Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Poetry and Short Stories: Reviews and Criticism: Find a Journal Article

Accessing Online Resources

The primary entryway for accessing online resources is the Find Online Journals and Databases page of the library website.This page allows you to search both journals and databases by title, ISSN, and vendor, and provides an option to search journals by subject area. (To perform a database search by subject, click on Databases by Subject link beneath the subject search fields).

If you've already located a record for an article or resource that you'd like to access online, you can often find the "Discover Full Text" button

beneath the catalog record; if so, the full-text of your desired resource may be a few clicks away.

Article Citation

Do you already have the full citation for the article you're looking for?  Then use our Journal and Article Locator.  Simply copy and paste the citation to find the full text of the article.

Why Journals?

Journal articles are useful because they often contain the most up-to-date research analyses and discoveries. Many journals are also "peer reviewed": this means that every article is evaluated by an anonymous panel of scholars before publication. More information about Peer Review can be found here

Journal articles are shorter than books, making them a little easier to digest for your literature review; however, keep in mind that journals are intended for a scholarly audience of professors, professional scholars, and graduate students. While journal articles may be a more challenging read for the novice or younger scholar, they are an extremely important secondary source for literary research. Please don't hesitate to ask for help!

General Databases

In addition to the four databases featured here, there are a number of general humanities databases that will be useful as well.  Ask a librarian if you need help with any of these databases!

Print vs. Electronic

The Library has both print and electronic journals:  Most print journals for literary studies are held in the Literatures and Languages Periodicals Area.  The LLL Periodicals Area is located on the south end of the Main Reading Room, just outside of the Literatures and Languages Library entrance, and more information is here. Current issues (usually the past year) are available in this room, and volumes of older journal issues will be found in the Main Library Stacks or the off-site Oak Street Library Facility.

But you will most likely find your journal articles in our electronic databases.  Therefore, this section focuses on the most comprehensive and useful databases for research in English literature. These databases feature citations (and sometimes full-text) for journal articles, books, book chapters, and multi-media that can be useful for your research.