Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research in Film
Below you'll find some resources for the study of film.
Film Study Reference Guide
The Film Study Reference Guide provides students and scholars with an introduction to some of the key works on the subjects of film history, criticism, and theory, and with resources for finding articles in serial publications and anthologies.
FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new window
Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
Film Art: an Introduction by
Call Number: Reference: 791.43 B644f 2010
Film is an art form with a language and an aesthetic all its own. Since 1979, David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson's Film Art has been the best-selling and widely respected introduction to the analysis of cinema.Taking a skills-centered approach supported by a wide range of examples from various periods and countries, the authors strive to help students develop a core set of analytical skills that will deepen their understanding of any film, in any genre.
A Short Guide to Writing About Film by
Call Number: Literatures and Languages: PN1995.C66 2010
This best-selling text is a succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces readers to major film theories as well as film terminology, enabling them to write more thoughtfully and critically.
The Film Experience: an Introduction by
Call Number: Main Stacks PN1995 .C655 2018
The second edition of this accessible book continues to examine how we can extract a broad range of meanings from the films we watch. With an improved structure, better pedagogy and more examples from popular film, this new edition continues to give students of film the vocabulary, context and critical tools they need for serious film study.
Film: a Critical Introduction by
Film: a Critical Introduction, 2nd edition, provides a comprehensive framework for studying films, with an emphasis on writing as a means of exploring film's aesthetic and cultural significance.
A short list of SciFi movies you could watch!
A short list of SciFi shows you could watch!