Books
A History of Art in Africa by Call Number: Q. 709.6 H6292008ISBN: 9780136128724Publication Date: 2007-07-03
A Companion to Modern African Art by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781118515068Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Journals
African Art Exhibition Catalogues
Looking Both Ways: Art of the Contemporary African Diaspora by Call Number: Q. 709.60904 L872ISBN: 0945802358Publication Date: 2004
Man Ray, African Art, and the Modernist Lens by
This groundbreaking analysis spotlights a select group of Man Ray's photographs within the context of modernist photographic history and the "discovery" of African art by the early twentieth-century avant-garde. Featuring more than seventy photographs by Man Ray--some never before reproduced--alongside many rarely seen photographs of African art by his European and American contemporaries, Man Ray, African Art, and the Modernist Lens uncovers a virtually unknown chapter in both the inventive activities of this celebrated artist and in this overlooked facet of photographic history. Meticulously researched and compellingly presented, Wendy A. Grossman raises thought-provoking questions about the role photographs played in shaping perceptions of African art and, in turn, how such images led to distinctive modernist viewpoints across racial and geographic boundaries. Particularly notable is the treatment of the African pieces both as integral components of the modernist history to which they contributed and, as elucidated by original scholarship by African art experts, as objects with their own independent cultural histories. Revealing a more complex engagement with African art by Man Ray and his contemporaries than has been previously known, Grossman provides a rich and nuanced study that makes an important addition to our understanding of critical issues in modernism that continue to influence the way we see African art today. With an essay by Ian Walker and additional contributions by Yaëlle Biro, Poul Mørk, Rainer Stamm, and Tomás Winter. Concordance of African objects edited by Letty Wilson Bonnell.
Call Number: Q. 779 R21gISBN: 9780816670178Publication Date: 2011-01-24
Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time by
How West African gold and trade across the Sahara were central to the medieval world The Sahara Desert was a thriving crossroads of exchange for West Africa, North Africa, the Middle East, and Europe in the medieval period. Fueling this exchange was West African gold, prized for its purity and used for minting currencies and adorning luxury objects such as jewelry, textiles, and religious objects. Caravans made the arduous journey by camel southward across the Sahara carrying goods for trade--glass vessels and beads, glazed ceramics, copper, books, and foodstuffs, including salt, which was obtained in the middle of the desert. Northward, the journey brought not only gold but also ivory, animal hides and leatherwork, spices, and captives from West Africa forced into slavery. Caravans of Gold, Fragments in Time draws on the latest archaeological discoveries and art historical research to construct a compelling look at medieval trans-Saharan exchange and its legacy. Contributors from diverse disciplines present case studies that form a rich portrayal of a distant time. Topics include descriptions of key medieval cities around the Sahara; networks of exchange that contributed to the circulation of gold, copper, and ivory and their associated art forms; and medieval glass bead production in West Africa's forest region. The volume also reflects on Morocco's Gnawa material culture, associated with descendants of West African slaves, and movements of people across the Sahara today. Featuring a wealth of color images, this fascinating book demonstrates how the rootedness of place, culture, and tradition is closely tied to the circulation of people, objects, and ideas. These "fragments in time" offer irrefutable evidence of the key role that Africa played in medieval history and promote a new understanding of the past and the present. Published in association with the Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University Exhibition Schedule Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University January 26-July 21, 2019 Aga Khan Museum, Toronto September 21, 2019-February 23, 2020 Smithsonian National Museum of African Art, Washington, DC April 8-November 29, 2020
ISBN: 9780691182681Publication Date: 2019
Databases
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt Source is international in scope and includes full-text articles and abstracts on art, architecture, and design.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of digital images, with new image collections added serval times a year. Includes collections of Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Planning