Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I find Articles or Journals?
The best way to find academic articles in journals is to search the Online Journals & Databases (SFX). You can locate journals by searching by the title or by selecting a subject to narrow down your search. If you are searching by title, once you have located the journal and selected the title from the results list an authentication window will open in another window. There you will select the red "Go" button. It will load the journal content and you can then select the volume/issue and year to find a specific article.
In order to find print journals in the library, you need to have the call number and location. You can receive a text with this information through the Library Catalog.
List of Databases
The list of "suggested databases" are specific to art, architecture, and design research. These databases will give you access to journal article citation. Not all those included are specific to design, but could be useful for finding articles related art and related fields. User can also change the subject at the top of the page to other subject such as communication & media, education, engineering, etc.
Art & Architecture Source
This is an excellent index for both art and architecture; indexes journals only. It has extensive full-text of articles.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)
This database is focused on modern and contemporary art. It covers all art forms including, fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals on industrial and product design, architecture, interior design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, fashion and textile design, graphic design, etc.
Provides full-text access to the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals