Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

FIN390 Finance Academy: Resources for Risk & Insurance

Database Overview

For more database information, see other boxes by topic.

Finance Databases

Finance Databases

The chart below displays databases with financial information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Note: WRDS is available only to Gies College of Business.

Database Venture Capital/ Private Equity Analyst Reports Data Matching Balance Sheet & Income Statement M&A Markets IPOs/ Earning Estimates SEC Filings/ Governance/ Audit
Capital IQ (GIES only) ✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔NAIC
Mergent Online   ✔Via Investext ✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔NAIC
  ✔Stocks
✔Bonds
✔Indices
 
PrivCo ✔Private Equity
✔Venture Capital
✔SIC
(under Advanced Search > Private Companies)
✔Private Companies only    
SDC ✔New Issues   ✔CUSIP- 6 Digit
✔Ticker
✔SIC
  ✔Buybacks
✔Mergers
✔Acquisitions
✔Bonds
✔Equities
✔Mortgage Backed
✔Private Debt
✔IPOs
(under New Issues module)
 
Thomson One (use Internet Explorer) / Refinitiv ✔Private Equity   ✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔NAIC (under Screening & Analysis)
       
WRDS     ✔CUSIP- 9 digit; if only have 6 digits, use NCUSIP (under Tools)
✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔GVKEY
✔Linking Suite (CRSP-Compustat)
✔Compustat
✔Global Compustat
✔Orbis
✔Amadeus
✔Osiris
✔Bank Focus
  ✔US Equity Price (CRSP)
✔Mutual Funds
✔Options (US only)
✔CBOE Index
✔Municipals
✔Syndicated Loans
✔TAQ
✔I/B/E/S ✔SEC Analytics
✔ISS
✔Audit Analytics
✔ExeCOMP
✔13F (Thomson Reuters)

Need More Help?

Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources.  If you have any questions, please e-mail  enginlib@library.illinois.edu.