentieth century is the problem of the color line." Thus speaks W.E.B. Du Bois in "The Souls Of Black Folk," one of the most prophetic and influental works in American literature. In this eloquent collection of essays, first published in 1903, Du Bois dares as no one has before to describe the magnitude of American racism and demand an end to it. He draws on his own life for illustration, from his early experiences teaching in the hills of Tennessee to the death of his infant son and his historic break with the conciliatory position of Booker T. Washington. Far ahead of its time, "The Souls Of Black Folk" both anticipated and inspired much of the black conciousness and activism of the 1960's and is a classic in the literature of civil rights. The elegance of DuBois's prose and the passion of his message are as crucial today as they were upon the book's first publication.

This dictionary, specifically designed for students, provides a reference for the interdisciplinary study of criminal justice, criminology, and criminal law. It includes a list of major criminal appellate cases organized by major topic, brief biological sketches of all U.S. Supreme Court justices, and a list of acronyms and abbreviations.

The Dictionary of Criminal Justice. 5th ed. 2011.
Includes 3,600 entries of major personalities, terminology, events, concepts, and legislation associated with criminal justice in the United States. A few are accompanied by charts, graphs, or illustrations. Also included: a bibliography, an index and useful appendices on doctoral programs in the U.S., a list of criminal justice journals, a new compilation of web sites in the field, and summaries of 1,000 key U.S. Supreme Court rulings of importance to the criminal justice system.

Contains up-to-date statistics and academic research on historical and current penal systems in the United States. Areas of interest include prison architecture, theories of punishment, prison populations, prison reform, juvenile justice, staff, treatment programs, privatization, labor, sentencing policies and laws. Entries are cross-referenced and include sidebars and illustrations. Race and gender issues are given particular attention throughout. Includes an appendix of institutions in the federal prison system, a chronology of key legal cases, a list of publications, a list of the founding of certain penal establishments, and an index.

This two-volume encyclopedia provides an introduction to issues of race and crime in the United States from the nineteenth century to the present. Entries are signed, cross-referenced, and contain lists of further readings. Topics addressed include domestic violence, media portrayals, and social justice.The reader’s guide groups entries into categories such as biographies, cases, concepts and theories, police, public policy, and specific populations. List of entries, reader’s guide (Vol. 1). Two appendices on locating and evaluating relevant statistics, index (Vol. 2).

This comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview and current research on all prison systems in the word. Entries cover important institutions, penal theories, prisoner culture and life. Notable prisoners and personnel and are extensively cross-referenced. Includes an alphabetical and topical list of entries. There is a chronology at the beginning and a bibliography and index at the end. Includes various appendices on prison writing, prison museums, histories of prison and their prisoners, and much more.

This dictionary covers key concepts, theories, and methods in criminology and criminal justice. Entries are comprehensive, definitive, international, and student-focused, helping make connections to various fields, issues, and further study in criminology, criminal justice and legal studies, and related fields of sociology, social policy, psychology, and cultural studies.

This encyclopedia covers comprehensively the field of crime and punishment in the United States from the colonial era to the present day, including crime, policing, courts and law, imprisonment, theoretical and philosophical issues. Special features include history of crime and criminal justice of individual states and treatment of crime and criminal justice under different presidential administrations. Each volume contains a list of articles/entries. Volume 1 also contains a reader’s guide, which organizes entries by type or subject heading, and a brief chronology of major historical events. Volume 5 contains facsimiles of primary documents, introductory headnotes, and background chronological essays; a glossary, resource guide, and index.