Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Library Guides
Please check out these guides if you would like further information in this specific area.
Online Reference Sources
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
This comprehensive dictionary presents over 600 entries spanning classical to modern sociology. Each entry ranges in length from succinct paragraphs to extensive essays on topics such as sociological theories and their creators, basic sociological terms, important institutions, and other topics closely related to the field. Entries are cross-referenced.
The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies. 2004. (online)
Cultural studies is “an interdisciplinary or post-disciplinary field of inquiry that explores the production and inculcation of culture or maps of meaning.” Arranged alphabetically, the entries are topical and biographical in nature; topical entries introduce essential terminology while biographical entries introduce important individuals in the field. Each entry includes cross-references to relevant terms.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. 2015.
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Has sources from 1895 to the present. Provides access to articles from major journals in sociology and related fields. Books, conference papers, and other sources are also indexed. Includes full text.
Annual Review of Sociology
Has sources from 1975 to the present. New developments in the field of sociology are discussed in literature review essays covering recent sociological theory and research in specialized fields of sociology or related disciplines.
The Left Index
Has sources from 1982 to the present. Indexes periodicals with a Marxist, radical or leftist perspective. Articles included provide a critical analysis on topics such as history, sociology, political science, psychology, women's studies, art, and literature.
American Journal of Sociology
Published bimonthly by the University of Chicago Press, this source contains scholarly articles and numerous, detailed book reviews written by academics.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists. 2011. (online)
This volume is a collection of essays on 25 of the leading social theorists. Divided into two sections, one section discusses classical social theorists and the other contemporary social theorists. The essays include a brief discussion of their life and work as well as place them within a greater social context with various other thinkers. Includes bibliographies of work by each theorist as well as works on them and on their theories for further reading.