Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"What we plant in the soil of contemplation, we shall reap in the harvest of action." -Meister Eckhard
Cargoes and Harvests by
Call Number: 581.6 P329c / ACES
Publication Date: 2013-10-10
Cargoes and Harvests, famed naturalist Donald Culross Peattie’s first book, eloquently explores agriculture and trade within America’s past using thoughtful language that is well ahead of its time. Originally published in 1926, Peattie takes readers on a compelling adventure through the socioeconomic histories of staples such as tea, coffee, cocoa, potatoes and tobacco. Starting with the seeds and roots of the American landscape,Cargoes and Harvests illustrates where we’ve been and how far we’ve come. By considering the relationship between a nation and its goods, Peattie unearths countless reflective implications that still resonate within the field of American agriculture today.
The Forager's Harvest: A Guide to Identifying, Harvesting, and Preparing Edible Wild Plants by
Call Number: 581.632 T338f / ACES
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
A guide to 32 of the best and most common edible wild plants in North America, with detailed information on how to identify them, where they are found, how and when they are harvested, which parts are used, how they are prepared, as well as their culinary use, ecology, conservation, and cultural history.
From Farmer to Planner and Back: Harvesting Best Practices by
Call Number: 331.483 F925f / ACES
Publication Date: 2001-12-30
The four-volume set highlights the advantages of incorporating participatory and gender approaches in development work. It contains guidance for development practitioners on how to integrate these methodologies into real life development situations, in a variety of socio-economic and cultural settings. The case studies cover eleven field projects carried out in Asia, Latin America, Africa and the Near East. The Responsive Planner framework brings together examples of good practice highlighted from the projects. The Training for Responsive Planning booklet presents an overview and analysis of different training materials and methodologies including: participatory visualisation; gender analysis frameworks; and participatory monitoring and evaluation techniques.
Fruit and Vegetables: Harvesting, Handling and Storage by
Call Number: 634.046 T371f2003 / ACES
Publication Date: 2003-11-07
The second edition of this very well-received book, which in its first edition was entitled Postharvest Technology of Fruits and Vegetables, has been welcomed by the community of postharvest physiologists and technologists who found the first edition of such great use. The book covers, in comprehensive detail, postharvest physiology as it applies to postharvest quality, technology relating to maturity determination, harvesting, packaging, postharvest treatments, controlled atmosphere storage, ripening and transportation on a very wide international range of fruits and vegetables. The new edition of this definitive work, which contains many full colour photographs, provides key practical and commercially-oriented information of great use in helping to ensure that fruit and vegetables reach the retailer in optimum condition, with the minimum of loss and spoilage. Fruits and vegetables, 2nd edition is essential reading forfruit and vegetable technologists, food scientists and food technologists, agricultural scientists, commercial growers, shippers and warehousing operatives and personnel within packaging companies. Researchers and upper level students in food science, food technology, plant and agricultural sciences will find a great deal of use within this landmark book. All libraries in research establishments and universities where these subjects are studied and taught should have copies readily available for users. A. K. Thompson was formerly Professor and head of Postharvest Technology, Silsoe College, UK.
Growing a Life: Teen Gardeners Harvest Food, Health, and Joy by
Call Number: 635.0835 P462g / ACES
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Part engaging conversation, part comprehensive fieldwork,Growing a Life demonstrates just how influential school and community gardening programs can be for adolescents. Readers follow author Pevec as she travels from rural Colorado to inner New York City, and from agrarian New Mexico to urban Oakland, California, to study remarkable youth gardening programs for at-risk teens. Expressive candid interviews with more than eighty students, substantiated by relevant neuroscience research and a framework of positive psychology, explain the life-altering physical and emotional benefits of gardening. As students share their experiences tending the soil and the plants, feeding their families and their communities, and guiding younger children, readers are given the opportunity to examine the largely unexplored topic of mentored urban gardening.Growing a Lifewill inspire educators, community leaders, and youth to team up and establish community gardens where they do not already exist and to involve youth in existing gardens. Gardening has changed my perspective in a whole lot of ways. . . .I have applied that to my family, and I taught them. And they were proud of me. Not only was I not on the streets, I was doing something positive for my community. -Julio, 18, gardening since age thirteen with Oakland Leaf Pevec, PhD, initiated her first award-winning gardening program in 1998 at an elementary school in Vancouver, Canada. Since then, she has gained national and international recognition for her work in the United States, Canada, and Brazil reconnecting children to nature.Growing a Life is her first book.
Harvest: Field Notes from a Far-Flung Pursuit of Real Food by
Call Number: 641.302 W329h / ACES
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
After an epiphany caused by a harrowing bite into a pink-slime burger, Max Watman resolves to hunt, fish, bake, butcher, preserve, and pickle. He buys a thousand-pound-steer—whom he names Bubbles—raises chickens, gardens, and works to transform his small-town home into a gastronomic paradise. In this compulsively readable memoir, Watman records his experiments and adventures as he tries to live closer to the land and the source of his food. A lively raconteur, Watman draws upon his youth in rural Virginia with foodie parents—locavores before that word existed—his time cooking in restaurants, and his love of the kitchen. Amid trial and experiment, there is bound to be heartbreak. Despite a class in cheese making from a local expert, his carefully crafted Camembert resembles a chalky hockey puck. Much worse, his beloved hens—"the girls," as he calls them—are methodically attacked by a varmint, and he falls into desperate measures to defend them. Finally, he loses track of where exactly Bubbles the steer is. Watman perseveres, and his story culminates in moments of redemption: a spectacular prairie sunset in North Dakota; watching 10,000 pheasants fly overhead; eating fritters of foraged periwinkles and seawater risotto; beachside with his son; a tub of homemade kimchi that snaps and crunches with fresh, lively flavor well after the last harvest. With infectious enthusiasm, Watman brings the reader to the furthest corners of culinary exploration. He learns that the value of living from scratch is in the trying. With a blend of down-home spirit and writing panache, he serves up a delectable taste of farm life—minus the farm.
Harvested Forages by
Call Number: 636.0855 H786h / ACES
Publication Date: 1999-06-02
Harvested Forages deals with the subject of food for domestic animal feeding. Such food is called "forage" and includes things like alfalfa and other plants usually referred to as "hay." Topics include the ways that this forage is produced, how it is harvested, and ways that it should be stored. Other issues that are dealt with include various criteria and measurement procedures for assessing forage nutritive quality, potential health hazards associated with particular plants and plant toxins, and various issues of plant growth, pest control, and soil fertility--among other topics. This book is essential for any institution with a strong program in range sciences, animal sciences, animal feeding and nutrition, and related programs. Synthesizes and summarizes a vast and widely dispersed literature in animal science Serves as a reference for managers of harvested forages as well as all those involved with the forage production industry
The Last Harvest: The Genetic Gamble that Threatens to Destroy American Agriculture by
Call Number: 333.953 R12L / ACES
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Paul Raeburn, science editor of the Associated Press, gives us an eye-opening account of how the genetic manipulation of American crops threatens our food supply-and what we must do to try to avert this disaster. This Bison Books edition carries a new preface by the author.
Postharvest Technology and Food Process Engineering by
Call Number: 664.02 C349p / ACES
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
Cereals, legumes, oilseeds, fruits, and vegetables are the most important food crops in the world, with cereal grains contributing the bulk of food calories and proteins worldwide. Generally, the supply of grains and other food can be enhanced by increasing production and by reducing postharvest losses. While food production has increased significantly over the last few decades, minimizing huge postharvest losses as well as utilizing their by-products/wastes is the optimal way for a country to become self-sufficient in food. Postharvest Technology and Food Process Engineering combines these two subject areas as it covers both the primary processing of cereals, pulses, fruits, and vegetables and utilization of by-products/biomass. This book covers postharvest food preservation and processing methods, with an emphasis on grains. It is divided into five parts: Grain-Properties, Drying and Dryers Grain Storage Parboiling and Milling By-Products/Biomass Utilization Food Process Engineering The text covers grain structure and composition, psychrometry, the theory and methods of grain drying, and design, testing, specification and selection of grain dryers. It describes processes such as parboiling of grain, hydrothermal treatment of grain, and milling of rice and other grains and pulses. The text also addresses biomass utilization and conversion technologies for energy, chemicals, food, and feed. The final section on food process engineering examines postharvest management including cooling, and packaging, and discusses preservation and processing, factors that affect deterioration, and various industrial preservation methods of fruits and vegetables. It also provides an overview of food chemistry and covers food engineering operations, including fluid mechanics and heat transfer.
Recipes from and for the Garden: How to Use and Enjoy Your Bountiful Harvest by
Call Number: 641.302 B275r / ACES
Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Veteran gardener Judy Barrett offers readers more than a hundred simple recipes for using, enjoying, and enhancing the bounty of their gardens. These easy recipes--some old family favorites, others created by Barrett, and still others from cooks and gardeners she admires--encourage home gardening for everyone. In her familiar and relaxed style, Barrett shows readers how to use the plentiful harvests of common vegetables (such as beans, squashes, cucumbers, and peppers), how to experiment with more exotic plants (like ginger and jujubes), and what to prepare for the freezer or pantry once the growing season has ended. From bean and tomato salsa to lemon meringue pie, the ingredients are straightforward and the instructions uncomplicated. Barrett also shares gardening tips and ideas for using what you have grown in the garden to help take care of your house, yourself, and--coming full circle--your garden itself. With suggestions for everything from making your own personal care products to a variety of ways to create natural pesticides, plant food, and compost, Barrett ends by showing how you can give back a little of what your garden gave to you. Recipes From and For the Garden will delight all who enjoy their plants, whether potted patio tomatoes or a backyard vegetable patch.
Saving More Than Seeds: Practices and Politics of Seed Saving by
Call Number: 631.521 P541s / ACES
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Saving More Than Seeds advances understandings of seed-people relations, with particular focus on seed saving. The practice of reusing and exchanging seeds provides foundation for food production and allows humans and seed to adapt together in dynamic socionatural conditions. But the practice and its practitioners are easily taken for granted, even as they are threatened by neoliberalisation. Combining original ethnographic research with investigation of an evolving corporate seed order, this book reveals seed saving not only as it occurs in fields and gardens but also as it associates with genebanking, genetic engineering, intellectual property rights, and agrifood regulations. Drawing on diverse social sciences literatures, Phillips illustrates ongoing practices of thinking, feeling, and acting with seeds, raising questions about what seed-people relations should accomplish and how different ways of relating might be pursued to change collective futures.
Seed Libraries: And Other Means of Keeping Seeds in the Hands of the People by
Call Number: 631.521 C7627s / ACES
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Historically, seed companies were generally small, often family-run businesses. Because they were regionally-based, they could focus on varieties well-suited to the local environment. A Pacific Northwest company, for example, would specialize in different cultivars than a company based in the Southeast. However the absorption of these small, independent seed businesses into large multinationals, combined with the advancement of biotechnology resulting in hybrids and GMO seeds, has led to a serious loss of genetic diversity. The public is now at the mercy of the corporations who control the seeds. In the past few years, gardeners have realized the inherent danger in this situation. A growing movement is striving to preserve and expand our stock of heritage and heirloom varieties through seed saving and sharing opportunities. Seed Libraries is a practical guide to saving seeds through community programs, including: Step-by-step instructions for setting up a seed library; A wealth of ideas to help attract patrons and keep the momentum going; Examples of existing libraries and other types of seed saving partnerships. Whoever controls the seeds controls the food supply. By empowering communities to preserve and protect the genetic diversity of their harvest Seed Libraries is the first step towards reclaiming our self-reliance while enhancing food security and ensuring that the future of food is healthy, vibrant, tasty and nutritious.
Sweet Potato: Post Harvest Aspects in Food, Feed and Industry by
Call Number: 635.226 Sw364 / ACES
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Sweet potato (Ipomoea batatas L.), the seventh most important food crop after wheat, rice (paddy), maize, potato, barley and cassava, is a staple food in many developing countries of the tropics and sub-tropics, and also serves as animal feed and raw material for several food- and feed -based industries. This New World crop has high biological efficiency of converting solar energy into edible energy (152MJ/ha/day) in form of tuberous (storage) roots and could be the food for the ever growing human population in future. Asia leads in area (60.75%) and production (86.89%) of sweet potato in the world. Sweet potato was originally a herbaceous perennial but was domesticated as an annual and grows best in moderately warm climate and temperature of 21-26C. It requires light textured soil with the optimum pH of 5.5 -6.5 for good growth of the crop. Current research has focused on development of high starch, high dry matter and coloured (carotene and anthocyanin-rich) sweet potato varieties for industrial applications in addition to traditional usage as food and animal feed. Sweet potato storage roots are subjected to several forms of post harvest losses during harvest, transportation from farmers' field to market and in storage. These are due to mechanical injury, weight loss, sprouting, diseases and pests. The subject, post harvest aspects of sweet potato in food, feed and industries, is a topic of current interest.