"This four-volume set offers several hundred scholarly articles on worldwide Islam from the end of the eighteenth century to the present. Coverage includes the religion, history, law, government, politics, social life, art, and literature of Islam. Thorough indexes and detailed bibliographical references make this a valuable resource for researchers and students of Islamic studies, as well as general readers seeking background material on modem Islam." (from the Reference & User Services Quarterly review by Daniel C. Mack)

- Correlates with standards and benchmarks in World History and Social Studies - Valuable for a wide range of courses, including history; literature; art history; social studies; gender studies; science, technology, and society; social movements; economics; political science; and religion and philosophy - Offers an interdisciplinary approach to a major historical era - Discusses and analyzes often-studied topics such as industralization, social thought and reform, colonial expansion, and cultural identity - International in scope: focus is on Britain, but articles cover British influence in the United States, Europe, Ireland, and the British Empire, including special attention to India, Australia, and Africa - Selected primary sources, with commentary, offer documentary evidence of major themes of the era - Provides coverage of all aspects of everyday life, domestic life, and social conditions - Articles are written in a clear, concise, and engaging manner by scholars and experts in their fields

3rd ed. Online version of the standard, 10 volume reference work on American history--excellent place to begin.

Online version of the 2 volume original.

See also the Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages from Oxford University Press.

Online version of the 6 vol. original. Substantive, signed entries with short bibliographies. Also includes a chronology and an index.

2 vols. Online resource. Also available in print through our catalog. A little old, but still highly regarded, and useful as a starting point into just about any historical topic. An excellent introduction to historiographical themes and seminal works.

Compiles all kinds of campaign propaganda, including buttons, ribbons, cartoons, broadsides, posters, coins, medallions, and more.

See also: Black Collectibles Sold in America.

See also Black Postcard Price Guide.

This reference work offers 228 entries of historical commentary on the role of coins and currency in human events, politics and the arts. Not only does the book cover the evolution and circulation of money throughout history, it also includes biographical information on the designers of coins.