Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Escape Anyone Could Have!
Backpacking Wisconsin by
Call Number: 917.750443 H126b / ACES
Publication Date: 2000-09-25
Wisconsin is a premier backpacking state, with outstanding opportunities for weekend trips. With its Great Lakes and river boundaries, national and state parks and forests, and stunning geological diversity, it offers a variety of experiences for both novice and experienced backpackers. In Backpacking Wisconsin Jack and Liz Hailman, drawing on years of personal experience, provide first-hand information for trails in every corner of the state--from the wooded Apostle Islands National Lakeshore, inhabited by whitetailed deer and black bears, to picturesque Newport State Park in Door County, set upon Silurian-age limestone laid down over 100 million years ago. For each backpacking site you'll find: * information on entrance fees and permits, campsites, & contact sources * directions to the location * detailed trail maps with keys that pinpoint roads, parking, trail shelters, water supplies, outhouses * ratings for trails, scenery, quiet, solitude, and interest * background information on history, geology, and terrain * trail notes describing trees, shrubs, wildflowers, birds, and animals you may encounter. Backpacking Wisconsin also provides an overview of the backpacking experience, tips for the beginner and the expert, hints on how to choose equipment (boots, packs, tents, sleeping bags, rain gear, stoves), notes on troublesome plants and animals, a list of state areas that no longer offer backpacking, schedules of fees, a checklist for backpacks, and a list of trail, outdoor, and conservation organizations. For those hesitant to venture deep into wilderness, the Hailmans spotlight "quasi-backpacking" sites. All you have to do is pick a trail!
Beaches and Coasts by
Call Number: 551.457 D297b / ACES
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
Coastlines of the world are as diverse as any geological setting on Earth. Beaches and Coasts is an exciting and unique new textbook that provides an exhaustive treatment of the world's different coasts and details the highly varied processes that have shaped them. Having conducted research on coastlines throughout the world, the authors draw on a wealth of experience that broadens the content of chapters and provides for numerous and varied examples. The book furnishes a basic understanding of the tectonic framework, hydrographic regime, climatic setting, and geologic materials that determine the morphology of a coast. Individual chapters are devoted to major coastal environments such as barriers, tidal inlets, marshes, estuaries, lagoons, deltas, glaciated coasts, rocky coasts and many others. Beaches and Coasts provides the necessary content for teaching a broad coastal geology course. Though designed for introductory students, its comprehensive treatment of coastal topics will make it appropriate for many upper level courses. Exciting and unique textbook that provides an exhaustive treatment of the world's different coasts and details the highly varied processes that have shaped them. The authors draw on a wealth of experience that broadens the content of chapters and provides for numerous and varied examples. Provides a basic understanding of the tectonic framework, hydrographic regime, climatic setting, and geologic materials that determine the morphology of a coast. Individual chapters are devoted to major coastal environments such as barriers, tidal inlets, marshes, estuaries, lagoons, deltas, glaciated coasts, rocky coasts, and many others. Provides comprehensive content for teaching a broad coastal geology course for both introductory and upper level courses.
Beach Management: Principles and Practice by
Call Number: 333.917 W67b / ACES
Publication Date: 2009-06-30
This comprehensive book provides full coverage of beach management principles and practice, with an emphasis on needs-based management. The book provides a wealth of case studies from the UK, USA, New Zealand, the Mediterranean, and Latin America. The emphasis throughout the book is on optimizing economic, social and environmental outcomes and reconciling competing needs in management planning for beach area. This book is an indispensable tool kit for all professionals in beach and coastal/beach zone management . It is also a comprehensive primer for university undergraduate students in professional planning, land management, coastal geography as well as tourism and conservation planning and management.
Bio-Mechanisms of Swimming and Flying by
Call Number: 612.76 B522 / ACES
Publication Date: 2004-07-29
Tens of thousands of different animal species live on this planet, having survived for millions of years through adaptation and evolution, which has given them a vast variety of structures and functions. Biomechanical studies of animals swimming and flying can aid understanding of the mechanisms that enable them to move effectively and efficiently in fluids. Based on such understandings and analyses, we can aim to develop environmentally friendly machines that emulate these natural movements. The Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992 agreed major treaties on biological diversity, addressing the combined issues of environmental protection and fair and equitable economic development. With regard to coastal environments, increasing biological diversity has begun to play an important role in reestablishing stable and sustainable ecosystems. This approach has begun to influence research into the behavior of aquatic species, as an understanding of the history of an individual aquatic species is indispensable in constructing an environmental assessment model that includes the physical, chemical, and biological effects of that species. From an engineering viewpoint, studying nature's biological diversity is an opportunity to reconsider mechanical systems that were systematically constructed in the wake of the Industrial Revolution. We have been accumulating knowledge of the systems inherent in biological creatures and using that knowledge to create new, environmentally friendly technologies.
Exploring Nature in Illinois: A Field Guide to the Prairie State by
Call Number: 508.773 J369e / ACES
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Loaded with full color photographs and evocative descriptions, Exploring Nature in Illinois provides a panorama of the state's overlooked natural diversity. Naturalists Michael Jeffords and Susan Post explore fifty preserves, forests, restoration areas, and parks, bringing an expert view to wildlife and landscapes and looking beyond the obvious to uncover the unexpected beauty of Illinois's wild places. From the colorful variety of birds at War Bluff Valley Audubon Sanctuary to the exposed bedrock and cliff faces of Apple River Canyon, Exploring Nature in Illinois will inspire readers to explore wonders hidden from urban sprawl and cultivated farmland. Maps and descriptions help travelers access even hard-to-find sites while a wealth of detail and photography offers nature-lovers insights into the flora, fauna, and other aspects of vibrant settings and ecosystems. The authors also include diary entries describing their own impressions of and engagement with the sites. A unique and much-needed reference, Exploring Nature in Illinois will entertain and enlighten hikers, cyclers, students and scouts, morning walkers, weekend drivers, and anyone else seeking to get back to nature in the Prairie State.
A Guide to Building Natural Swimming Pools by
Call Number: 690.8962 L735g / ACES
Publication Date: 2016-02-02
This book is specifically designed for those interested in creating natural swimming pools. It covers all stages, from understanding the system, management, excavation, lining, walling, plumbing, electrical, planting, structures, and last but not least, the maintenance, to ensure a successful project. Comprehensive information is presented in an easy to understand style with many illustrations showing methods of building. These are supported by the helpful inclusion of detailed scaled drawings, a plant guide with hardiness zones, and other useful information. The techniques will provide confidence to tackle the project and on completion give a huge sense of satisfaction and many hours of enjoyment.
Hiking Illinois by
Call Number: 796.5109773 P845h2009 / ACES
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
Hiking Illinois is your complete guide to 107 of the most scenic day hikes within the Land of Lincoln. No matter what region you wish to explore or how easy or hard a trek you want, this handy guide will lead you to the right trail. In this one-of-a-kind resource, you'll find the following features: - Detailed descriptions of every hike, in every region, including special points of interest, estimated hiking time and distance, and difficulty ratings for each trail - Phone numbers and Web sites, park hours and rules, and available facilities for 60 of the state's most scenic sites - Easy-to-read maps for every park and trail to help you navigate your hike and locate landmarks and other points of interest - A convenient trail finder that provides a summary of each trail's features and available facilities Hiking Illinois brings to life the history, terrain, flora, and fauna of each area. And the descriptions of nearby recreational and sightseeing destinations ensure you won't miss anything on your trip. Hiking Illinois is your guide to enjoying the great outdoors!
Illinois Wilds by
Call Number: 574.9773 J369I / ACES
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Illinois Wilds is a natural history of the wildlands found in Illinois. This book is a historical depiction of what Illinois was like before settlement by Europeans, and is also a showcase of the remaining natural heritage of the state. Historical accounts of Illinois described huge trees, vast grasslands, and extensive wetlands. The seemingly endless prairies possessed a great diversity of many-hued plants; a traveler could go from central Illinois to Wisconsin and encounter few trees. The prairies were teeming with life passenger pigeons by the millions, snakes basking along the dusty trail, a myriad of grasshoppers darting through the air like arrows from a medieval army. Although we no longer have the luxury of standing on a hillock or an old glacial moraine and viewing a limitless expanse of prairie or forest, we do have the opportunity to experience the essence of these places; that is what the authors have attempted to document in this work. They identify the most distinguishing feature of various Illinois habitats, whether the vegetation is predominantly trees, grasses or forbs, the soil a deep loess, sand or gravel, or the ground surface dry or covered by water. The majority of the photographs in this book are of plants and animals that can be used to determine a habitat or simply be seen by the casual visitor. It is the authors' wish that these images not only excite and emotionally involve the viewer, but that they also inspire movement towards a conservation ethic.
The Naturalist's Guide to the Atlantic Seashore: Beach Ecology from the Gulf of Maine to Cape Hatteras by
Call Number: 578.76990974 Sh928n / ACES
Publication Date: 2008-02-26
From the North Carolina's Outer Banks to Maine s rocky coast, this comprehensive guidebook covers the ecology, wildlife, plants and ocean creatures in full-color photographs and vivid detail. No other book includes all of the plants, animals, and terrain along this stretch of coastline, making this a must-have for anyone who lives or recreates near the Atlantic. The diverse habitats of the seashore, from the Rocky Shores to Sandy Beaches, Estuaries, Tidal Flats, Salt Marshes, Seagrass Meadows, and the Open Ocean are explored in detail in this user-friendly guide and natural history. The easy-to-use layout, comprehensive index, water-resistant cover and guaranteed binding make this a beautiful volume of natural history and biodiversity.Scott W. Shumway is a professor of biology at Wheaton College. He lives in Westborough, Massachusetts."
NOLS Soft Paths: Enjoying the Wilderness Without Harming It by
Call Number: 333.78 H189n2011 / ACES
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
Leave No Trace, minimum impact skills and ethics. New research and field experience prescribe better minimum-impact techniques for wilderness use. Expanded information on camping practices. How far you should camp from water, where to pitch your tent, how to build a fire or if you should build one in the first place. Respecting and caring for wildlands, doing your part to protect our limited resources and future recreation opportunities. Trampling, litter, waste disposal, fire use, wildlife health, and protecting cultural resources.
Saving Sea Turtles: Extraordinary Stories from the Battle Against Extinction by
Call Number: 639.977928 Sp68S / ACES
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
In April 2007, eleven leatherback turtles captured the imagination of the public worldwide as they "raced" from Costa Rica toward the Galapagos Islands. Known as the Great Turtle Race, this event tracked these critically endangered sea turtles, drawing attention to their fragile status and generating data on the turtles vital to efforts to study and protect them. But the Great Turtle Race is just one of many tools marine conservationists use to inform people about the status, biology, and lives of the seven sea turtle species. Due to human actions, once-plentiful sea turtle population levels plummeted throughout much of the twentieth century, stabilizing somewhat only after Archie Carr and Jacques Cousteau popularized their plight. With Saving Sea Turtles, award-winning author James R. Spotila picks up where Carr and Cousteau left off, going inside the modern-day conservation movement to tell the tales of today's sea turtle conservationists. He provides a complete overview of sea turtle biology and life cycles, discusses the human and natural world threats they face, and examines the new methods and technologies humans are using to save them. Throughout, Spotila dots the narrative with stories of real-life heroes who risk life and limb to understand, track, and conserve sea turtles across the globe. Spotila has been at the forefront of sea turtle research and conservation for decades. His inspirational story of dedicated individuals, creative endeavors, and adventure reveals what is being done and what else we must do in order to ensure that these fascinating animals continue swimming in the oceans.
Transforming Urban Waterfronts: Fixity and Flow by
Call Number: 307.3416 T687 / ACES
Publication Date: 2010-09-09
Waterfronts continue to be spaces over which global, regional and local forces engage in intense struggles that influence socio-cultural changes and spatial restructuring processes. The contributors to this volume develop new insights for understanding both historical and current cases of change on urban waterfronts.