Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Corn can't expect justice from a court composed of chickens." -Proverb
Beautiful Corn: America's Original Grain from Seed to Plate by
Call Number: 633.15 B669b / ACES
Publication Date: 2012-09-25
Cultivated from sea level to mountaintop, from parched deserts to sodden rain forests, from the rocky Gaspe Peninsula to the plains of Argentina, corn is the grain of the Americas. In terms of culinary uses, it is amazingly diverse, reflecting the breathtaking variety of the continents and environments from which it evolved. The consummate immigrant, corn is grown extensively on every continent except Antarctica. Market farmer and naturalist Anthony Boutard weaves together this unique plant's contribution to our culture, its distinctive biology and the practical information needed to grow and enjoy it at home. Beautiful Corn advocates a return to the nourishing whole grain that built America, in place of today's genetically modified crops processed by industrial agriculture into synthetic sweeteners and cheap meat. Come along on this lyrical and inspiring journey through the seasons, learning about growing and using corn in the traditional way. Gardeners and market farmers can lead the way to a healthier country by restoring heritage corn varieties to our tables. An unabashed celebration of a much-maligned culinary treasure, Beautiful Corn will forever change the way you view this remarkable plant.
The Chemistry of Corn into Alcohol by
Call Number: 662.669 H73C / ACES
Publication Date: 1980-01-01
If you want a readable and understandable explanation of how to make ethanol fuel, The Chemistry of Corn Into Alcohol is the text for you. You will learn why each step of converting corn into alcohol is critical to the overall process. And perhaps more importantly you will learn how to vary the procedures to fit the uniqueness of your operation. This book provides many pointers: hints for trouble-shooting...to help you determine where things can go wrong and what to do to get back on the right track. This book is for those who have never made alcohol, but want to learn how to do it correctly from the start. Read this book if you want to know answers to the following and more: Why does alcohol turn sour? Why are enzymes used? What happens if the process is interrupted? Is PH important? Can infection affect yield? What temperatures are best?
Compendium of Bioenergy Plants: Corn by
Call Number: 631.5233 C7383 / ACES
Publication Date: 2014-02-06
This book evaluates maize as a bioenergy fuel source from two perspectives. It explores whether the input energy needed to generate fuel significantly exceeded by the energy harvested. In examining this issue, the chapters provide assessments of the social, economic, and political impact on fuel pricing, food costs, and the environmental challenge with corn biomass the engine of change. It then examines whether corn be genetically improved so that its biomass is significantly increased, its cellulose-lignin complex made more amenable to harvesting and to processing, and grown in regions not normally associated with its cultivation of food.
Corn Crop Production: Growth, Fertilization and Yield by
Call Number: 633.15 C8146 / ACES
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Corn or maize is a crop that originated in Mexico and has spread all over the world as a major food crop. Sustainable production of a corn field crop as grain corn for feed, food and biofuels, as well as sweet corn for fresh market or processing, and as silage for high energy sources, requires scientific management of nutrients along with several other crop management practices such as proper plant population density, timely seeding and harvesting, soil water, weeds and pests control. Corn has become the major item in the diet of many tropical peoples, the main grain used for animal feed in temperate regions, as well as new stocks for many other purposes including recently used as feedstock for biofuels. Rapid expansion of grain based ethanol production in North America, has already caused concern about future food and feed supplies. This important book gathers the latest research from around the world in this dynamic field.
Ethanol and Corn: Changes from Expanding Use by
Call Number: 338.476626692 Et32 / ACES
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
U.S. policy to expand the production of biofuel for domestic energy use has significant implications for agriculture and resource use. While ongoing research and development investment may radically alter the way biofuel is produced in the future, for now, corn-based ethanol continues to account for most biofuel production. As corn ethanol production increases, so does the production of corn. The effect on agricultural commodity markets has been national, but commodity production adjustments, and resulting environmental consequences, vary across regions. Changes in the crop sector have also affected the cost of feed for livestock producers. As the Nation demands more biofuel production, and markets for new biofuel feedstocks, such as crop residues emerge, the agricultural landscape will be further transformed. This book explores the changes and expanding usage of ethanol and corn biofuels.
The Feel Good Heat: Pioneers of Corn and Biomass Energy by
Call Number: 662.88 Sa948f / ACES
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Inspired by the words of George Washington Carver, that "We can learn to synthesize every human need from the plants that grow," This book is full of engaging interviews with biomass pioneers as well as filled with clear, honest information on the exciting future of biomass energy technology, with commentary from experts throughout Iowa and around the country. Biomass energy provides a clean, regional source of heat and power, renewable in as few as ninety days, and in many cases biomass is created from waste. With rapid developments in efficient agriculture and bioprocessing plants, discover why biomass is becoming a valid choice for heating and powering our buildings and modern lifestyles.
Handbook of Maize: Its Biology by
Call Number: 584.92 H192 / ACES
Publication Date: 2008-12-12
Handbook of Maize: Its Biology centers on the past, present and future of maize as a model for plant science research and crop improvement. The book includes brief, focused chapters from the foremost maize experts and features a succinct collection of informative images representing the maize germplasm collection.
Histories of Maize in Mesoamerica: Multidisciplinary Approaches by
Call Number: 633.15 H6295 / ACES
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
This volume reprints 20 chapters from the editors' comprehensive Histories of Maize (2006) that are relevant to Mesoamerican specialists and students. New findings and interpretations from the past three years have been included. Histories of Maize is the most comprehensive reference source on the botanical, genetic, archaeological, and anthropological aspects of ancient maize published. Included in this abridged volume are new introductory and concluding chapters and updated material on isotopic research. State of the art research on maize chronology, molecular biology, and stable carbon isotope research on ancient human diets have provided additional lines of evidence on the changing role of maize through time and space and its spread throughout the Americas. The multidisciplinary evidence from the social and biological sciences presented in this volume have generated a much more complex picture of the economic, political, and religious significance of maize.
Maize: Cultivation, Uses and Health Benefits by
Call Number: 633.15 M2886 / ACES
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Maize (Zea mays L.) commonly called corn, field corn, or Indian corn belongs to the Poaceae (Gramineae) family. It grows almost anywhere, although approximately 50% of the world's maize is produced in the USA. It is one of the 3 major grain crops world-wide and extremely important for human and animal consumption (15 to 56% of total daily dietary caloric intake), food processing and other commercial activities in many developed and developing countries. This book aims to provide an up-to-date knowledge of recent developments in maize cultivation; the improvement of maize nutritional values to be used in food preparation and human consumption; and maize health benefits provided by the use of alternative maize varieties. The authors expect this book will provide a compendium of valuable knowledge for anyone interested in agricultural, environmental and food sciences.
Maize: Origin, Domestication, and its Role in the Development of Culture by
Call Number: 633.15 B6404m:E / ACES
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
This book examines one of the thorniest problems of ancient American archaeology: the origins and domestication of maize. Using a variety of scientific techniques, Duccio Bonavia explores the development of maize, its adaptation to varying climates and its fundamental role in ancient American cultures. An appendix (by Alexander Grobman) provides the first-ever comprehensive compilation of maize genetic data, correlating this data with the archaeological evidence presented throughout the book. This book provides a unique interpretation of questions of dating and evolution, supported by extensive data, following the spread of maize from South to North America and eventually to Europe and beyond.
Maize Agroecosystem: Nutrient Dynamics and Productivity by
Call Number: 633.15 K897m / ACES
Publication Date: 2012-07-19
Maize is among the most widely spread and widely used crops of the world, used for cereals for over 4 billion humans, as food for farm animals, and as a source material for biofuel production. Yet there are relatively few books on the cropping system of this important crop. This book, Maize Agroecosystem, is a concise treatise dealing with agronomy, soil fertility, and productivity of maize. The information is global in nature and considers recent developments in all maize cropping belts. The "global maize agroecosystem" is a conglomerate of several "maize cropping belts" that flourish on different continents. The impact of nutrient management on the productivity of maize agroecosystems is the main focus of this book. The book includes the history of maize growing, the kinds of soil needed, nutrient dynamics, the use of soil organic matter, the physiology and genetics of maize, and integrated nutrient management. It presents comprehensive knowledge regarding the physicochemical dynamics of the three major nutrients: nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium. Also covered is how fertilizers impinge on soils of maize farms and their impact on soil and groundwater quality. The impact of crop genotype on soil nutrient dynamics and productivity is also highlighted. The information provided here will be highly useful to students at colleges and universities in the fields of agricultural sciences and environmental science and ecology, and the book also functions as valuable resource for researchers and professors in crop science. Several figures and tables are included that describe and summarize the impact of various agronomic/fertilizer management procedures on crop productivity.
Maize for the Gods: Unearthing the 9,000-Year History of Corn by
Call Number: 633.15 B581m / ACES
Publication Date: 2015-08-28
Maize is the world’s most productive food and industrial crop, grown in more than 160 countries and on every continent except Antarctica. If by some catastrophe maize were to disappear from our food supply chain, vast numbers of people would starve and global economies would rapidly collapse. How did we come to be so dependent on this one plant? Maize for the Gods brings together new research by archaeologists, archaeobotanists, plant geneticists, and a host of other specialists to explore the complex ways that this single plant and the peoples who domesticated it came to be inextricably entangled with one another over the past nine millennia. Tracing maize from its first appearance and domestication in ancient campsites and settlements in Mexico to its intercontinental journey through most of North and South America, this history also tells the story of the artistic creativity, technological prowess, and social, political, and economic resilience of America’s first peoples.
Midwest Maize: How Corn Shaped the U.S. Heartland by
Call Number: 633.15 C529m / ACES
Publication Date: 2015-03-11
Food historian Cynthia Clampitt pens the epic story of what happened when Mesoamerican farmers bred a nondescript grass into a staff of life so prolific, so protean, that it represents nothing less than one of humankind's greatest achievements. Blending history with expert reportage, she traces the disparate threads that have woven corn into the fabric of our diet, politics, economy, science, and cuisine. At the same time she explores its future as a source of energy and the foundation of seemingly limitless green technologies. The result is a bourbon-to-biofuels portrait of the astonishing plant that sustains the world.
Mutants of Maize by
Call Number: 633.15 N39m1997 / ACES
Publication Date: 1997-04-01
This unique work of reference provides quick and easy access to the remarkable diversity of mutant phenotypes expressed by the maize plant. Its major portion consists of over 400 color photographs of well-established mutants arranged by chromosome position, detailed descriptions of the mutants' gene loci, and a current summary of the physical structure of genes that have been characterized at the molecular level. First published in 1968 and long out of print, Mutants of Maizehas been entirely revised by three of the corn plant's most distinguished investigators, enlarged to cover twice the number of mutants, and redesigned with clarity and elegance. All maize biologists will want this magnificent book in their personal library. In addition, because mutant maize genes have counterparts in most species, the book can be considered a general guide to the consequences of mutation in the entire plant kingdom. All maize biologists will want this magnificent book in their personal library. In addition, because mutant maize genes have counterparts in most species, the book can be considered a general guide to the consequences of mutation in the entire plant kingdom.
Physiological Bases for Maize Improvement by
Call Number: 633.1558 P569 / ACES
Publication Date: 2000-09-25
Improve the quantity and quality of maize crops in any environment! While isolated examples of the physiological bases for genetic improvement of maize yield can be found in several papers (most of which are cited in this book), there has not, until now, been a single volume that delivers and clarifies all of the available information in this field! Today, Physiological Bases for Maize Improvement offers scientists and crop growers a thorough and concise guide to recent literature and developments about increasing the crop efficiency of corn. In Physiological Bases for Maize Improvement, international experts in the field discuss and analyze methods of effectively improving crop breeding and producing better and larger yields of corn. Physiological Bases for Maize Improvement delivers clear, thorough discussions of: improving maize grain yield potential in a cool environment improving maize grain yield potential in the tropics processes affecting maize grain yield potential in temperate conditions maize improvement for drought-limited conditions apical dominance, herbivory resistance, and competitive ability the use of simulation models for crop improvement . . . and much more! With this book, you will find ways to improve maize crops in a variety of countries and climates and understand the importance of kernel numbers and kernel growth to the overall yield. Containing current research and case studies, Physiological Bases for Maize Improvement provides you with vital strategies that will improve the quality and quantity of corn and increase plant functionality and fitness.
Specialty Corns by
Call Number: 633.1523 Sp312001 / ACES
Publication Date: 2000-08-23
Completely revised and updated, the Second Edition of Specialty Corns includes everything in the first edition and more. Considered the standard in this field, significant changes have been made to keep all the information current and bring the references up-to-date. Two new chapters have been added to keep up with the latest trends: Blue Corn and Baby Corn. Access the latest methods in developing specialty corns with this standard-setting reference. Edited by an expert in the field who has spent his professional life working with corn, Specialty Corns, Second Edition discusses the genetic variation inherent in corn, genetic materials available, breeding methods, and special problems associated with the development of specialty corns. Hallauer has assembled a team of international experts who have contributed to this work.