Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Search Results

A guide to using the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database.

Refine and Sort Results

Image showing ProQuest Dissertations & Theses search results page with refine results function highlighted.

Click to enlarge image

Sort your search results by relevance, oldest documents first, or newest documents first using the drop-down menu to the left of the search results. Refine your search results by full text availability, publication date, subject, index term (keyword), university/institution, university/institution location, and language.

Find Full Text

Image showing ProQuest Dissertations & Theses search results page with find full text option highlighted.

Click to enlarge image

If the full text is available through PQDT, click the Full Text—PDF option in the results list or article record. If full text is unavailable, click on the blue Discover Full Text button to find the text in our online library catalog. If full text is still unavailable, you may request a photocopy of the dissertation through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Other Features

Image showings ProQuest Dissertations & Theses citation management options.

Click to enlarge image

At the top right of the search results page and of item records are options for citation and document management. Download the PDF of a document to save it to your device, Cite a document to create a formatted citation in a specific citation style, Export your citation to a citation management software, Email a document to yourself or others, Print a document, Save a document to your My Research folder, and more. 


Image showing ProQuest Dissertations and Theses "other searches to try" function.

Click to enlarge image

At the bottom of each search results page, you will find suggestions of other searches to try. Similarly, in each item record, PQDT lists related works to view.