Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Olin Film Archive

A guide to the Chuck Olin Film Archive, part of which has been digitized by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois.

First-hand Accounts from the Jewish Brigade

With gratitude for the generosity of the family of Emmy award-winning documentary filmmaker Chuck Olin, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library is happy to announce the significant gift of the Olin Film Archive.

This collection consists of production elements from two PBS-broadcast documentaries; In Our Own Hands: The Hidden Story of the Jewish Brigade in World War II, and Is Jerusalem Burning? Myth, Memory and the Battle of Latrun. Both films, relying primarily on first-person accounts, tell the story of critical episodes in the formation of the nation-state of Israel.

The unedited versions of the first-person accounts contained in the collection offer the student or scholar a unique set of primary-source material. See the Archive inventory here:

In advance of the establishment of bibliographic control of the collection, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library will offer access by appointment. Please contact Celestina Savonius-Wroth (cswroth@illinois.edu or 217-300-3520) for further information.