LibGuides: Modern Greek Studies Library Guide: Political Science

Related Libraries

Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL)

Information Desk Phone: 217-244-1864
Email: Lynne Rudasill (rudasill@illinois.edu)

International & Area Studies Library-European Union Collections and Services

Phone: 217-265-6879
Email: Lynne Rudasill (rudasill@illinois.edu)

Subject Headings

These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.

Greece--Politics and Government

Greece--Government and Politics

Greece--Political History

Greece--Politics

Greece--Political Science

Greece--Politics and culture

Greece--Politics and war

Full list of databases

Click here to see a full list of Political Science article databases.

European Union Resources

Europa - Web-site of the European Union
EUR-lex - Access to European law resources including the Official Journal and laws sorted by subject area.
Eurostat - The mother lode of statistical resources directly from the European Union. Tables, data, and publications are available. Also look at Euroindicators while you are there. The Statistics of the Week include a variety of reports and presentations.
UIUC European Union LibGuide- connects you to a wide variety of full-text and statistical resources from and about the European Union and the world.
Eurobarometer - This website provides access to public opinion polls run by the EU since 1973 related to citizenship, enlargement, and more.
European Values Study - The study has been updated occasionally since the early 1980s and deals with questions regarding European attitudes towards morals and religion, politics, work and leisure, and relationships. This will also lead you to the World Values Survey.
ENDSEurope - Environmental news and information service covering Europe.
Handbook of European Union Studies - This handbook serves as a reference guide to the study of the European Union and its politics.

Political Science Databases and Resources

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.

The Economist Intelligence Unit
As a resource, this database collects information on current issues and political trends throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory
This reference resource contains entries on various aspects of past and current political theories. This collection also holds information on institutions that are currently influenced by political theory.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
IBSS covers core social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. IBSS provides bibliographic citations to more than two million journal articles, reviews, books and selected chapters - from over 100 countries and in more than 90 languages. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. The Atlas thesaurus aids in finding works on a country or region; other speciaized thesauri and indexes are provided.

Political Handbook of the World
This resource has a thorough collection of information regarding facts, history, and current political topics. The handbooks collects information from 2005 to the present.
The World Factbook
With information collected by the CIA, the World Factbook provides up to date information on countries around the world.
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
This reference tool consists of eight volumes of information regarding political theory, current issues, international relationships, and more.

Article Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics, plus full text for more than 560 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.
Alternate Access Link
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
Web of Science (All Databases Search) This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.

European Union Center

Founded in 1998, the European Union Center serves as the focal point for teaching, research, and outreach on the European Union at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. In 2003, the US Department of Education designated the EUC as a Title VI National Resource Center. In 2011-15, the European Union recognized the EUC as a European Union Center of Excellence, and in 2015-18 as a Jean Monnet Center of Excellence.

Our sponsored projects, affiliated faculty, academic programs, and outreach and public engagement activities foreground interdisciplinary, inclusivity, and international perspectives on Europe and Transatlantic Relations. The EU Center is proud to offer a Master of Arts in EU Studies, the first such degree program in the US.

Please visit the European Union Center's website to learn more about the program.

Please also visit the European Union Library Collection and Services within the International & Area Studies Library.

Modern Greek Studies Library Guide: Political Science

About