Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Engineering Village: Home

Engineering Village: Published by Elsevier

Engineering Village is "the information discovery platform for the engineering community." It includes access to several major literature databases that provide scholarly journals, trade publications, patents, government reports, reference books, conference proceedings, and more. Databases included in Engineering Village are: Ei Compendex, Inspec, GEOBASE, GeoRef, EnCompass, EU Patents, U.S. Patents, NTIS, PaperChem, Chimica, and CBNB. Ei Compendex covers over 22 million records across 190 engineering disciplines, and now includes all standards available from IEEE and over 7,800 standards from Ei Backfile. GEO-BASE contains 3+ million earth abstracts allowing users to "review geographical structures, relation to natural resources, and links to local resources including transportation and regional planning." NTIS contains nearly 3 million bibliographic records for government research reports and more in over 350 subject areas. 

Choosing Search Terms:

  1. Choose specific terms closely related to your research topic. 
  2. Choose terms that you might use when discussing your topic with a colleague, including current jargon. 
  3. Include synonyms and abbreviations. 
  4. This search is not case sensitive.
  5. Engineering Village also finds variant spellings and forms of a word. 

More Info on Engineering Village

Dates of Coverage:

Dates of coverage vary with each publication contained within Engineering Village. Some content dates back to 1666. Updates vary.

Access:
  1. From the CPLA homepage under Key Databases.
  2. From Databases by Subject search "engineering" and follow the link.  

When off campus, log in with your UIUC Net ID and password. 

Types of Searches:

Quick Search: This search allows you to search one or more record fields across all 12 databases or to hand-pick databases to search. You may limit your search by years and sort by relevance or publication date. You may select how many updates to include (1-4). You can also choose to browse indexes and remove Auto-stemming. 

Expert Search: Expert Search is similar to Quick Search, buy you have the added benefit of using codes to search only within specific topics (subject headings). The codes are listed in a drop-down under the search limits. 

Thesaurus Search: This search allows you to enter a search term to locate the controlled vocabulary for that term. By locating the controlled vocabulary term, you can search by that term to obtain additional and more relevant results than if you had simply used your own term. You can also narrow the search results to a certain database. 

Search type can be chosen using the "Search" drop-down at the top of the page. You can access your search history from that drop-down as well. 

Results:

Results are automatically sorted by Relevance. Use the "Sort by" drop down box on the right side for other sort options- Date(Oldest), Date(Newest), Author(A-Z), and Author(Z-A). You may select and deselect individual records with the checkmark boxes by the titles, or use the drop-down checkmark box at the top of the search results to select all records on the page, select all records to a maximum of 500, or remove selected records. Note that "Selected records" at the top of the page displays the number of records selected and can be used to access those records. 

Each record contains brief information about the title with link to its abstract, a more detailed record, what database in EV the record information comes from, the full text provided by database and/or UIUC's subscriptions using Discover full text. You may also "Remove Duplicates" when more than one database is searched at the same time. IF the title is cited by another title in Scopus database, it will be indicated by "Cited by in Scopus ('n' times)."

On the results page, there are several facets that appear on the left pane with recurring terms, etc. These facets can be used to "refine results" in several ways:

  1. by adding a term in the search box to narrow down your results.
  2. by selecting facet(s) of interest and clicking "limit to"
  3. by selecting facet(s) to remove and clicking "exclude"
  4. by selecting facet(s) of interest and clicking "new search with facets"
Boolean and Proximity Operators

To limit results: use AND to find articles with all terms (x AND y)

To broaden results: use OR to find articles with either term (x OR y)

To eliminate some terms: use NOT to find articles with one term but not the other (x NOT y)

To find terms in proximity to each other, use NEAR and ONEAR xNEARSy, for example, finds all documents with the term x within five words of term y (ONEAR requires that x come before y.)

Search History: The Results tab at the top shows the most recent search results. A record of all search history for current searches up to 50 is available by clicking View All Results. Searches in Search History can be combined, sorted, re-run, saved, and alerts created (see below). 
Truncation/Wildcard symbols:

Autostemming (root and suffix variations) turns off when using truncation and wildcards. 

(?) replaces one character in a word (judge? finds judges and judged, but not judge)

(*) replaces any number of characters (judge* finds judges, judge, judging.

($) at the beginning of a word is a "stem search," which looks for all words from the same stem ($management finds all suffixes of term manage, manager, etc.)

Phrase Searching: Use "quotation marks" around words to identify exact phrases (e.g. "agricultural machinery") Use "quotation marks" around a single word to identify exact spellings (for example, "color" to exclude results using "colour").
Limits: Limits are available on the Quick Search and Expert Search pages. Available limits depend on the database(s) you are searching. To find standards, limit the database to Compendex and limit document results to "Standard." Thesaurus Searches can be limited to select databases, exact term, or browse. 
To find full text: Many articles, cases, and other documents retrieved have full text provided from Engineering Village. Click on the Full Text button of the document to retrieve its full-text version. Others may be available from UIUC sources using the Discover Full Text button. 
To save, print, e-mail, export, cite, or tag an abstract: From the search results page select the title(s) of interest and click on icons above the list of results to download, email, or export bibliographic references. You may also print, save, and email individual records fromt he upper left part of record beneath the green bar on the record page. 
Personalization: You may add your own information to your free Engineering Village account once created. This includes the ability to save search results and other search related information. Use link in upper right corner. 
E-mail alerts:

You may register with your email address to be alerted to new articles and features that become available through Engineering Village.

Help Click the question mark drop-down and choose "Help" in upper right part of green bar for "Help," to "Ask and expert," "latest resources," "tutorials", and "video help"

 

Library

Profile Photo
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website