LibGuides: HIST 200: History of Science, Technology and Medicine in East Asia: China

Librarian

International and Area Studies Old Library

Email Me

Contact:

Room 321 Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801

(217) 333-1501

Subjects: African Studies, Chinese Studies, European Union, Global Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, Latin America, Middle East, Religious Studies, Slavic & East European, South Asian Studies

Books

Science and civilization in china series 915.1 n28s , Q127.C5 N3 1954

中國科學技術史 (Chinese translation) DS721 .N3913

http://www.nri.cam.ac.uk/science.html (the site includes other publications on the topic; do check them out)

VOL. I. Introductory Orientations. Joseph Needham, with the research assistance of Wang Ling (1954)
VOL. II. History of Scientific Thought. Joseph Needham, with the research assistance of Wang Ling (1956)
VOL. III. Mathematics and the Sciences of the Heavens and Earth. Joseph Needham, with the research assistance of Wang Ling (1959)
VOL. IV. Physics and Physical Technology.
         Pt. 1. Physics. Joseph Needham, with the research assistance of Wang Ling, and the special co-operation of Kenneth Robinson (1962)
         Pt. 2. Mechanical Engineering. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Wang Ling (1965)
         Pt. 3. Civil Engineering and Nautics. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Wang Ling and Lu Gwei-djen (1971)
VOL. V. Chemistry and Chemical Technology
         Pt. 1. Paper and Printing. Tsien Tsuen-Hsuin (1985)
         Pt. 2. Spagyrical Discovery and Invention: Magisteries of Gold and Immortality. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Lu Gwei-djen (1974)
         Pt. 3. Spagyrical Discovery and Invention: Historical Survey, from Cinnabar Elixirs to Synthetic Insulin. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Ho Ping-Yu [Ho Peng-Yoke] and Lu Gwei-djen (1976)
         Pt. 4. Spagyrical Discovery and Invention: Apparatus and Theory. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Lu Gwei-djen, and a contribution by Nathan Sivin (1980)
         Pt. 5. Spagyrical Discovery and Invention: Physiological Alchemy. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Lu Gwei-djen (1983)
         Pt. 6. Military Technology: Missiles and Sieges. Joseph Needham, Robin D.S. Yates, with the collaboration of Krzysztof Gawlikowski, Edward McEwen and Wang Ling (1994)
         Pt. 7. Military Technology: The Gunpowder Epic. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Ho Ping-Yu [Ho Peng-Yoke], Lu Gwei-djen and Wang Ling (1987)
        Pt. 9. Textile Technology: Spinning and Reeling. Dieter Kuhn (1986)
        Pt. 11. Ferrous Metallurgy. Donald B. Wagner (2008) NEW
        Pt. 12. Ceramic Technology . Rose Kerr and Nigel Wood, with additional contributions by Ts'ai Mei-fen and Zhang Fukang (2004)
Pt. 13: Mining. Peter Golas (1999)
VOL. VI. Biology and Biological Technology
         Pt. 1. Botany. Joseph Needham, with the collaboration of Lu Gwei-djen, and a special contribution by Huang Hsing-Tsung (1986)
         Pt. 2. Agriculture. Francesca Bray (1984)
         Pt. 3. Agroindustries and Forestry. Christian A. Daniels and Nicholas K. Menzies (1996)
         Pt. 4. Traditional Botany: An Ethnographic Approach. Georges Metailie (2015)
          Pt. 5. Fermentations and Food Science. H.T. Huang (2000)
         Pt. 6. Medicine. Joseph Needham and Lu Gwei-djen, edited by Nathan Sivin (2000)
VOL. VII. The Social Background
         Pt. 1. Language and Logic. Christoph Harbsmeier (1998)
Pt. 2. General Conclusions and Reflections. Joseph Needham , edited by Kenneth Girdwood Robinson, with contributions by Ray Huang, and an introduction by Mark Elvin (2004)

Science and civilization in China

Topics:

Architecture

Juanqinzhai : in the Qianlong Garden : the forbidden city, Beijing / essays by Nancy Berlinger 729.0951156 J87
Taihe Dian : the Hall of Supreme Harmony of the Forbidden City in Beijing : a cultural cooperation programme for the preservation of the Taihe Hall of the Forbidden City in Beijing : scientific report / edited by Laura Moro. 720.951 T1319
北京志. 世界文化遗产卷. 故宮志DS795.3 .B473
明代北京都城营建丛考 / 李燮平DS795.3 .L538
The Emperor’s Secret Garden, by D Media, http://www.library.illinois.edu/proxy/go.php?url=http://www.aspresolver.com/aspresolver.asp?MARC;323329

Note:

720.951 will be a good range of call numbers for Chinese architecture in English

DS795.3 will be a good range of call numbers for Chinese architecture in Chinese

Medicine

Chinese medicine in early communist China, 1945-63 : a medicine of revolution 610.9510904 T215c
Chinese culture and mental health / edited by Wen-Shing Tseng, David Y.H. Wu Ebook: http://www.library.uiuc.edu/proxy/go.php?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780127016306
Mental health in China : change, tradition, and therapeutic governance / Jie Yang
中國古代心理衛生思想 : 三達德解 / 作者莫儉溥RA790.7.C6 M62
Mental illness, dementia and family in China / Guy Ramsay RA790.7.C6 .R36 2013

Police

(hard to locate book specific to Guangzhou, but might have journal articles. Can go broader to legal system,

Some suggestions for subject search: Police--China--History--20th century. Police communication systems

中国近代警察制度HV8260.A2 C5345

Databases

Academic China Conferences Literature Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of academic conferences in China. The database provides dynamic and timely information on research outputs on issues that are mostly related to China. It contains full-text papers, or abstracts and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request
China Academic Journals Full Text Database - Simplified Chinese interface This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China. The journals are categorized under ten series; UIUC subscribes to four and also owns the archives for three of these: literature/history/philosophy (Series F, including archive), politics/military affairs/law (Series G, including archive), education & social sciences (Series H, including archive), and economics & management (Series J). China Academic Journals database includes articles that were published in or after 1994; the archives contains articles that were published through 1993.
China Local Gazetteers This link opens in a new window
China local gazetteers currently contains over 20,000 volumes of Chinese chorographic books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions. The database provides detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units. Contents cover historical as well as contemporary facts related to the geographical areas, concerning general surveys, economy, public finance, governance, public security, urban and rural development, agriculture, industry, transportation, business, natural science, social science, education, culture and sports, public health, etc.
Dissertations of China This link opens in a new window
CDMD is the most comprehensive, highest quality database of dissertations and theses in China. As of August 2005, the dissertation count reached 220,000 from 300 China academic institutions.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database This link opens in a new window
It covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 25,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical values. It not only helps reproduce the unique historical features of the ROC (1911~1949) and restore the historical memory, but also enriches the digital resources of periodicals so as to facilitate users to conduct academic research on the history of the ROC (1911~1949).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
A collection of 12 English-language papers published in Shanghai, Beijing and Guangzhou between 1832 and 1953. ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.