Digital Collections and the Management of Knowledge: Renaissance Emblem Literature as a Case Study for the Digitization of Rare Texts and Images
This volume "is intended to direct users’ attention to the universality of the specialized research conducted by the participants for a broad range of applications for digital collections in the area of library and information science and for cultural heritage institutions. While [the] focus [is] on an esoteric genre from the Renaissance, the European emblem, our research is very broad in its scope and is potentially useful for a wide range of subjects and artifacts.
Emblem Digitization: Conducting Digital Research with Renaissance Texts and Images
"The papers assembled in this volume explore various aspects of this search for solutions, the technologies and research questions involved, and the solutions themselves. The volume demonstrates the workings of a loosely organized research consortium and attests to the collegial negotiation of research hurdles, to the sharing of data and expertise, and to the excitement of collaborative work that benefits entire research communities worldwide."
The primary online source available to find emblems or information about emblems is the Emblematica Online website created by a University of Illinois team. This is a digital library of emblems that contains 1,388 freely accessible facsimiles of many different rare and sometimes unique emblem books from these libraries: the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; the Herzog August Bibliothek, Wolfenbüttel; Glasgow University, Utrecht University, Duke University, and the Getty Research Institute. Anyone can search and look through the books from all of these libraries' collections.
Society for Emblem Studies webiste
News, research and past conference information for Emblem studies is given here.
The cooperation project Emblematica Online between the Herzog August Bibliothek (HAB) and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) is aimed at digitizing, developing and researching the originals as well as the development of structures and standards that enable joint development of emblems of both facilities. The cooperation was established by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation until 2007 and in the joint German - US - American"Bilateral Digital Humanities Program" by the DFG and NEH promoted. In the meantime, around 800 emblems have been digitized, mottoes transcribed and the images developed with ICONCLASS notations. The emblems are made available online via the OpenEmblem portal. Furthermore, the data is prepared in such a way that the information will be usable in the semantic web in the future and the concepts developed for this purpose can also be transferred to other areas of the digital humanities.
This is the website for the Emblem Project Utrecht. It currently includes 27 Dutch love emblem books, religious as well as profane. For all of these we have full transcriptions, page facsimiles and indexes, as well as extented search options. Links to sources and parallels, translations and annotation are being added.
Digitalisierung von ausgewählten Emblembüchern der frühen Neuzeit
This website focuses on the access to the complete bibliographical data on all titles and on motto and keywords on the individual emblems. A scientific commentary on the respective work is also integrated into the database.
Arkyves is a database, treasure trove and toolbox for those interested in the History of Culture. It is a single access point for thematic searches across a wide variety of cultural heritage collections, contributed by partners like the Dutch Rijksmuseum, the Netherlands Institute for Art History, the Herzog August Bibliothek, and the university libraries of Milan, Utrecht, Glasgow, and Illinois.
Biblioteca Digital Siglo de Oro
The research group on Hispanic Emblematic Literature is part of the Interdisciplinary Seminar for the Study of Spanish Golden Literature (SIELAE) , University of Coruña (SPAIN). The work is offered to the community through two virtual libraries, a page with secondary bibliography on Emblemática and a catalog of primary sources (books of emblems) accessible in digital format, which can be viewed on the website.
BiViO - Biblioteca Virtuale On-Line
The aim is to orient philosophical, historical, historical-artistic and philological research into the creation of an on-line virtual library, capable of offering rare texts in the most significant editions and translations, made accessible by appropriate computer systems, , from the simplest, as word frequencies, to the most sophisticated who can question the content.
Moving from the reflection on the lines of Renaissance culture, which is to be illustrated and clarified by means of a targeted textbook, the project offers subsidies (for example, the citation heritage and the image repertoire) for an in-depth understanding of the historical period taken in exam.
The library presents authored texts / titles in the Authors section and grouped by theme affinities in the Reading Proposals section. It also gives you the ability to search by selecting preferences both in the Authors 'List and in the Readers' List.
A collection of Alciato's emblems, with Latin text and images from a 1621 edition of his emblems. There is an English translation given with the emblems.
