Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Illinois Scholars Program (SOC 199)

Why Use Articles?

Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Most articles are secondary sources. To learn more about primary and secondary sources, see the "Source Types" tab of this guide. Articles (as opposed to books) generally have the following characteristics:

  • Shorter length
  • Information is more current
  • Focus on a specific aspect of a topic 

Find Articles

1. Find Articles Guide 

  • Provides a list of databases to search, organized by subject. It includes:
    • Starting Points - Multi-subject databases that contain information on many subjects. These databases can be the best places to start your research.
    • Newspapers - A selection of major newspapers and newspaper collections.
    • Subject Databases - Listed alphabetically by subject area, these databases include subject-specific resources. These are great for finding articles with a specific focus.

2. Academic Search Ultimate

  • Academic Search Ultimate is a good starting point for most topics. To search this database:
    1. Access Academic Search Ultimate. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your NetID and password.
    2. Enter keywords from your handout in the search boxes on the page.
    3. Click Search.

3. SocINDEX

  • SocINDEX is a subject-specific database that is best for finding articles related to sociology, anthropology, ethnic and racial studies, and gender studies. To search this database:
    1. Access SocINDEX. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your NetID and password.
    2. Enter keywords from your handout in the search boxes on the page.
    3. Click Search.