Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Poetry and Short Stories: Reviews and Criticism: Finding Publication Information

Where and when was it published?

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies. Ed. Tessa Kale. 13th ed., indexing poems in anthologies through mid-2006. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007. (016.8081 G76i2007, Oak Street)

Indexes poems which have been published in anthologies. Provides an index for Title, First Line, Last Line, Author, and Subject.

 

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works. Eds. Nicholas Frankovich and Edith Granger. New York: Columbia University Press, 1996. (016.8081 G76i1996 [Main Reference & Oak Street])

As opposed to Anthologies, this volume indexes poems which have appeared in collected or selected editions by major poets. Provides an index for Title, First Line, Author, and Subject.

 

The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Online database with various search options to help you locate where a poem has been printed. This electronic resource also contains commentaries, biographies that are followed by a short bibliography, notes on form and a glossary of prosodic terms.

 

Index of American Periodical Verse. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973-. (016.80881 In23 / Stacks Reference.

Indexes poems which have appeared in magazines or journals between 1971-1996. Annual volumes.

 

Short Story Index. New York: H.W. Wilson. (016.80883 SH8 / [Main Library, Undergrad, and Oak Street])

Indexes short stories which have appeared in magazines or journals. Updated yearly between 1984 and 2009. Currently available online as Short Story Index.