Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Hospitality Management: Hospitality Management Home

Resources for students in the hospitality management program.

Quick Links

Welcome

Welcome to the Funk ACES Library resource site for Hospitality Management at the University of Illinois. The tabs above will take you to a variety of resources for students and professionals in the FSHN field. Please place any comments or suggestions in the comment box below. Thank you for using the Funk ACES Library website.

If you are an instructor in FSHN at UIUC and you would like to see additional resources or setup a class site, please email the Funk ACES Library. Thank you. 

Fun with Foods -- Culinary Sites and other Sites of Interest

Popular Food Literature and Reviews

  • Cooks Illustrated:
    Magazine publishing recipes, cooking techniques, and equipment reviews.
  • FoodWine:
    Website offering a recipe search engine, as well as profiles of cookbooks and other cooking information. 
  • Saveur Magazine:
    Magazine publishing content on recipes, food, drinks and travel.
  • Vegetarian Times:
    Magazine publishing vegetarian recipes, lifestyle information, and resources for new vegetarians.
  • Wine Spectator:
    Magazine publishing wine reviews, wine culture and wine tasting education.

 

Food Preparation, Recipes and Beverages

  • BBC - Food
    Recipes and techniques from the BBC. An illustrated glossary of foods can be found on the ingredients tab.
  • CocktailDB:
    A database of 4733 recipes that allows you to search by drink names or names of ingredients.
  • Cooking with Kids
    Recipes and cooking projects from the Home and Family Network. 
  • Home Wine Making
    Information on viticulture and enology at the University of California Davis.
     
  • Recipe Source
    Formerly SOAR (Searchable Online Archive of Recipes). A large archive of recipes of all descriptions, searchable by ethnic region and by type of dish.

     
  • VegWeb:
    Provides access to vegetarian recipes, articles, newsletters and coupons.

 

Culinary Research Resources

  • Food Timeline:
    Food history and period recipes from the Morris County Library in New Jersey.
  • International Vegetarian Union:
    Resource for information on all aspects of vegetarianism. Search by global region on various topics like history, publications, or accomodation. A large pool or resources to begin research.

 

Menu Collections

  • Alice Statler Library:
    Menu collection at the City College of San Francisco focusing on San Francisco and Northern California.
  • Conrad N. Hilton Library:
    Menu colletion at the Culinary Institute of America with more than 25,000 menus from over 80 countries.

Subject Guide

Funk ACES Library's picture
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website

Ask a Librarian