Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Social Work Library Orientation: Course Guides

This guide provides an overview of the subjects covered in the library orientation session for new School of Social Work students as well as links to the resources and tools.

SOCW 591: Indigenous Social Work, Environmental Justice, & Health Fall 2019

Contact Yali for Research Information Assistance

If you need help find relevant research for your assignments, projects, etc., feel free to

1. Drop in Librarian Office Hour at Dean's Conference Room on Tuesdays 10 am - 12 pm, Fall 2019

2. Set up a research consultation with me.  

3. Email me yalifeng@illinois.edu.

 

Catalog Search

Subject headings: indigenous peoples, Indians of North America

General search strategy demonstration

A-Z Databases: environment

1. ProQuest: more filters-location, document type, databases

       ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, PsycINFO…

2. EBSCO:

       GreenFILE, Left Index...

3. Web of Science: filter—countries/regions

LibGuides

Environmental Justice CHI Workshop: Databases

Guide to resources for secondary teachers in the Spring 2016 CHI workshop.

https://guides.library.illinois.edu/c.php?g=667161&p=4692936

Environmental Studies Resources: Environmental Justice

https://libguides.lib.msu.edu/c.php?g=95557&p=624247

https://libguides.lib.msu.edu/c.php?g=95557&p=624253

Environmental Justice: Environmental Databases, interdisciplinary and related databases; online resources

https://libguides.du.edu/c.php?g=757884&p=5434729

Environmental Justice Faculty Development Workshop: Home

https://libguides.depauw.edu/environmentaljustice

EST 696 Environmental Justice: Environmental Justice Related Databases

https://libguides.esf.edu/c.php?g=710498&p=5049636

Web resources related to environmental justice

EPA

https://www.epa.gov/environmentaljustice

https://www.epa.gov/environmentaljustice/region-2-ej-action-plan

Environmental Justice Atlas

https://ejatlas.org/

UN

https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/takeaction/

Anthropology databases

https://www.library.illinois.edu/sshel/anthropology/anthrodb/ 

Bibliography by Kyle Whyte

Indigenous Climate Change & Climate Justice:Teaching Materials & Advanced Bibliography

https://kylewhyte.cal.msu.edu/climate-justice/

Reference Sources

 Indigenous peoples and environmental issues: an encyclopedia

Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues