The American Public Transportation Association (APTA) is the leading force in advancing public transportation and serves and leads its diverse membership through advocacy, innovation, and information sharing.

Formed in 1997, the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance-of-Way's (AREMA) mission is the development and advancement of both technical and practical knowledge and recommended practices pertaining to the design, construction, and maintenance of railway infrastructure.

Started in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) has over 140,000 members worldwide and is America's oldest national engineering society.

Founded in 1934, the Association of American Railroads (AAR) is the world’s leading railroad policy, research, standard setting and technology organization that focuses on the safety and productivity of the U.S. freight rail industry.

The Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) was created by the Department of Transportation Act of 1966. The mission of the FRA is to enable the safe, reliable, and efficient movement of people and goods for a strong America, now and in the future.

The National Cooperative Rail Research Program (NCRRP) conducts applied research on problems of interest to freight, intercity passenger, and commuter rail practitioners.

A subsidiary of the Association of American Railroads, TTCI is a world-class transportation research and testing organization, providing emerging technology solutions for the railway industry throughout North America and the world.

In collaboration with the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), administered by the university’s Institute of Transportation Studies (ITS), PATH is a multi-disciplinary program with staff, faculty, and students from universities worldwide and cooperative projects with private industry, state and local agencies, and nonprofit institutions.

Founded as an all-digital library program, NTL’s collections in ROSA P are full-text electronic publications, datasets, and other resources. The repository is also designated as the full-text repository for USDOT-funded research under the USDOT Public Access Plan. NTL provides its collections freely to transportation researchers, statistical organizations, the media, and the general public.

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

In memory of William Hay who was a Professor of Railroad Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for over 30 years, this collection was donated to the University Library in January of 2001 by the Transportation Technology Center, Inc. (TTCI) and the Federal Railroad Administration.