Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

French and Francophone Studies: Books & Articles

Online Databases for Literary & Film Criticism

Excellent Starting Points--all are UIUC

 Other databases

Film Databases

Print Bibliographies

Bibliographies of literary criticism for French-language literature are available two forms: online and in print. Online databases tend to be limited to works dating from the last few decades and to journal articles and book chapters (but often omit full books). Print bibliographies usually cover articles and books and can go back many years, perhaps even centuries. A list of online article indexes can be found in the box below.

Major Print Bibliographies:

Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Otto Klapp, ed. Annual. Frankfurt: Vittorio Klostermann, 1956--.For help with BFL, aslo known as Klapp after the editor, see the box below. This resource is now online: Klapp-Online

French XX bibliography. French Institute-Alliance Française, 1969-. From 1885 and on.


~To find more print bibliographies on French literature, search the  using the subject heading French literature--bibliographies. and searching by SUBJECT.

>To find bibliographies on specific authors, perform a subject search in the Online Catalog for the author's name (last name, first name) and the word "bibliography".