Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African American Literature LibGuide
This guide is intended to introduce students to the University Library's resources for studying and researching African American literature, how to use the Library's research resources for African-American literature and related areas of study, and general research methods for literary studies.
African American Research Center
The African American Research Center of the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library is one of several units responsible for building the University Library’s African American Studies collection. The University Library’s African American Studies collection includes materials on the Black experience in the Americas and worldwide outside of Africa. Consisting of more than 100,000 volumes, the collection is distributed throughout the University’s various libraries, with the largest number located in the Main Library book stacks. The African American Research Center is available to anyone looking for facts, books, articles, or other media, about the Black experience in the Americas and the African diaspora.
National Affiliate Library Research Guides
WorldCat.org is a global catalog of library collections.
Search this catalog to find the materials you need in a library near you.
Zotero is a free research tool that helps you gather, organize and analyze sources. For further information on Zotero, see Citation Management Tools.
Past Affiliate Library Participation
We appreciate affiliate libraries that adopted the CCP library research guide.
- Penn State Brandywine
- University of Texas at San Antonio
Resources for Colored Conventions Research: A Guide for National
Affiliates and Public Use
Resources for Colored Conventions Research: A Guide for National Affiliates and Public Use is designed to provide assistance to users of and instructors teaching units connected to Colored Conventions: Bringing Nineteenth-Century Black Organizing to Digital Life, a digital humanities project of the University of Delaware.
Another guide, Resources for Colored Conventions Research at the University of Delaware, is available for University of Delaware faculty, students and staff. The guide provides links to UD-subscription databases and University of Delaware Library call numbers for print material.
The two guides were developed for the Colored Conventions Project, directed by Gabrielle Foreman, Ned B. Allen Professor of English and Professor of Africana Studies, University of Delaware.
Resources for Colored Conventions Research: A Guide for National Affiliates and Public Use offers information on a variety of resources. Please select a topic from the list or click a topic tab (above) to explore historical research related to the Colored Conventions.
- Websites: Read digitized pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907 (Library of Congress), the Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection (Cornell University) and other websites
- Letters/Papers: Look for the letters and papers of well-known African Americans
- Census Records/City Directories: Find information about the Colored Conventions and their delegates by searching for U.S. census records and city directories
- Petitions Research: Search for petitions in convention minutes, state house and senate journals, historical newspapers and books
- History/Biography Databases: Learn about databases that provide articles in biographical, history, and 19th-century journal and magazine databases
- Microform Collections: Examine historical documents on microfilm and fiche with equipment that allows users to view, print and scan images
- Omeka: Consult video tutorials for information on publishing biographies and adding images to Coloredconventions.org and other Omeka sites
Literatures and Languages Library
Literatures and Languages Library
Subjects: American Literature
, British Literature
, Film Studies
, Latin America
, Literature & Language