Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Architecture by This highly regarded, consistently well-selling and extremely well-written book brings to life architectural history and its canon of great buildings through a lively approach that is both insightful and accurate. This story of architecture moves back and forth between long views of historical trends and close-ups of major works and crucial architectural themes. The authors have successfully made the subject of architectural history - which due to its technical aspects can too often be off-putting to the lay reader - transparent, engaging, and easily mastered. All buildings are illustrated with effective images that are well reproduced and thoughtfully keyed to the text. In the second edition, the content of the book has been fine-tuned and polished. Sections in the Renaissance, Baroque, and Modern chapters were reworked to include recent scholarship and, in the case of the Baroque, expand coverage to Eastern Europe. The Introduction has been significantly updated in its slant and language, including a discussion of the newly introduced term Postmodernity. The most significant and exciting change, however, is the addition of the new chapter, which covers architectural development
Call Number: Q. 720.9 T673a2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
A Global History of Architecture by The award-winning First Edition of A Global History of Architecture was a publishing event that forever changed the way architectural history is viewed and studied. This Second Edition surpasses the first with a lavish new design, illustrated throughout with drawings and photographs in full color, and even more maps and diagrams detailing global interconnections. The signature drawings of Francis D.K. Ching are more informative than ever, updated with scale, annotation, and function added where needed. This revision is sure to remain the most relevant book on the topic.
Call Number: Q. 720.9 C441g2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-14
Buildings Across Time: an Introduction to World Architecture by Buildings Across Time offers a survey of world architecture both for students taking introductory courses and for the general reader simply interested in buildings. The authors have searched out the stories these buildings have to tell, considered the intentions of the people who built them, and examined the lives of those who used them. The text begins with prehistory and ends with early twenty-first century. It covers the Western tradition as well as works in the Islamic world, the pre-Columbian Americas, Africa, China, Southeast Asia, Russia, and Japan. Buildings Across Time is a diverse sampling of the built environment written in a straightforward but lively style that is rich with detail. The text contains extensive descriptive narrative leavened with focused critical analysis, which allows the book to stand alone and invites lecturers to impose their studied interpretations on the material without the danger of undue ambiguity or conflict. In a world that grows smaller by the day, it presents a global perspective, and in a discipline that concerns built objects that are often beautiful as well as functional, it is copiously illustrated, intelligently designed, and consistently usable. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect#65533; is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook#65533; - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Call Number: Q. 720.9 F29w
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
World Architecture by Spiro Kostof's groundbreaking work, A History of Architecture: Settings and Rituals, helped to reshape the study of architectural history. His book extended beyond the discussion of great monuments to find connections with ordinary dwellings, urbanism, and different cultures from around the world. World Architecture: A Cross-Cultural History is an entirely new, student-friendly text by Richard Ingersoll. Building on Kostof's global vision and social context, Ingersoll integrates extensive coverage of world and contemporary architecture in order to provide the most comprehensive survey in the field. Presented chronologically, each chapter now focuses on three unique architectural cultures, which gives instructors the flexibility to choose which traditions are the most relevant to their courses. The text also provides students with numerous pedagogical tools, including timelines, comparative maps, a glossary, and text boxes devoted to social factors and specific issues in technology and philosophy. The result is a comprehensive method for understanding and appreciating the history, cultural significance, and beauty of architecture from around the world. FEATURES ** Stunning full-color visuals: More than 800 color photographs, hundreds of original graphics, architectural drawings, and maps, and meticulous diagrams demonstrate how classic buildings were created ** Helpful learning and study tools: New timelines, chapter introductions, text boxes with fascinating case studies, bibliographies, review questions, and a glossary help students identify key information and better prepare them for exams and class assignments ** Free Instructor's Resource CD: PowerPoints and 80% of the 1200 photos and architectural drawings from the text ** Free companion website resources (www.oup.com/us/ingersoll): Chapter summaries, review questions, self-exams, and Google Earth maps with the location of key structures further enhance the text
Publication Date: 2012-12-13
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A Global History of Architecture (eBook) by Praise for the First Edition "Because of its exceptionally wide perspective, even architectural historians who do not teach general survey courses are likely to enjoy and appreciate it." -Annali d'architettura "Not only does A Global History of Architecture own the territory (of world architecture), it pulls off this audacious task with panache, intelligence, and-for the most part-grace." -Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians Revised and updated-the compelling history of the world's great architectural achievements Organized along a global timeline, A Global History of Architecture, Second Edition has been updated and revised throughout to reflect current scholarship. Spanning from 3,500 b.c.e. to the present, this unique guide is written by an all-star team of architectural experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history. The architectural history of the world comes to life through a unified framework for interpreting and understanding architecture, supplemented by rich drawings from the renowned Frank Ching, as well as brilliant photographs. This new Second Edition: Delivers more coverage of non-Western areas, particularly Africa, South Asia, South East Asia, and Pre-Columbian America Is completely re-designed with full-color illustrations throughout Incorporates additional drawings by Professor Ching, including new maps with more information and color Meets the requirements set by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) for "non-Western" architecture in history education. Offers new connections to a companion Web site, including Google EarthTM coordinates for ease of finding sites. Architecture and art enthusiasts will find A Global History of Architecture, Second Edition perpetually at their fingertips.
Publication Date: 2011-02-09
Architecture Since 1400 (eBook) by The first global history of architecture to give equal attention to Western and non-Western structures and built landscapes, Architecture since 1400 is unprecedented in its range, approach, and insight. From TenochtitlanOCOs Great Pyramid in Mexico City and the Duomo in Florence to LevittownOCOs suburban tract housing and the BirdOCOs Nest Stadium in Beijing, its coverage includes the worldOCOs most celebrated structures and spaces along with many examples of more humble vernacular buildings. Lavishly illustrated with more than 300 photographs, plans, and interiors, this book presents key moments and innovations in architectural modernity around the globe. Deftly integrating architectural and social history, Kathleen James-Chakraborty pays particular attention to the motivations of client and architect in the design and construction of environments both sacred and secular: palaces and places of worship as well as such characteristically modern structures as the skyscraper, the department store, and the cinema. She also focuses on the role of patrons and addresses to an unparalleled degree the impact of women in commissioning, creating, and inhabiting the built environment, with Gertrude Jekyll, Lina Bo Bardi, and Zaha Hadid taking their place beside Brunelleschi, Sinan, and Le Corbusier. Making clear that visionary architecture has never been the exclusive domain of the West and recognizing the diversity of those responsible for commissioning, designing, and constructing buildings, Architecture since 1400 provides a sweeping, cross-cultural history of the built environment over six centuries."
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
There are many journals that publish on aspects of architectural history, but the three journals listed below are the main ones which publish exclusively on the subject.
These journals are available both online and in print at Ricker Library.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery is a major index in the field. It can be used to look up time periods, architectural movements, individual monuments and structures, etc. (No full-text.)
Art & Architecture Source
This is an excellent index for both art and architecture; indexes journals only. It has extensive full-text of articles.
Includes full-text of major architectural history journals, including Architectural History and the Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Is a good starting point for research on specific periods, regions, and styles related to architecture.