Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are just a few of the available databases and resources you should try searching when starting your literature search. Consult with your Grainger librarian or graduate assistant for additional ideas.
Easy Search - Engineering
BIOE 435 Article Databases
A comprehensive index of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Most comprehensive engineering literature and patent information available. Most relevant resources will be in Compendex for traditional engineering fields (mechanical, civil, industrial, etc. or INSPEC for physics, electrical and computer engineering), US Patents and European (EP) Patents databases.
Access Engineering (Bioengineering)
Online access the most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information, including Marks’ Handbook, Roark’s Formulas for Stress & Strain; Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, and several Schaum’s Outlines for mechanics, statics and dynamics.
American Society for Materials Handbooks Online
ASM Handbook for material properties, materials selection for various industries, composites, testing and fracture analysis.
Curated data for material properties, phase diagrams, composition and structures.
Engineering Society and Publisher Collections
Engineering Standards and Patent Information
Google Patent Search
Searches more than seven million US patents.
Index of worldwide industrial and organizational standards. Consult with your GA or librarian about receiving SAI standards
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
AAMI standards are currently not available in print or online. Please ask the Reference Desk if you need help locating an AAMI standard, or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Semantic search of over 92 million full-text patents worldwide and non-patent literature from IEEE.