Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section of the exhibit addressed methods of preserving veterans' oral histories as well as physical mementos.
Preserving Local Writers, Genealogy, Photographs, Newspapers, and Related Materials by
Call Number: 025.84 P92655 Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Preservation of historical documents and library related materials is a growing problem in all library types and institutions. Fortunately, editors Carol Smallwood and Elaine Williams have pulled together the wisdom of practicing professionals to elucidate how to cope with the many problems that arise when preserving, managing, and digitizing important collections. Preserving Local Writers, Genealogy, Photographs, Newspapers, and Related Materials contains informative chapters on physical preservation, collection management, cooperation with organizations and communities, various formats, and special projects. Each part covers the preservation of specific materials, from newspapers and scrapbooks to photographs and oral histories. In addition, chapters cover repair and restoration of materials, while taking into consideration the current state of funding for agencies with an interest in history. Contributors also shed light on how the racial, economic, and political dynamics of the past affect how collections are gathered, maintained, and presented today. Preserving Local Writers, Genealogy, Photographs, Newspapers, and Related Materials offers plenty to inspire anyone facing backlogs of unprocessed papers or boxes of artifacts. Stories of the rescue efforts of a group of volunteers, or the discovery of a lost diary, show that the hard work of preservation is well worth it. Libraries, archives, and historical and genealogical societies all have their role to play in preserving important historical materials, as do patrons, sponsors, and volunteers; such institutions and individuals will find this book extremely helpful in their preservation efforts.
A Guide to the Preventive Conservation of Photograph Collections by
Call Number: 770.288 L385g Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2003-09-25
More than 30 years of continuing research into the preservation of photographic collections have led to a better understanding of the fragility of these images and the means by which to preserve them. A resource for the photographic conservator, conservation scientist, curator, as well as professional collector, this volume synthesizes both the enormous amount of research that has been completed to date and the international standards that have been established on the subject.
Caring for Your Family Treasures by
Call Number: 745.10288 L852c Conservation Laboratory-Oak St Facility
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
A guide to the conservation of family antiques, including books and documents, clocks and watches, silverware, jewellery, musical instruments, military mementos, dolls, teddy bears and toy soldiers. The book also considers security and insurance issues and has cleaning and storage advice.
ALA Preservation Week
The American Library Association's Preservation Week takes place every April. Their website is an excellent resource for family historians.
ALA Preservation Week homepage
News, events, resources and more.
Saving Your Stuff
Directions for how to properly store audio, books, data, papers, film, photos, scrapbook, slides, and textiles.
Preservation for Military Families
Addresses needs specific to military families, such as preserving electronic communications.
Preservation for Families
Advice for creating a family archive, a time capsule, and more.
Downloadable PDFs from the ALA