Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"When spider webs unite, they can tie up a lion." -Proverb
Call Number: 595.4 B386a / ACES
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
With around 11 distinctive lineages and over 38,000 species of spiders alone, arachnids are an amazingly diverse group of invertebrates--and with names like the Goliath Bird-Eating Spider, the Tailless Whip Spider, and the Harvestman, they can be both spectacular and captivating. Most books about arachnids focus on spiders, neglecting scorpions, ticks, mites, wind spiders, and other fascinating yet poorly understood groups. This adventurous volume summarizes all existing knowledge about each major type of arachnid, revealing their secrets through detailed species accounts, brilliant photographs, and a compelling cast of eight-legged characters. It examines the anatomy, habitat, behavior and distribution of each lineage, from the garden spider to the death stalker scorpion and even a species of mite that lives inside a monkey's lungs. Drawing on the vast resources at London's Natural History Museum, Arachnids spins a sensational tale, debunking common myths and delving deep into the lives of these bizarre and beautiful creatures.
Artificial Diets for Insects, Mites, and Spiders by
Call Number: 595.7 SI6A / ACES
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
This is a handbook of artificial diets for rearing insects, mites and spiders. Its origin goes back to my association with Dr H. L. House at the Research Institute of the Canadian Department of Agriculture at Belleville, Ontario. In 1967, Dr House published a bulletin Artificial Diets for Insects: A Compilation of References with Abstracts. We jointly updated this work in 1971 to include papers published from 1967-1970 and to take special note of the use of antimicrobial agents. In 1970 I left Belleville to join the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research in New Zealand where I continued to catalogue insect diets, and in 1972 compiled a Bibliography on Artificial Diets for Insects and Mites covering the period of 1900-1970. This was followed in 1974 by another publication entitled Artificial Diets for Insects containing insect diets published during May 1970-December 1972. These publications laid the foundations for the present volume. The aim of this book is to give complete but concise coverage of existing knowledge of insect dietetics. It brings together in one volume the most complete survey of artificial diets for insects, mites and spiders to date. I hope its content will aid all those concerned with insect rearing programmes. I would like to thank the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research for permission to publish this book. I am particularly grateful to Dr J. M. Hoy, Director of the Entomology Division, for his encouragement.
Biology of Spiders by
Call Number: 595.44 F684b:E2011 / ACES
Publication Date: 2010-12-31
One of the only books to treat the whole spider, from its behavior and physiology to its neurobiology and reproductive characteristics, Biology of Spiders is considered a classic in spider literature. First published in German in 1979, the book is now in its third edition, and has established itself as the supreme authority on these fascinating creatures. Containing five hundred new references, this book incorporates the latest research while dispelling many oft-heard myths and misconceptions that surround spiders. Of special interest are chapters on the structure and function of spider webs and silk, as well as those on spider venom. A new subchapter on tarantulas will appeal especially to tarantula keepers and breeders. The highly accessible text is supplemented by exceptional, high-quality photographs, many of them originals, and detailed diagrams. It will be of interest to arachnologists, entomologists, and zoologists, as well as to academics, students of biology, and the general reader curious about spiders.
The Brown Recluse Spider by
Call Number: 595.44 V643b / ACES
Publication Date: 2015-04-21
The brown recluse is a fascinating spider very well adapted to dwelling in houses and other buildings. Because of this very quality and the ghastly reputation associated with the medical consequences of its bite, it has become infamous throughout North America. Although recluse spiders can cause serious skin injuries and, in very rare cases, death, the danger posed by this spider is often exaggerated as a result of arachnophobia and the misdiagnosis of non-spider-related conditions as brown recluse bites. These misdiagnoses often occur in areas of North America where the spider does not exist, making legitimate bites improbable. One of the greatest factors that keeps the myths alive is misidentification of common (and harmless) spiders as brown recluses. With this book, Richard S. Vetter hopes to educate readers regarding the biology of the spider and medical aspects of its bites, to reduce the incidence of misdiagnoses, and to quell misplaced anxiety. In The Brown Recluse Spider, Vetter covers topics such as taxonomy, identification, misidentification, life history characteristics and biology, medical aspects of envenomations, medical conditions misdiagnosed as brown recluse bites, other spider species of medical consideration (several of which have been wrongly implicated as threats to human health), and the psychology behind the entrenched reasons why people believe so deeply in the presence of the spider in the face of strong, contradictory information. Vetter also makes recommendations for control of the spider for households in areas where the spiders are found and describes other species of recluse spiders in North America. Although The Brown Recluse Spider was written for a general audience, it is also a valuable source of information for arachnologists and medical personnel.
Common Spiders of North America by
Call Number: 595.48097 B728c / ACES
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
Spiders are among the most diverse groups of terrestrial invertebrates, yet they are among the least studied and understood. This first comprehensive guide to all 68 spider families in North America beautifully illustrates 469 of the most commonly encountered species. Group keys enable identification by web type and other observable details, and species descriptions include identification tips, typical habitat, geographic distribution, and behavioral notes. A concise illustrated introduction to spider biology and anatomy explains spider relationships. This book is a critical resource for curious naturalists who want to understand this ubiquitous and ecologically critical component of our biosphere.
Deadly Beautiful: Vanishing Killers of the Animal Kingdom by
Call Number: 574.6 C462d / ACES
Publication Date: 2015-07-15
Did you know that the humble marmot is responsible for more than one billion human deaths? Or that it's possible to be bitten by a snake's head for up to an hour after it's been decapitated? On the flip side, for every person bitten by a shark each year, 25 people are bitten by New Yorkers. It seems that truth sometimes is stranger than fiction!These facts and many more appear in this fascinating tribute to our world's 'deadly' wildlife. At its heart, however, 'Deadly Beautiful' makes a passionate plea for us to learn to better cohabit with our fellow residents of planet Earth. Ever-increasing concern for the fate of the environment and the world's endangered wildlife means that this book is a particularly timely addition to the world of natural history publishing. Dr Liana Joy Christensen, one of Australia's foremost nature writers, takes a fresh and entertaining look at the 'deadly' animals with which humans have for so long enjoyed a love-hate relationship. These animals are generally not the aggressors nor the lethal killing machines that mythology and tradition would have us believe. Most also serve vital roles in maintaining the ecological balance of their habitats, while their fascinating behaviour and often striking beauty make them worthy of close study, particularly as so many of them are facing the worst death of all - extinction.Beautifully illustrated, 'Deadly Beautiful' is certain to foster a new understanding and appreciation of these incredible animals and their importance on a global scale.
Secret Weapons: Defenses of Insects, Spiders, Scorpions, and Other Many-Legged Creatures by
Call Number: 595.7147 Ei87s / ACES
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Mostly tiny, infinitely delicate, and short-lived, insects and their relatives - arthropods - nonetheless outnumber all their fellow creatures on earth. How lowly arthropods achieved this unlikely pre-eminence is a story deftly and colourfully told in this follow-up to the award-winning For Love of Insects. Part handbook, part field guide, part photo album, Secret Weapons chronicles the diverse and often astonishing defensive strategies that have allowed insects, spiders, scorpions, and other many-legged creatures not just to survive, but to thrive.
Spider Behaviour: Flexibility and Versatility by
Call Number: 595.4415 Sp42 / ACES
Publication Date: 2011-01-27
Spiders are often underestimated as suitable behavioural models because of the general belief that due to their small brains their behaviour is innate and mostly invariable. Challenging this assumption, this fascinating book shows that rather than having a limited behavioural repertoire, spiders show surprising cognitive abilities, changing their behaviour to suit their situational needs. The team of authors unravels the considerable intra-specific as well as intra-individual variability and plasticity in different behaviours ranging from foraging and web building to communication and courtship. An introductory chapter on spider biology, systematics and evolution provides the reader with the necessary background information to understand the discussed behaviours and helps to place them into an evolutionary context. Highlighting an under-explored area of behaviour, this book will provide new ideas for behavioural researchers and students unfamiliar with spiders as well as a valuable resource for those already working in this intriguing field.
Spider Silk: Evolution and 400 Million Years of Spinning, Waiting, Snagging, and Mating by
Call Number: 595.44 B8358s / ACES
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
Spiders, objects of eternal human fascination, are found in many places: on the ground, in the air, and even under water. Leslie Brunetta and Catherine Craig have teamed up to produce a substantive yet entertaining book for anyone who has ever wondered, as a spider rappelled out of reach on a line of silk, “How do they do that?” The orb web, that iconic wheel-shaped web most of us associate with spiders, contains at least four different silk proteins, each performing a different function and all meshing together to create a fly-catching machine that has amazed and inspired humans through the ages. Brunetta and Craig tell the intriguing story of how spiders evolved over 400 million years to add new silks and new uses for silk to their survival “toolkit” and, in the telling, take readers far beyond the orb. The authors describe the trials and triumphs of spiders as they use silk to negotiate an ever-changing environment, and they show how natural selection acts at the genetic level and as individuals struggle for survival.
Spiders in Ecological Webs by
Call Number: 595.44045 W754S / ACES
Publication Date: 1995-01-26
As experimental organisms, spiders offer ecologists a unique opportunity to examine the concept of the ecological community and the role which field experimentation can play in evaluating theories of population and community ecology. In this book, David Wise provides a balanced critique of field experiments designed to uncover details of spider ecology, with the dual aim of clarifying the ecology of these fascinating organisms and providing insight into the advantages and challenges of performing field experiments with a predator ubiquitous in terrestrial ecosystems. This book will be an essential reference for all ecologists wishing to learn more about the ecology of a major terrestrial predator and the use of field experimentation as a powerful technique to test ecological hypotheses.
Spiders of the World by
Call Number: 595.44 P926s 1993 / ACES
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Many of nature's most curious and intriguing creatures can be discovered in the extraordinary Of the World set. Loaded with crisp, full-color photographs that often astonish and amuse, the 18-volume set provides unique insights into the amazing diversity of species around the globe. The volumes provide clear, basic information on physiology, classification, habitat, life cycle, and behavior, including such diverse topics as courtship and mating, egg-laying and development, reproduction and parental care, food and feeding. Here is a complete overview of these intriguing creatures with surprisingly individual life-styles.
Whip Spiders(Chelicerata: Amblypygi) : Their Biology, Morphology and Systematics by
Call Number: 595.4536 W545w / ACES
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Whip spiders or Amblypygi are very fascinating creatures with their size, their long, yet strong legs and heavily armed pedipalps that make these animals look so terrible to some people. Where they occur, many of the local people are afraid of them and consider them to be poisonous and dangerous. However, they are not poisonous, and they are dangerous only to arthropods and small vertebrates such as lizards and frogs, but not to humans. This is a comprehensive work on all that is known on the biology of these fascinating creatures. Whip spiders (Amblypygi) can be large and terrifying animals with strong, raptorial pedipalps and long antenniform first legs that can produce a span of as much as 60 cm. Others are small and scarcely span 5 cm. They all lead a secretive nocturnal life and are extremely dangerous to other arthropods and small vertebrates. In contrast to spiders and scorpions, they are of no commercial, economic or medical importance and they are difficult to study in the field because of their nocturnal habits, possible reasons why they have been greatly neglected until recently, by scientists and naturalists. Whip spiders represent an old group that dates back to the Carboniferous period. Their partly primitive and partly derived morphological characters and habits make the study of these animals interesting, while observation of their behaviour greatly increases our knowledge and understanding of arachnids in general. The author has studied whip spiders for over 30 years and has revealed an unexpected diversity in a small group consisting of only about 120 species. In the book the author describes their morphology and systematics, their life history, their fascinating sensory biology, their complex mating dances and reproductive biology, and their ecology and distribution. Thus he has made a significant contribution to a better understanding of the of the morphology and biology of the Arachnida as a whole. Whip Spiders is an outstanding contribution to science and it will be of interest for anyone with an interest in Arachnida and for those keeping and breeding spiders. 302 figures.