Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ryerson & Burnham Digital Collections
The digital collections at the Art Institute of Chicago's Ryerson and Burnham Libraries Art Institute of Chicago contain a variety of images from their collections, which arenotably strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest architecture. This includes many images from Inland Architect, the Chicago Architectural Sketch Club, and many others.
Historic Architecture and Landscape Image Collection (HALIC)
The Historic Architecture and Landscape Image Collection (HALIC), a large collection of mounted photographic prints and lantern slides, provides valuable historic records of American architecture, landscape design, and urban planning.
A searchable database of digital images, with new image collections added serval times a year. Includes collections of Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Planning
Building Types Online
Large international collection of mostly contemporary buildings.
Digital Sanborn Maps Illinois
Available through Proquest databases, Sanborn Maps provides users with access to large scale historical maps of cities and towns in Illinois.
University of Illinois Built Environment
The Illinois Built Environment collection provides a first-hand view of select original documents used to shape the University of Illinois campus. Among others, items include hand sketches of campus plans, original trace and linen drawings of many of the Central Quadrangle buildings, four separate proposed sketches for the original Library, now known as Altgeld Hall, and watercolor renderings for the display of the Alma Mater and many buildings.