Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Guide to the OED: Intro to Research Skills

Peer Review Guide

Peer-reviewed sources are an excellent source for research. If you'd like to learn more, please see our Peer Review guide, which explains why peer review is important and where you can find peer-reviewed articles.

Introduction to the Library and Research Skills

This section provides information on basic library research skills.  It answers questions such as:

  • How do I search with multiple keywords?
  • How do I format the citations for my paper?
  • What is a 'peer review" article?
  • Why can't I always use Google and Wikipedia?

If you have any questions or need more help, contact English and Digital Humanities Librarian Harriett Green at green19 [at] illinois.edu, call 217-333-4942, or visit her office in 200 South Main Library.

LEARN to Use the Library

The LEARN to Use the Library page, maintained by Reference, Research, and Scholarly Services, hosts a number of videos and tutorials that explain how to find materials and navigate the Library's many resources. Learn how to find specific articles and books, how to cite your sources, and more.

LEARN to Use the Library also features a video introducing the University Library system.

Online Research Resources

The Library offers several ways of searching and accessing its collections and online resources. The Easy Search tool enables you to search through all of the Library's major databases and catalogs.  The Online Journals and Databases index is the Library's regularly updated index of its electronic resources and digital collections.

You can access Oxford English Dictionary Online through any of these options by typing "Oxford English Dictionary" as your search term.

Citing Sources

Need help with citing sources? Our Color-Coded Guide to Citation Styles will help you with the basics of your bibliography.

Ask a Librarian

The Library offers online reference assistance at the "Ask a Librarian" chat service. Just go to http://www.library.illinois.edu/askus/ and type your question into the chat box.  Your question will then be answered in a chat session by a librarian or library staffer who are experts at using Library resources and finding information.