Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

EALC 398 - Yellow Peril Redux: From Coolies to Cars, Trade Wars and Coronavirus (1980s-2022)

Course Guide for EALC 398

Current Newspapers

Newspaper Databases

Access World News 
Offers news from around the world in English from 1977 – present. Sources include articles from Newspapers, newswires, transcripts, online news, blogs, journals, college and university newspapers, videos and newsletters.

America’s Historical Newspapers 
A newsbank that allows users to pick an era of American history to search from the early colonial era of 1690 – 1729 through to the post-Vietnam era of 1976 – 1980.

British Library Newspapers 
British newspapers from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.

Ethnic NewsWatch 
Includes full text publications for 200 newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press from 1959 – present.

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) 
Provides information on emerging markets through financial news articles, company profiles, industry analysis, microeconomic statistics, financial statements, equity quotes and market-specific information.

Library PressDisplay 
Provides news articles from around the world that are searchable and browsable.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers 
Includes full text of major historical newspapers, with strong coverage of the late 19th and early-mid 20th centuries. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

Russian Central Newspapers / Russian Regional Newspapers 
Newspapers from the Russian region.

UIUC Library Newspaper Database
Links to online archives of newspapers from around the World and the US, which mostly start in the 19th or 20th centuries. This site cannot search full texts.

World Newspaper Archive 
Identifies articles from hundreds of Newspapers from around the United States and the World.

Online Newspapers