Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Plants and trees that withstand winter and those that exist only in frigid climates and how to maintain a garden in the cold.
Christmas Trees for Pleasure and Profit by
Call Number: 634.9 C36C1985 / ACES
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
"This book should be required reading for the new or prospective Christmas tree grower." --Journal of Forestry The third edition of this successful book is for the farmer who has some extra land, for the prospective commercial grower with several hundred acres, or for the hobbyist who may want to supplement his income. Both the novice and the experienced grower will benefit from its account of growing Christmas trees for the market. Covering basic principles as well as specific practices, the book guides the reader through the various stages of establishing and maintaining a Christmas-tree plantation. Chapters provide important information on the selection of land, where to get planting stock, and factors that should be considered when deciding on what species to grow. The most critical job of all--the actual planting of the trees--is covered in depth. The authors present useful techniques for protecting the growing trees from weeds, insects, and diseases, and they offer a full description of shearing (or shaping) trees to improve their form and density--one of the keys to a successful crop. On the business side, issues of grading, harvesting, and marketing are examined. A chapter on taxes includes alternative methods of treating income and a concluding section gives the grower advice on obtaining further help. This new and updated edition also covers changes in the technology of planting and maintaining trees. Information on new uses of machinery, statistical details on plantations and acreage, and the most recent data on herbicides are also included. The late Arthur Chapman was chief of the Division of Forest Management Research at the Central States Forest Experiment Station in Columbus, Ohio. Robert Wray is retired from the U.S. Forest Service's North Central Forest Experiment Station where he was in charge of information services. He has written for various conservation and professional publications and continues to do contract editing for the Forest Service.
Cold Hardiness in Plants by
Call Number: 581.42 C673 / ACES
Publication Date: 2006-01-10
Based on papers from the 7th International Plant Cold Hardiness Seminar held in Japan in 2004, this book presents the latest research findings on plant freezing and chilling stress from major laboratories around the world. The chapters focus on various aspects of molecular genetics and the utilization of transgenic plants to further our understanding of plant cold hardiness at the molecular level. Topics covered include: vernalization genes in winter cereals; global analysis of gene networks to solve complex abiotic stress responses; control of growth and cold acclimation in silver birch and the effect of Plasma Membrane-associated Proteins on Acquisition of Freezing Tolerance in Arabidopsis thaliana.
Ecophysiology of Coniferous Forests by
Call Number: 585.2041 EC74 / ACES
Publication Date: 1994-12-09
Conifers--pine, fir, and spruce trees--are dominant species in forests around the world. This book focuses on the physiology of conifers and how these physiological systems operate. Special consideration is devoted to the means by which ecophysiological processes influence organismal function and distribution. Chapters focus on the genetics of conifers, their geographic distribution and the factors that influence this distribution, the impact of insect herbivory on ecophysiological parameters, the effects of air pollution, and the potential impact that global climatic changes will have upon conifers. Because of the growing realization that forests have a crucial role to play in global environmental health, this book will appeal to a developing union of ecologists, physiologists and more theoretically minded foresters.
The Garden in Winter by
Call Number: 635.953 V586G1988 / ACES
Publication Date: 1988-11-01
This is a practical and inspirational guide to creating a garden that looks and feels good throughout the year, even when the frost bites and plants are enveloped in a mantle of snow. The great plantswoman Rosemary Verey shows how to use space, the patterns created by paths and walls, the shapes of shrubs, the shadows of evergreens and the silhouettes of trunks and twisted branches to make elegant pictures for the months when the garden is stripped of summer foliage and billowing flowers. She also introduces us to a world of brilliant winter colours - the delicate pinks and greens of hellebores, the rich crimson of holly and cotoneaster berries and the bright yellow of aconites and crocus.
Growing Food in a Short Season: Sustainable, Organic Cold-Climate Gardening by
Call Number: 635.04840971 W349g / ACES
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
In Growing Food in a Short Season, Melanie J. Watts explains that with the right gardening practices the short northern summer can lead to an explosion of life, producing enough color and food to see anyone through the dark days of winter. Providing helpful hints and a wise gardening philosophy for a productive food garden, Watts begins at ground level with instruction on how to use compost and manure to create fertile soil that will lend its life to plants. A variety of seed options and planting methods are presented -- including start times and placement -- taking into account microclimates that occur in each garden as well as the benefits of companion planting. Additionally, plants that are easily grown in zones two and three are listed with concise how-to-grow information. Watts provides full chapters on garden maintenance and harvesting, as well as tips on cooking and preserving the bounty with great recipes that focus on eating seasonally.
Unsung Season: Gardens And Gardeners In Winter by
Call Number: 635.9 Ed23u / OAK STREET (REQUEST ONLY)
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
While most gardeners lose one quarter of the year, some happily pursue their hobby undaunted by the hostile elements. Written by one gardener who loves winter and photographed by another, The Unsung Season introduces us to a wonderful collection of gardening individualists. Some had the foresight to design their gardens to look beautiful when viewed through the windows. Others bring their gardening pleasures inside, turning windowsills, spare bedrooms, and enclosed porches into makeshift greenhouses. Some happily don snowshoes to prune, chop, and saw their way through the winter, and some turn their creative gardening juices into making things for and from their gardens in kitchens and basement workshops. Whether the reader loves winter or stoically endures it, The Unsung Season will share both the pleasures and the survival techniques of these special gardeners. There's something here for every gardener, just when he or she needs it most.
Weathering Winter: A Gardener's Daybook by
Call Number: 635 K668W / ACES
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
"In Winter, when the only things growing seem to be icicles and irritability, what pleasures exist for a gardener or for anyone who lives in a northern climate? In his distinctive daybook Weathering Winter, Carl Klaus reminds readers that the season of brown twigs and icy gales is just as much a part of the year as when tulips open, tomatoes thrive, and pumpkins color the brown earth. From the first cold snap of late December 1994 to the first outdoor planting of onion sets and radish seeds in mid-March 1995, Klaus kept track of snow falling, birds flocking, soups simmering, gardening catalogs arriving, buds swelling, and seed trays coming to life." "Gardeners, lovers of the out-of-doors, and weather watchers will recognize themselves in the ways in which Klaus has come to terms with the harsh climate and chilly truths that winter embodies. His constant, careful checks on the temperature and on the geraniums overwintering in the attic, his contentment in the basil- and garlic-flavored tomato sauce he cooked up from last season's crops, and his walks with his wife in the bitter chill of starry January nights reflect the pull between indoors and out, the contrast between the beauty and the cruelty of the season."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Weeds in Winter by
Call Number: 582.12 B81W / ACES
Publication Date: 1976-11-01
A thorough description of weeds that have grown in summer then have gone to seed in the winter.
Winter-Flowering Shrubs by
Call Number: 635.976 B864w / ACES
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Gardeners, plant collectors, horticulturists, and landscape designers will find a valuable resource in this carefully selected plant directory of best performing winter-flowering shrubs. Readers will find daphnes, viburnums, witch hazels, and camellias to suit every taste and garden situation, as well as information about how to help their choice winter-flowering shrubs flourish from November to March. Tips on combining winter-flowering shrubs, using winter sunlight to backlight choice specimens, and getting the right balance of complementary plants complete this practical and inspiring guide. Whether looking to extend a plant collection or create a winter garden, collectors and gardeners alike will delight in the possibilities available for blooms and scents in colder climates.
Winter Garden : Structure, Planting, and Romance in the Garden in Winter by
Call Number: 635.953 P931w / OAK STREET (REQUEST ONLY)
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
This book is an attempt to explore what it is that makes the winter garden magical, unpacking the aesthetic thrill that goes with the sight of the ghostly white arcs of bramble or the flaming wands of dogwood or the filigree of interlaced leafless branches. Lacking the glorious technicolor of fall and the vibrancy of spring and summer, winter color, when it does appear, draws all the more attention. Included here is a wealth of information on creating the beauty and romance of a garden in winter.
Winter Garden Glory: How To Get The Best From Your Garden From Autumn Through to Spring by
Call Number: 635.953 B623W / MAIN STACKS
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Most gardens do not look their best in autumn, winter and early spring, yet this need not be so - this book illustrates how to brighten up and enjoy your garden to its full at this time of year. The author shows how to create winter interest using trees, shrubs, bulbs and other ornamental plants to provide colour, form, flower and scent to all sizes of garden. Drawing on the experience of designing and developing his own winter garden, the author of this book explains the best type of plants and associations to use - from conifers and heathers to shrubs, perennials and grasses. He then shows how these ideas can be adapted for the smaller garden, including front gardens.
The Winter Harvest Handbook: Year-Round Vegetable Production Using Deep-Organic Techniques and Unheated Greenhouses by
Call Number: 635.0484 C677w / ACES
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
Choosing locally grown organic food is a sustainable living trend that's taken hold throughout North America. Celebrated farming expert Eliot Coleman helped start this movement with The New Organic Grower published 20 years ago. He continues to lead the way, pushing the limits of the harvest season while working his world-renowned organic farm in Harborside, Maine. Now, with his long-awaited new book, The Winter Harvest Handbook, anyone can have access to his hard-won experience. Gardeners and farmers can use the innovative, highly successful methods Coleman describes in this comprehensive handbook to raise crops throughout the coldest of winters. Building on the techniques that hundreds of thousands of farmers and gardeners adopted from The New Organic Grower and Four-Season Harvest, this new book focuses on growing produce of unparalleled freshness and quality in customized unheated or, in some cases, minimally heated, movable plastic greenhouses. Coleman offers clear, concise details on greenhouse construction and maintenance, planting schedules, crop management, harvesting practices, and even marketing methods in this complete, meticulous, and illustrated guide. Readers have access to all the techniques that have proven to produce higher-quality crops on Coleman's own farm. His painstaking research and experimentation with more than 30 different crops will be valuable to small farmers, homesteaders, and experienced home gardeners who seek to expand their production seasons. A passionate advocate for the revival of small-scale sustainable farming, Coleman provides a practical model for supplying fresh, locally grown produce during the winter season, even in climates where conventional wisdom says it "just can't be done."
The Winter of Our Discount Tent by
Call Number: 508 M699W / ACES
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
According to Jim Mize, nature has no mercy - just a sense of humor - and in this hilarious romp through the woods, he proves why readers praise him as an amusing combination of Marlin Perkins and Lewis Grizzard. The way Jim tells it, such overlooked creatures as fleas, flying squirrels, and chipmunks become curiosities of hilarious proportions. In the opening section, Jim waxes comic about carnivorous plants, insects that make people nervous, and birds with bad names. He points out, for instance, that all plants are edible. It's just that some of them will kill you. He also notes potential uses for kudzu - erosion control, livestock fodder, and hiding the neighbors' house as a prank while they're on vacation. From the quirks of nature, Mize graduates to greasy kid stuff. He tells parents how to referee while paddling a boat, raise kids that people like, and survive the two hobbies no child can resist - rock collecting and entomology. And Jim has plenty of musings about hunting and fishing. Outdoors people are sure to chuckle as he ponders the purpose of carp (fish so ugly they have to spawn in muddy water), the perplexities of orienteering (Getting lost has never been much of a problem for me; the problem is getting found.) and the procedure for getting crappie to bite at night (Lay your rod down, hold a cup of scalding coffee in one hand and a floppy sandwich in the other, and, if possible, try to balance the open thermos on one leg. Then just wait. Bait is optional.). Saving some of his most laugh-provoking observations for his final section, Jim answers age-old questions about why women fish better than men, why people give homes to shoe-chewing puppies, and where to takespouses for a special occasion (he recommends steering clear of restaurants that proudly accept Bass Pro Shop credit cards). Jim's entertaining insights are guaranteed to make you laugh out loud in renewed appreciation of the great outdoors.
The World of Northern Evergreens by
Call Number: 585.2097 P597w2011 / ACES
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Praise for the first edition "This book is guaranteed to enrich the reader's next forest visit." Library Journal "Pielou's book brings forest ecology to naturalists, bird lovers, hikers, cyclists, canoeists, skiers, mountaineers, and back-country campers." Seattle Post-Intelligencer "It is E. C. Pielou's contention that evergreen forests . . . are taken for granted and rarely well understood. To remedy this, the distinguished biogeographer has written a book focusing on the northern evergreen forests. This is a book that many naturalists, both novice and experienced, will read with pleasure and interest." Canadian Field-Naturalist "Pielou makes a strong, irrefutable, case for the preservation of old-growth forests and wilderness. Anyone who appreciates the outdoors should have this book and take its message to heart." Forest Planning Canada Global warming and human-driven impacts from logging, natural gas drilling, mining of oil sands, and the development of hydropower increasingly threaten North America's northern forests. These forests are far from being a uniform environment; close inspection reveals that the conifers that thrive there pines, larches, spruces, hemlocks, firs, Douglas-firs, arborvitaes, false-cypresses, junipers, and yews support a varied and complex ecosystem. In The World of Northern Evergreens, the noted ecologist E. C. Pielou introduces the biology of the northern forests and provides a unique invitation to naturalists, ecologists, foresters, and everyone living in northern North America who wants to learn about this unique and threatened northern world and the species that make it their home. Through identification keys, descriptions, and life histories of the conifer tree species, the author emphasizes how different these plants are both biologically and evolutionarily from the hardwoods we also call "trees." Following this introduction to the essential conifers, the author's perceptive insights expand to include the interactions of conifers with other plants, fungi, mammals, birds, and amphibians. The second edition, enriched by new illustrations by the author of woodland features and creatures, updates the text to include new topics including mycorrhizal fungi, soil, woodlice, bats, and invasive insects such as the hemlock woolly adelgid. Emphasis is given to the very real human-driven impacts that threaten the species that live in and depend on the vital and complex forest ecosystem. Pielou provides us with a rich understanding of the northern forests in this work praised for its nontechnical presentation, scientific objectivity, and original illustrations."