Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Professional Groups and Associations
The American Physiological Society aims to advance scientific discovery, understand life, and improve health. They support the research and professional development of their members.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is an international nonprofit scientific and educational organization. Founded in 1906, the ASBMB’s mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes.
Taxonomy and Nomenclature
Best Databases for Research
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Web of Science (All Databases Search)
Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
[Must register first to access]
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Dissertations and Theses
Dissertations and theses are submitted to the academic department and the Graduate College and are made available through the University Library. Since 2010, all theses and dissertations are electronically deposited into IDEALS, the Illinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship, the University's open repository of scholarly content.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full text PDFs are available for many Ph.D. dissertations added since 1997 and some older graduate works.
Illinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship (IDEALS) IDEALS collects, disseminates, and provides persistent and reliable access to the research and scholarship of faculty, staff, and students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Faculty, staff, and graduate students can deposit their research and scholarship - unpublished and, in many cases, published - directly into IDEALS. Departments can use IDEALS to distribute their working papers, technical reports, or other research material.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses PQDT is a comprehensive collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.
To begin searching for dissertations, use the Advanced Search in our online catalog and search by author, title, subject, and department.
- Change your search to a "Subject" search and type in "Theses"
- NOTE: You can use the term "Dissertations," but it pulls up less consistent results
- Add another "Subject" term for the area of study you are looking in, for example "Microbiology"
- To search a specific time period, you can select a date range under the "Publication Date" section
- Dissertations and Theses will show up as manuscripts, as well as books and ebooks in the catalog
For more help finding dissertations, please go to our Libguide on Dissertations and Theses.
Kelli Trei, Biology Librarian
A grad student works in the Dolezal Bee Research Lab at the school of Integrative Biology.
© Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois