Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Krannert Center Events: April 2018: A Suite Ending

A Suite Ending

Ian Hobson, music director and conductor

Parting is such sweet sorrow, but before the season is over audiences can enjoy Sinfonia’s Suite Ending to its 2017-2018 season. Sergei Prokofiev lends his melodies to Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet in his first suite from the ballet of the same name. Enjoy Italian street music in Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Capriccio Italien. Take a look to the future with Shindychew Dances, excerpted from University of Illinois professor Stephen Taylor’s opera, Paradises Lost. And finally, enjoy the comedy of Richard Strauss in his suite from Der Rosenkavalier.

Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien, Op. 45
Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite No. 1, Op. 64bis
Taylor: Shindychew Dances from Paradises Lost
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite, Op. 59

Friday, April 27, 2018 at 7:30pm in the Foellinger Great Hall

See the Krannert Center website for more details and to purchase tickets.

Discover at MPAL...

... more music recordings of Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky's Capriccio Italien, Op. 45.
... more music recordings of Richard Strauss' Der Rosenkavalier Suite, Op. 59.
... more music recordings from Sinfonia da Camera.

Featured Items from MPAL's Collection